We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before staying here...”
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Turnerwirt
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our initial impression of this hotel was adequate. We had a family room that accommodated 5 people (3 twin beds, 1 double bed), definitely not fancy but functional. The bathroom was very small, but that is quite common in Europe. If you are planning to walk to Old Town Salzburg, it is a 2km walk (30 minutes) and partially through an undesirable part of town. We would definitely not have walked through there after dark. What made a somewhat adequate experience turn bad is the email and 60Euro charge we received after our stay. We returned home from our vacation to find an email from the hotel claiming we destroyed the telephone in our room and they charged our credit card, without our knowledge, to replace it. We never once used the phone (which they acknowledge) or even touched the phone. When I phoned the hotel to discuss the matter, they were very rude and accusatory. If we had been responsible for the damage, we would have immediately owned up to it and taken responsibility. We definitely did not damage the phone as they claim, and now we have to dispute the charge with our credit card company. This sounds very much like a scam to me, they had a phone that needed to be replaced and they were just waiting for unsuspecting victims like us to pay for it. Unfortunately, we did not take any pictures in the room during our stay to prove our point. From now on, we will take pictures before and after our stays at hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Camille960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel Turnerwirt is a little bit out of town, but there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. We had a car so we didn't use the bus system. There is free parking at the hotel. Our room was nice and had all the basic essentials (soap, hair dryer, etc.). The hotel does provide breakfast, but we didn't have it during our stay. We didn't have any problems or issues during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: inexpensive, very clean.
Cons: only one restaurant in walking distance, showerhead mounted chest high, rooms were HOT in summer with no air conditioning, staff were unwilling to offer restaurant suggestions.

Clarifications:
- petting zoo is a few rabbits
- go kart track is makeshift with most of the pedal cars inoperable
- the hotel does not have any regular restaurants, bar, or cafe
- breakfast is charged at €8 per person per day and is definitely not worth it

Source:
Two families of four rented two rooms for two nights and spent under $500.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Turnerwirt became an absolute joke within our family. If we had to do it all over again, I wouldn't not stay here. We actually considered switching hotels halfway through our stay but we couldn't get a refund on the last night. That was the ONLY thing that prevented us from doing so.

- Poor on Service: When we saw that the restaurant was closed, we asked for a recommendation for somewhere good to eat. The older man at the front desk shrugged and said he didn't know. When we asked when the restaurant was open, he said he wasn't sure. Maybe it was the language barrier, but in the 3 days that we were there, we only saw the restaurant open for breakfast.

- Poor on Value: We had a "family room". Room 111 specifically. The bathroom had a shower and bathtub, but the shower head was mounted at elbow-level when standing in the tub. Austrian/German style bathrooms aren't a surprise to me (we live in Germany) but this shower didn't even have the option to slide it up or down the pole. You had to hold the shower head the whole time. The rooms were very stuffy. We happened to be there during record-breaking heat and there was no way to cool down the rooms.

- Poor on Sleep Quality: The hotel is loud. The walls are thin and the bus stop outside makes for constant noise. Because we were there during the recording-breaking heat, we had our windows open to help circulate some air, but that made the noise unbearable.

- Cleanliness was Average: Nothing bad, but nothing awesome, either.

- Location was Average: The buses were right there, the train station wasn't too far away, but there was only one or two decent restaurants within walking distance. (Again, part of what sold us on the hotel was the "restaurant" part.)

- Rooms were Poor: I touched on this already. The shower was laughable, the rooms were noisy and beyond hot. Maybe it's nice during the winter?

- Restaurant: When a hotel has "restaurant" in its name, shouldn't that be a big part of it? We had breakfast there one of the mornings and it was typical Austrian/German style with cold meats, bread and cheese, which we are accustom to, but it wasn't the best quality ... especially when you see "restaurant" in the name.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay in summer months or know that it's going to be warmer than normal, take yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was comfortable reserving a room at this hotel until I saw the picture of a single bed that was in a very small space (almost like small place in a hall way) and although I put in the information that I was traveling with my young daughter, I was given a small cot size bed for both of us to sleep on. When I emailed to change the room to the next size up, the price changed to almost double. I was stuck since there was no refund and felt compelled to take the next size up to accommodate both of us. In the original price for a double was 4,00 euros more but when I changed my room, the cost was 34,000 euros more! Also, they advertise a children's area but did not see a play area. We had to take the bus to the old town of Salzburg, since the hotel is too far to walk that distance.
During our check out, another couple decided to leave early and were refused to be given a refund on the unused portion of their vacation.

Room Tip: Although I did not stay there, the Von Trapp Manison looks like a very nice place to stay and if I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbeeman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We only stayed 1 night, on our way to Croatia, and the mini city trip to Salzburg, but this hotel is really great value for money, very clean, nice breakfast and friendly stuff. I would definitely would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is a simple hotel, I should rate it 3 stars but considering the price I better give it 4 stars.
It is 10 minutes - by car - away from city centre, therefore not the best possible location to visit the old town of Salzburg.
Anyhow, rooms are clean and fine even if simple.
Bathrooms are very small.
Faraway from luxury.
Staff is friendly and polite. Always ready to help.
Breakfast could be better.
Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mktgcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.6 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#84 of 132 in Salzburg
228 reviews
4.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
1.1 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#52 of 132 in Salzburg
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $66 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing