We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with historic charm”
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with historic charm”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our rooms were nicely appointed and with modern features. The staff was gracious, the breakfast, delicious, and the location, perfect. The only drawback was that it was on an alley so very little natural light could get in. Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NutAndHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    120
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
81
191
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great combination of Old World charm and a new Chic remodel. Still had 16th century stone stairs and wooden beams in the hallways, with a new Chic design in the rooms. It was very comfortable and quiet. The AC was great in the 90 degree temps. Only about 15 steps off Residence Platz (Mozart Square), and very near everything in old town. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. The shower was the biggest I had in Europe. If I ever get back to Salzburg, I wouldn't even look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here with our almost grown-up daughters for two nights over the first weekend of the Mozart Festival. Our room was a bit cramped, having a claw feet bath as well as bed, sofa and chairs, and a glass enclosure around the shower room and loo which left little to the imagination. But all very clean and good powerful shower and new fittings. Ancient beams, some still decorated, supporting both ceilings. This is a truly ancient house that has been well adapted on the whole. Style is modern - black, good, stainless steel. Breakfast was good, if a little cramped at the back of reception, and air conditioning would have made the extreme heat easier to bear. We would stay again - you cannot beat the location. Note you cannot drive to the hotel, though there is subsidised (free in our case) parking just outside the old city centre. We were not troubled by the walk to and from the car - it gave us a chance to appreciate more of the festival goers in their elegant figure-flattering dirndls or green felt horn-buttoned jackets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teragrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights at Hotel Am Dom and could not have been more pleased with the service. We were greeted warmly by the manager who took great care to ensure that our sightseeing needs and overall stay in Salzburg were top notch. The gracious owner, Josef was able to recommend local eateries off the beaten track and even treated us to a glass of Bellini before we left.

The location was stellar. Accommodations were meticulous and modern with a bit of old world charm. We were thrilled to find that our room was pleasantly air conditioned considering many tourists we ran into had accommodations without air. We considered ourselves very blessed and it was a nice reprieve from the heat mid-day.

Superb breakfast as well. Quaint breakfast nook and staff was friendly and accommodating. They will treat you like family- we definitely plan to come back and highly recommend Hotel Am Dom!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Apart from our check-in experience, we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We arrived at around 9:00 in the evening, and the front girl hurriedly gave us the key, and waved us to show us where we should scan our key to gain access to the hotel after 11 pm. Then she went back behind the counter to continue to chat with a guy (not the owner). We entered our room, and I tried to figure out how to turn on the AC. The room had this high tech pad and the display was in German. I went downstairs (which, by the way, was only one flight of stairs and took 10 seconds)and asked the girl whether she can help me with the AC. Without even moving her butt, she told me I just had to push the button. I walked back up to my room, and had no idea how to work that panel. I walked downstairs again, and asked whether she mind coming up (which would take her 10 seconds) to help me. As soon as she entered the room, she asked me whether all the windows were closed properly. I started to get mad, and told her that's not really my job to make sure all the windows were closed properly. She then pressed some keys on the panel, and told me the AC now worked! After we put down our luggage, we had to go out, and I could see the girl was still chatting with the same guy.

Apart from this night girl, the other staff and the owner were exceptional. Eggs were made to order in the morning, and the coffee was good. The owner gave us some recommendations for sight seeing. Overall, we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2013. There had been a hot spell, and the highs were about 90 every day. We were so glad that this hotel had AC! The location is great, but it is a little confusing to try and drop off your luggage since this is a driving restricted area. You can go to a gate and call the hotel where they will give you a code to get into the pedestrian streets to drive to the hotel. We figured it out, but it wasn't very clear.

Also - you'll end up parking inside of the huge rock/mountain. If you plan to make day trips, make sure you pay for your parking at the hotel b/c it is half price compared to paying at the garage.

Breakfast was OK considering it was included.

Room was wonderful. Comfy bed, great shower, quite at night and had A/C!

If I remember right, the internet was great here.

The front desk was also very helpful. They called and made us dinner reservations at Triangle, which was delicious.

If we ever went back, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburkett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Property: Hotel Am Dom
Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing