We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location, not expensive”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, not expensive”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was quite small and friendly in a good location within easy walking distance do the centre and main attractions. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Staff all very friendly. Location on a pedestrian street but rubbish collection at 6am!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    125
    34
    15
    15
See reviews for
64
121
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We usually travel to Krakow in Poland for our Christmas market experiences but my wife wanted a change and so we researched for a hotel in Salzburg, Austria. Having looked objectively at all the recent reviews on Tripadvisor, both the good and the averagely bad, we plumped for The Amadeus, a ubiquitous hotel name for hostelries in the continent and more applicable here as Salzburg (for the uninitiated) also happens to be the birthplace of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart! As ever, an objective view of the Tripadvisor reviews together with our gut feeling proved to be correct.

As a base from which to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg, few locations can provide a better base than Linzergasse which is where the Hotel Amadeus is situated. The only issue we found having been given a room facing Linzergasse as opposed to the churchyard at the rear were the dustcarts which arrived early in the morning together with the delivery vans bringing goods to the hotels and shops - oh and the sliding entrance door of the Amadeus of which our room (room 10) was directly above! Still, the staff were extremely understanding, helpful and prompt in ensuring total satisfaction by moving us without fuss or bother to room 43 on the fourth floor, top of the shop and with a terrific view of Mozart's widow's grave (do not be put off facing what is essentially a graveyard - this is far more preferable to any noisy drunkards, late night stragglers etc that can usually wander past any hotel after dark.)

The location of the Amadeus is also perfect for exploring the Alt Stadt (Old Town) which is a quick five minute walk down Linzergasse and over the main city bridge. Talking of bridges, be aware but do not be afraid of the large contingent of Roma gypsies domiciling the many doorways and, in particular, the two main bridges that cut Salzburg in two. There are lots of them courtesy of Angela Merckel who unhelpfully superseded the powers that be in Austria dictating that it is the Roma's inherent human right to beg. Get used to it for on January 1st 2014, this may be an issue closer to home!

I will not bore you with details of all that we did during our break as you will have your own itinerary. However, as far as the Hotel Amadeus is concerned, the reception staff were very helpful with our travel plans, excursions, taxi bookings etc as well as offering to print out our boarding passes. All in all, Salzburg is very disability friendly too which is great for those with mobility issues.

Inside the Amadeus, the rooms are basic, some are decoratively better than others and a few challenge conventional wisdom insofar as decor is concerned. However, they are all clean with fresh linen and have showers that work, something of a revelation. We booked with Hotels.com but I believe that if one books directly with the hotel itself, although being more expensive, one may well get a better room than going through a third party booking agent. Many of the rooms also have modern, quality Panasonic flat screen TVs although only channels 55 and 56 offer British news. The toiletries inside the bathrooms are very basic but then again, this isn't the Wynn, Las Vegas - so don't expect Moulton Brown.

Breakfast is a revelation. Served on the ground floor in the restaurant which, when originally built over 600 year's ago, used to be a bath house and stables, it is an amazing, relaxing places to eat your morning meal. Do not take any notice at all of the images of the breakfast room shown on Tripadvisor. Everything has changed since then and for the better.

Recently refurbished in contemporary pale shades with a classy wooden floor, the vaulted ceiling provides a slightly anachronistic juxtaposition to the rest of the decor but this only adds to the dining experience which, for breakfast, is pretty damned good. With fresh good quality coffee, a section of teas, cold juices, water etc, you can leisurely wash down an array of tasty, well cooked and prepared food: various pastries, cakes, croissants, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, biscuits, scrambled and boiled eggs, cooked sausages, hot crispy bacon, local breads etc. the choice is very good and the quality is about 9/10 on my very discerning scale of breakfast marking, so if you really like your holiday hotel breakfast, you can be sure that you will not be disappointed here. I have uploaded some images to show. Tripadvisor readers what delights await them in the breakfast room. It really is very impressive.

Was the Amadeus perfect? Well almost apart from the price of everything in the shops and these were eyewateringly steep - and if we ever return to Salzburg which we intend to in the future, we WILL book again with the Amadeus simply because it was a lovely, pleasurable experience. Would I recommend the hotel to you? Wholeheartedly yes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid those looking directly over Linzergasse and pick a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BarryCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It was a perfect location but was so difficult to find since it is a pedestrian street. Once we found it and knew where to park in a garage nearby, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was overlooking the cemetery, very quiet and comfy. We were able to walk easily everywhere. The breakfast was relaxed and lovely. The staff was wonderful and helpful. I would certainly stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very pleasant and simple decor, perfectly located, excellent uncrowded breakfasts. Other reviews prepared us for the late night chatter from the street below, but the windows were very effective even for the bells from the neighbouring church. In the event of very hot weather necessitating open windows, we noticed earplugs in the bedside drawers.

Room Tip: Ideally one facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel. Breakfast was very good, the room was comfortable although without air conditioning, having the windows open made for a noisy evening. One important thing. Don't put your key card in the same pocket as your cell phone. It won't work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were surprised to find a very large room with an absolutely ideal location. Our windows opened onto a balcony, that overlooked a beautiful church cemetery. The breakfast was large and the restaurant very accommodating, whether we needed a high-chair for our son or a drink to take to our room in the evening. We were in the heart of the pedestrian zone with parking nearby, and just a short walk from the old town. Loved our stay and would choose it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeAndJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in June during the heat wave. We had a great stay in Salzburg, the weather was just perfect ( we love it hot).
The location of the hotel is very convenient at the beginning of the pedestrian zone and just about 40m to walk with your luggage if you are driving. Access to the hotel can be requested but not really necessary. There is a public parking near the hotel (3minutes walking) it is expensive but ok for a touristic city.
The hotel staff is very friendly specially the lady at the reception. The restaurant staff at breakfast was also very efficient and friendly.
The room we had was overlooking the pedestrian zone and was noisy at night but still we slept with open window.
We liked it there and would definitely go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the cemetery side, it is quieter. This is not a joke, the other side is overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBO2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#52 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#30 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Linzer Gasse 43/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing