We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #54 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We arrived by train and walked, which took us about 15-20 minutes. The street in front of the hotel, Linzergasse, appeared to be pedestrian only. If we had taken a taxi, we probably could have taken it to the corner of Wolf Dietrich and Linzergasse, which would have been less than 5 minutes walk. The rooms are fairly small. The room was clean enough but it really looks like it needs some updating. The hotel put us on the north edge of the tourist zone. It was about a 10 minute walk to the bridge which takes you to old town. This entire area is very clean and tourist friendly. There are plenty of restaurants throughout the area and a grocery story about 5 minutes from the hotel if you wanted to grab some snacks on a budget. The hotel locks its front door at 6pm but they give you a key to access it during the night. Finally, when we checked out, the front desk was nice enough to hold our luggage until our train departure time. The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, cold cuts, bread, etc..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingfromFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amadeus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 284 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel Amadeus is quite small, exclusive hotel on the pedestrian street Linzer Gasse. We had a spacious and comfortable superior double room which was nicely furnished with a canopy bed and seating area with two comfortable armchairs and table. The bathroom was also very spacious including multiactive rain shower set, separate wc and dressing room. Furthermore there was a communal patio opening to garden on this floor, which should be nice on summertime.

The buffet breakfast was served in Refetterio Simplicitas on the ground floor of the hotel. There was a wide selection of warm and cold dishes, for example scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, cold smoked lax, cheeses, yoghurt, müsli and fruits. Even prosecco was served for those who wanted to start their morning like movie stars ;)

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere in the hotel was warm and relaxing. We really loved this hotel and our opinion is, that they would deserve at least four stars instead of official three.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanakari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellerpro43, General Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We do very much appreciate your review and are happy to hear that all went well during your stay. Looking forward in welcoming you again one day we send our warm regards. The Amadeus Team and Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were originally booked into the Hotel Golden Ent but unbeknown to us the Hotel was closing on the day we were due to arrive for refurbishment. Unfortunately, our travel company had omitted to advise us and we only found out a few days before travelling that our booking had been transferred to Hotel Amadeus! Our initial reaction was disappointment because Hotel Amadeus was on the other side of the river located in the new part of town whereas the Golden Ent was in the old part of town.

Nevertheless, we were very impressed with Amadeus. The standard rooms are very small but we were upgraded to a Superior room which was very comfortable.

Breakfast was fabulous and the ambience delightful.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel location was not a problem and only a short walk from the river and the old town.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff were over the top amazing and accommodating. The room was spacious and quaint. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Afternoon tea and cake was a delightful treat served in our room. Location was great on a quaint street lined with shops and affordable restaurants. Our problem, and the reason we hesitate to recommend this hotel, was the terrible sleep both nights due to neighbors overhead and beside us. We were in room #34. After our first night we mentioned the music and loud laughing that went on until after 2 am and the receptionist said "ah, there are students living in the building next to your room". We moved our daughters mattresses into our room the second night. A shame there isn't better soundproofing because it's a lovely hotel. Perhaps a room on the top floor would help.

Room Tip: Do not take family apartment #34. Our girls were kept away until 2 am by students in the apartment...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandnsun4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was quite small and friendly in a good location within easy walking distance do the centre and main attractions. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Staff all very friendly. Location on a pedestrian street but rubbish collection at 6am!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We usually travel to Krakow in Poland for our Christmas market experiences but my wife wanted a change and so we researched for a hotel in Salzburg, Austria. Having looked objectively at all the recent reviews on Tripadvisor, both the good and the averagely bad, we plumped for The Amadeus, a ubiquitous hotel name for hostelries in the continent and more applicable here as Salzburg (for the uninitiated) also happens to be the birthplace of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart! As ever, an objective view of the Tripadvisor reviews together with our gut feeling proved to be correct.

As a base from which to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg, few locations can provide a better base than Linzergasse which is where the Hotel Amadeus is situated. The only issue we found having been given a room facing Linzergasse as opposed to the churchyard at the rear were the dustcarts which arrived early in the morning together with the delivery vans bringing goods to the hotels and shops - oh and the sliding entrance door of the Amadeus of which our room (room 10) was directly above! Still, the staff were extremely understanding, helpful and prompt in ensuring total satisfaction by moving us without fuss or bother to room 43 on the fourth floor, top of the shop and with a terrific view of Mozart's widow's grave (do not be put off facing what is essentially a graveyard - this is far more preferable to any noisy drunkards, late night stragglers etc that can usually wander past any hotel after dark.)

The location of the Amadeus is also perfect for exploring the Alt Stadt (Old Town) which is a quick five minute walk down Linzergasse and over the main city bridge. Talking of bridges, be aware but do not be afraid of the large contingent of Roma gypsies domiciling the many doorways and, in particular, the two main bridges that cut Salzburg in two. There are lots of them courtesy of Angela Merckel who unhelpfully superseded the powers that be in Austria dictating that it is the Roma's inherent human right to beg. Get used to it for on January 1st 2014, this may be an issue closer to home!

I will not bore you with details of all that we did during our break as you will have your own itinerary. However, as far as the Hotel Amadeus is concerned, the reception staff were very helpful with our travel plans, excursions, taxi bookings etc as well as offering to print out our boarding passes. All in all, Salzburg is very disability friendly too which is great for those with mobility issues.

Inside the Amadeus, the rooms are basic, some are decoratively better than others and a few challenge conventional wisdom insofar as decor is concerned. However, they are all clean with fresh linen and have showers that work, something of a revelation. We booked with Hotels.com but I believe that if one books directly with the hotel itself, although being more expensive, one may well get a better room than going through a third party booking agent. Many of the rooms also have modern, quality Panasonic flat screen TVs although only channels 55 and 56 offer British news. The toiletries inside the bathrooms are very basic but then again, this isn't the Wynn, Las Vegas - so don't expect Moulton Brown.

Breakfast is a revelation. Served on the ground floor in the restaurant which, when originally built over 600 year's ago, used to be a bath house and stables, it is an amazing, relaxing places to eat your morning meal. Do not take any notice at all of the images of the breakfast room shown on Tripadvisor. Everything has changed since then and for the better.

Recently refurbished in contemporary pale shades with a classy wooden floor, the vaulted ceiling provides a slightly anachronistic juxtaposition to the rest of the decor but this only adds to the dining experience which, for breakfast, is pretty damned good. With fresh good quality coffee, a section of teas, cold juices, water etc, you can leisurely wash down an array of tasty, well cooked and prepared food: various pastries, cakes, croissants, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, biscuits, scrambled and boiled eggs, cooked sausages, hot crispy bacon, local breads etc. the choice is very good and the quality is about 9/10 on my very discerning scale of breakfast marking, so if you really like your holiday hotel breakfast, you can be sure that you will not be disappointed here. I have uploaded some images to show. Tripadvisor readers what delights await them in the breakfast room. It really is very impressive.

Was the Amadeus perfect? Well almost apart from the price of everything in the shops and these were eyewateringly steep - and if we ever return to Salzburg which we intend to in the future, we WILL book again with the Amadeus simply because it was a lovely, pleasurable experience. Would I recommend the hotel to you? Wholeheartedly yes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid those looking directly over Linzergasse and pick a rear facing room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BarryCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was a perfect location but was so difficult to find since it is a pedestrian street. Once we found it and knew where to park in a garage nearby, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was overlooking the cemetery, very quiet and comfy. We were able to walk easily everywhere. The breakfast was relaxed and lovely. The staff was wonderful and helpful. I would certainly stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzer Gasse 43/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $152 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing