We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Boutique Hotel in Centre of Salzburg's Aldstadt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Small Boutique Hotel in Centre of Salzburg's Aldstadt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We unfortunately only had one night to spend at the Hotel Am Dom in Salzburg. It would have been lovely to have stayed longer.

We booked two superior rooms, one with a double bed and the other with twin beds. Both rooms were quite spacious and spotlessly clean. The room rate was excellent, by booking directly with the hotel’s website.

The hotel’s location was excellent, right in the heart of the aldstadt, with only minutes walking to everything we wish to see. It is a very old building now converted into a boutique hotel with only 15 rooms.

Our room rate included breakfast which was a continental buffet, but eggs cooked to order were also available.

I highly recommend Hotel Am Dom for anyone staying in Salzburg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    110
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
71
170
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel. Rooms are not huge, but well presented and modern. The location is absolutely ideal. It's only about 200m to the Salzburg museum, just a little further to the lift taking you to the castle and the cathedral. Do keep in mind that if you plan to drive there then you should call the hotel ahead of time and get a code to enter the inner roads that take you to the hotel. I would recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyJos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Hotel is well located and nicely decorated, but it is more a B&B than a 4 stars hotel. There is no 24 hours reception, no minibar in the room, not even a bottle of water in the room and, since the bar is not accessible after 23.00 there is no chance to buy anything to drink or eat after that time.
Room was way too hot and impossible to set a different temperature, some of the lighting fixtures were not properly working.
The breakfast is really limited in choice and lacking of quality; something of what was offered had clearly been there for few days.
Some people of the staff are nice, some are not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maq_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is small, neat, clean and very centrally located. The staff are helpful. All round good value. The rooms were a fair size. The breakfast was good. We only stayed one night - a good hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoordhoekTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a very small hotel of only 15 rooms. It was recently renovated in a somewhat funky style. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms are ultra-modern. The service was excellent. The owner was on the premises and is an interesting man who is very proud of his establishment. Book directly with the hotel for best rate and included breakfast. You can't beat the location in the Old Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nice and modern hotel with rather sophisticated electronic controls for lights. We stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room on level 3, with a queen bed and 2 additional beds for kids. The room has aircon and heater, free wifi and a nice bathroom. Breakfast is good, with personal service by the staff for coffee and eggs the way you like it. The location is great in the middle of old town,right next to Xmas market, and walking distance to most attractions. Downside is there is no launderette nearby so we can't get our laundry done. The staff were helpful, but could be more updated about the opening hours of restaurants for Xmas eve. We had to rely on ourselves (internet) to get a Xmas dinner reservation, as the restaurants suggested were not open on the eve for dinner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank katongmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel Am Dom's location is great, just at the centre of Salzburg Christmas Market. Rooms are very comfortable and silent; insulation is good however you can hear the steps when someone walks upstairs because of the wooden floor and ceiling. They serve reasonable amount of breakfast; but the dining area is a bit cold. There are no interconnecting rooms for your children, but you can easily accommodate your kids at another room next to you on the same floor; the hotel is very small (a boutique hotel) and there are only 3 rooms on each floor and the rooms are very small. We complaint about several technical issues about the rooms however the gentleman at the reception simply ignored and we had to stay there for 3 nights with those problems; those problems were the shower head always sliding down, water was leaking under the shower cabin to the bathroom, reading lamp was not working and the fan in kids' room was not stopping and working noisy the whole night. Also the housekeeping was not taking the dirty cups away. But we loved staying there only because of the location and the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: For couples ask for the room with king size or queen size bed. For your children ask for the room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#14 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Property: Hotel Am Dom
Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing