We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Frauenschuh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Frauenschuh
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zug
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I needed a hotel for one night during in Salzburg for business, close to the airport. Even this is not a hotel in the general meaning the service was great, the room spacious and clean. There is even a free bottle of water in the room! The only thing I complained at the check out was that there was no soap in the shower cabin...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzs_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
60
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are a family and always stay at this place when we are in the Salzburg area. Such a charming place, great owners paying attention to each detail of your stay. The house is beautiful, extremely clean and decorated in the austrian style. Great breakfast, great beds, and charming and large rooms, many with terrace, perfect for families. Also a spa is downstairs. Note that the hotel is not in the center of the city of Salzburg, but a bus passes just across the road where the hotel is located, circulating day and night. there is a free parking.

This hotel is a must in Salzburg, deserves your visit! Definitely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinouMinette16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a beautiful place! We had room 315. It was so spacious and exactly what we needed since we were traveling with a newborn baby. It had a kitchenette, sitting area, and living area. It was a little on the pricey side for a pension, but the comfort made it worth it. The beds were also super comfortable, which is what I had experienced when traveling in this area of Austria earlier. Not far at all from the main town, and since we had a car the parking out front made it easy. Breakfast was also delightful and the people who ran it were really nice. I would definitely go back again and would recommend it to friends. The only thing my husband wanted me to add is that he doesn't believe in this day and age they should charge for wifi. They didn't, but after we had to request another password they did charge 5 euros (we needed multiple passwords because we had different devices, i.e he had an ipad and computer, and i had an iPad). He believes wifi should have been included. But I loved the place!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rose1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are on 10 day vacation from Viena, Salzburg,Fussen and Venice. Spent 3 nights at Pension Frauenschuh. The first time we open our room, we have our jaws dropping. The room is so big and it has complete amenities like : microwave, plates,stoves ( yes stoves , which allow us to cook light meal). The balcony has beautiful scenery of Utternsberg mountain.
More importantly, the service is top notch - the owner, Marianne was so helpful and very quick to respond when we ask for additional soap.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will be back to this hotel if I come back to Salzburg again.
Last but not least , the bus stop is right on front of the building, and you can buy the ticket from the hotel as well - both single way or day pass. It is conveniently 15 minute only by bus to the Old town Salzburg.

Daniel Kurniawan and Inez Setiabudi, Maryland USA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kurniawan23059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I've visited the hotel in june with my family. We have 3 kids ages 2, 6 and 9. the room we booked have a big bed as well as a bunk bed for the children. The hotel only offered breakfast which was nice but does not offer any other means throughout the day. The location is convenient if you have a car which you can park right in front of the hotel without having to pay any parking fees. It is minutes away from downtown Salzburg as well as many tourist attractions. The view from the room was very nice you can see the mountain range around the city.

It's a very nice 3 star hotel I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We waited too long to book a hotel in Salzburg and selected this pension through Expedia. My husband and I were reluctant about staying out of the city center in a residential area. The pension was perfect for us!! The owner checked us in, gave us several brochures about the city, told us about the Salzburg Card and the bus schedule -everything to make our trip easier. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. We had free WiFi, a refrigerator, plenty of storage and space. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had plenty of space for us to put our toiletries. The breakfasts were very good with lots of choice for meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, breads, and eggs cooked as we ordered. Service was good and they owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The only drawback was the lack of air conditioning - we were there for two of the hottest days of the summer.
Salzburg is an elegant, old world city. The summer festival was in process while we visited and the people attending were dressed formally and elegantly. It was such a pleasure to see their sophistication and style. It is rare to see anything other than the causal attire even at the nicest restaurants around the world. Salzburg is a beautiful, clean and sophisticated city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Booked two apartments. The apartments are not in the main pension building which seemed nicer but two buildings away. It claimed free internet but thats in the main building lobby only! The apartments stank and the tea cups and the kettle were greasy and dirty ! On the ground floor with the stink and august heat it was a disaster. If we kept the windows open there was a risk of someone coming in and stealing our things. If we closed it we were claustrophobic and truly feeling sick with the stink. The apartment is on the main road so it had noise till late night and early morning. The total experience was BAD ! And the lady running it. We actually wasted the third night and left early because kids hated and so did we

Room Tip: Dont stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BoardwalkbyFlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
2.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#22 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frauenschuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frauenschuh

Property: Hotel Frauenschuh
Address: Gsengerweg 1a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Frauenschuh 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frauenschuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing