We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK.... but a couple of negatives”
Review of Pension Adlerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pension Adlerhof
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK.... but a couple of negatives”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Adlerhof is only 5 mins walk from Salzburg station but it's in a rather 'seedy' area. The staff were fine and helpful. Our room (12 on first floor) seemed to be rather hot despite weather being mostly overcast and cool. We had to leave fan going all night. We are from Australia so we are used to heat. I felt the wall near the front door and it was very warm....maybe hot water pipes were running there?? Also it's on a busy-ish street so we had to have the window shut for sleeping. However....despite the negatives it was Ok value overall.....but maybe ask for a rear room off the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Elisabethstrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    144
    93
    19
    8
See reviews for
89
136
45
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Adlerhof for 5 nights. Despite the horribly hot weather (30+C), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was nicely laid out, spotless, and had a great en-suite bathroom. Extra towels requested were promptly left in our room. (Due to the heat, we took twice daily showers.) Reception people are friendly and speak English well -- but allowed us to practice our 'rusty' German with them as much as we chose. The breakfast buffet is hearty and served in a nice open room. We liked the location as we choose to walk to sights and the Adlerhof is well located for this. Its nearness to the Bahnhof was a " plus". We felt that the neighborhood was very safe and was quite quiet from early evening through morning.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor in the back of the hotel. It was quiet here (fantastic considering th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a trip between Heidelburg and Venice. Outskirts of Salzburg are a bit seedy and this hotel, right next to the railway station, is in a suburb that I am pretty sure the Von Trapps never saw, but it was a perfectly do-able 15 minute walk to the old town. But parking was free, the staff were courteous and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast was decent. Our room overlooked the main road from the station to town though and so, with no air-com it was the old dilemma of choosing between noise and heat. So, basically ok for a short stop-over. But don't come on your honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been here for a single night during my trip over Germany + Austria. I didn't book anything and this was the first hotel I liked on my way from the train station to the city.
It was quite nice. Everything was 100% clean, and the staff was very friendly and warm. I liked my night there. :)
It's quite far from the city center, but is very near to the train station. So if you like ~15 minute walk to get to the main city, then this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamoaslanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located north of the historical centre, less than 5 minutes walk from the main bus stop. Use of the bus to the city centre is a must, unless you like a nice half hour walk. The hotel is nice and clean and the breakfast provided is very good. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Limited parking is provided around the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikehiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on its proximity to the train station and Mirabell gardens and its reasonable price. The hotel is clean and cosy and easy to find. It's only a few minutes from the train station and about a 15 min walk to the old town. Breakfast was basic but great that it was included as was free wifi. The staff were nice, friendly and helpful. Hotel was quiet but sometimes the large heavy doors could be heard closing. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were two couples and had a room with a double (might have been a queen) and two singles. They were very comfortable. It is always good to have a bit of space and our room here fit the bill. Plenty of room for all of us plus cases. Our check in and out was easy and both staff members spoke English. There is a coffee/tea machine in reception and a cup is 1.50 euro. You can also store things in the fridge behind reception if you need to. The breakfast was good. Lots to choose from and instead of providing the inevitable hard boiled eggs you can cook your own. You just pop them in and then use one of the many egg timers provided. This way you can have the option of soft or hard boiled. There are guidelines written on how long to leave them in. The hotel is close enough for you to walk into the old town without a problem. There is also a supermarket close by. Parking is at the rear of the hotel and is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#48 of 132 in Salzburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
851 reviews
1.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Adlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Adlerhof

Property: Pension Adlerhof
Address: Elisabethstrasse 25 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Adlerhof 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adlerhof is a family-run hotel, located in the modern heart of Salzburg, just next to Salzburgs main train station (Salzburg Hbf). All our 28 guest rooms are located in a landmarked 19th century building. The Historical Old Town of Salzburg (Mozart houses, Mirabell Gardens, Church District) can easily be reached by walking (about 20 minutes) or by bus from the train station. The Adlerhof is also an ideal starting point for all excursions to Salzburgs surroundings, such as Hallstatt, Eagles Nest, Ice Caves, Untersberg, Salt Mines, etc.... as all public means of transport to reach these places leave from the main train station of Salzburg (Salzburg Hbf) Its most central location and the personal atmosphere let the Adlerhof be the ideal starting point for your stay in the beautiful city of Salzburg! We are looking forwart to your visit! Familie Pregarbauer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pension Adlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg
Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing