We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and the bus stops right at the hotel front door!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turnerwirt
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value and the bus stops right at the hotel front door!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great option for the price conscious traveler. Clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast, though not the cheapest. If you have an appetite its probably a good idea to just eat breakfast at the hotel. The bus stops right in front so the 5 minute bus ride to the old town makes it a superb location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    154
    98
    38
    19
See reviews for
120
127
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Yes I had a few concerns booking this one after some ld the TA reviews. But generally was ok. Location is a little out from the town but a big pluses the bus right out the front door. Room was adequate and this one faced the main road which the hotel sits on. If you have to have the windows open the noise is a nightmare. But if closed we could hardly hear a thing. Bathroom and water was fine. Check in and out was fine and cordial. One thing that really annoyed me. I went to the soda machine to get a can. The machine was empty but the reception guy said they have soda. I asked for 2 glasses of coke and was given 2 small glasses from an opened bottle of coke and charged 5 euros. Outrageous in my opinion. Also the wifi sucked and rarely worked in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was a very bad choice for staying in while in Salzburg.

The location itself is not so bad especially if arriving by car and there is also a good bus connection to the city center (bus stop is right in front of the hotel).The hotel parking was always full so no use of it and we had to park our car in the nearby street.

The neighbourhood seems quiet and safe but there is nothing to do there.

We stayed at the main building (where the reception is located). This is a very old and poorly maintained facility. Rooms are small, not clean, with small and short beds (definitely bot for any one over 1,90cm height). The furniture is old and and seems as not been cleaned for quite some time.
The bathroom is the worst part. So small that it is hardly possible to move inside, poorly cleaned shower, small,almost unusabel sink and the toilet seat that reminds those in public restrooms.We found hair on our towels!!!
Although we didn't have breakfast in the hotel the dining room looked very depressing.

If you have any other option do not stay in this hotel. In Austria the hotels are usually at a much higher level and for this price you should be able to find a better solution foryour stay in beautiful town of Salzburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dealek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
786 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the centre. Although basic it is a good base to use to visit the city. The free parking is a definite bonus given the high charges in the city. We chose to breakfast in the city so cannot comment on the in house provision. Our room was a little dowdy but was clean, quiet and had an adequate bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO, AE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our initial impression of this hotel was adequate. We had a family room that accommodated 5 people (3 twin beds, 1 double bed), definitely not fancy but functional. The bathroom was very small, but that is quite common in Europe. If you are planning to walk to Old Town Salzburg, it is a 2km walk (30 minutes) and partially through an undesirable part of town. We would definitely not have walked through there after dark. What made a somewhat adequate experience turn bad is the email and 60Euro charge we received after our stay. We returned home from our vacation to find an email from the hotel claiming we destroyed the telephone in our room and they charged our credit card, without our knowledge, to replace it. We never once used the phone (which they acknowledge) or even touched the phone. When I phoned the hotel to discuss the matter, they were very rude and accusatory. If we had been responsible for the damage, we would have immediately owned up to it and taken responsibility. We definitely did not damage the phone as they claim, and now we have to dispute the charge with our credit card company. This sounds very much like a scam to me, they had a phone that needed to be replaced and they were just waiting for unsuspecting victims like us to pay for it. Unfortunately, we did not take any pictures in the room during our stay to prove our point. From now on, we will take pictures before and after our stays at hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camille960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel Turnerwirt is a little bit out of town, but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. We had a car so we didn't use the bus system. There is free parking at the hotel. Our room was nice and had all the basic essentials (soap, hair dryer, etc.). The hotel does provide breakfast, but we didn't have it during our stay. We didn't have any problems or issues during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: inexpensive, very clean.
Cons: only one restaurant in walking distance, showerhead mounted chest high, rooms were HOT in summer with no air conditioning, staff were unwilling to offer restaurant suggestions.

Clarifications:
- petting zoo is a few rabbits
- go kart track is makeshift with most of the pedal cars inoperable
- the hotel does not have any regular restaurants, bar, or cafe
- breakfast is charged at €8 per person per day and is definitely not worth it

Source:
Two families of four rented two rooms for two nights and spent under $500.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.6 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#68 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#65 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#49 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#55 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#58 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Property: Hotel Turnerwirt
Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing