We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cosy, friendly and very convenient for the Aldstadt.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and very convenient for the Aldstadt.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very pleasant and simple decor, perfectly located, excellent uncrowded breakfasts. Other reviews prepared us for the late night chatter from the street below, but the windows were very effective even for the bells from the neighbouring church. In the event of very hot weather necessitating open windows, we noticed earplugs in the bedside drawers.

Room Tip: Ideally one facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
60
118
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel. Breakfast was very good, the room was comfortable although without air conditioning, having the windows open made for a noisy evening. One important thing. Don't put your key card in the same pocket as your cell phone. It won't work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were surprised to find a very large room with an absolutely ideal location. Our windows opened onto a balcony, that overlooked a beautiful church cemetery. The breakfast was large and the restaurant very accommodating, whether we needed a high-chair for our son or a drink to take to our room in the evening. We were in the heart of the pedestrian zone with parking nearby, and just a short walk from the old town. Loved our stay and would choose it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeAndJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in June during the heat wave. We had a great stay in Salzburg, the weather was just perfect ( we love it hot).
The location of the hotel is very convenient at the beginning of the pedestrian zone and just about 40m to walk with your luggage if you are driving. Access to the hotel can be requested but not really necessary. There is a public parking near the hotel (3minutes walking) it is expensive but ok for a touristic city.
The hotel staff is very friendly specially the lady at the reception. The restaurant staff at breakfast was also very efficient and friendly.
The room we had was overlooking the pedestrian zone and was noisy at night but still we slept with open window.
We liked it there and would definitely go back to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the cemetery side, it is quieter. This is not a joke, the other side is overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBO2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June during which a 35 degrees heatwave was underway! We had a lovely, spacious room, more like a junior suite really, and I think we got this because we booked direct with hotel - it wasn't much more expensive this way. The beds were very comfortable and the room was tastefully but simply furnished including a lovely chandelier. Our room overlooked Linzergasse and there was street noise with the windows open but the double glazing was excellent and you heard nothing with the windows closed. Due to the heat we just slept without the duvet! The bathroom was on the small side but it was fine. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door and it was pretty good with a good selection of breads, meat, cheese. The muesli was OK but nothing special. If you like a bit of sparkle to start your day then chilled Prosseco is available! It's a smallish hotel so it's perfectly understandable that they don't have a reception open all night long. Picking up your keys in an envelope is perfectly fine and if you do need to contact the staff a number is provided for this. Easy peasy really! All in all, we enjoyed our stay during this unseasonably hot time. Salzburg was great.

Room Tip: Book direct to secure a higher spec room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelManGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

spent 2 nights in this wonderful Hotel and loved it perfectly located and extremly friendly stuff. our 2 rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. breakfast was fresh and great variety. if you are looking for something special - go there! i would definetly stay there again.

not to Forget the great Restaurant - ist just recently opened and has a nice outside area.

Room Tip: ask for Apartments - they are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelproette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! If you plan on coming in the summer time, pick a different hotel. We arrived after 6 pm, and front desk was already closed. They left out keys outside of the door in envelope, that could have easily been taken by someone else. Once we got to our room, on the fourth floor, we were drenched in sweat. It felt like a furnace. The hotel is located in a busy location meaning that with the windows open we could hear people's conversations even on the top floor. Loud partying contined though out the entire night. It was so hot we had to leave the windows open, which allowed bugs, and Mosquitos to bite us all night. There were holes in the sheet, (there was only one sheet on the mattress, nothing else). This was a miserable night and we moved to a different hotel in the morning. Needless to say, we will never return to this hotel, nor recommend it to any one!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kblackburn1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellerpro43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest.
I am the Manager of the Hotel and would like to answer you personally. You have been at our Hotel with your entire Family and had booked 3 rooms. Your Family stayed with us for 3 nights and only you mooved to another Hotel. Yes it was extremly hot at this time - it was a heatwave we had never experienced before in this Country and it lasted for 3 days. I am sorry you did not accept our offer to moove to another room on a lower floor wich would have been much cooler. I am also very sorry to experience that the entire Hotel bill, including your Salzburg Cards remained unpaid upon your departure. Finally I would like to say, that I took personally care of your family as soon as I had heard of your complaint and I was told everything was fine and no room change or anything else nessecary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#10 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#55 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#26 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#14 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Linzer Gasse 43 -/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing