We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fantastic find”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently took a family trip throughout Europe accompanying my husband on a business trip. It is so hard to find hotels in Europe willing to accommodate a family with two children. The Amadeus Hotel has apartment suites with two bedrooms that were perfect for us. Normally we would consider this too large but the price was too good to pass up. The location is charming and breakfast is outstanding. Our desire to return to Salzburg is affected by our fantastic experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amadeus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent two days here on a weekend and paid 198€ including tax and breakfast. This little hotel has some nice rooms of reasonable size. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room overlooked the St. Sebastian cemetery and the rest of the city was in the distance. The rooms on this side are quiet ours was 43. 44 was also on this side. It appeared the same numbers on the floors under us also overlooked the cemetery. Some work was needed in the plumbing area as the shower heads were old style and would not stay up as the connection was worn. Management needs to to a walk around to check things like this. Staff was great, especially the restaurant crew at breakfast. Worked hard to keep food, coffee and other drinks supplied.

Room Tip: As mentioned, get room on the St. Sebastian side of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recommend this hotel to everyone. I was there with my family including 2 infants for 2 weeks The place was clean, friendly stuff gerat service. Averall great value for thr money, perfect location. Parking is complicated and cumbersome needs improvement. Dedicated management appreciating attitude

Overall good value for money I will be back for sure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajnuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and paid 180€. The room was spacious and the two beds were joined but comfortable and suitable for couples. For the inclusive breakfast the hotel was connected to the restaurant next door and it was very filling. The only downside was the bells from the cathedral near the hotel ringing every once in a while but the hotel provides you free earplugs... :) finally I was surprised in a good way when we arrived late at night and an envelope with our room key was waiting for us at the entrance, but please notify the hotel staff before hand that you would be arriving after 6pm.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I spend three days before Christmas here, a few years ago. We enjoyed it thoroughly. The best was the afternoon coffee and eats at 15:00. something we did not find in any other Hotel we stayed at.
The room was clean, neat and overlooked the cemetery. This made it quite and cosy. I can recommend the Hotel and will stay there again when we are in Austria.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Three adults and two children stayed in the two bedroomed suite plus an additional single room.
The rooms were lovely with windows opening over the beautiful narrow street or the cemetery and gardens at the back.
There was plenty of space and large bathrooms and a lovely Austrian character. Breakfast was good and the beautiful old city is all at your doorstep. We walked to everywhere and ate each night within a minute or two of the hotel (important in the cold and snow when the kids are tired out). The downside was renovations going on both in the hotel and across the road that began before 6am! Definitely no sleeping in until these are over, best to ask!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went with three girlfriends in December to Salzburg and stayed at the hotel Amadeus. It is a wonderful city, so prettty at this time of year and the Christmas markets were delightful with so many stalls and gifts. The hotel was in a quiet location and the rooms were spotless. The breakfast buffet was very good with a good choice .The hotel does not have a restaurant but it was was nice to be able to try the local restaurants.
We organised a day trip to the ski resort of Filzmoos which was wonderful. It is easy to use the trains and they run an excellent service.
We are already planning a return trip for next December.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntsmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzer Gasse 43/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $152 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing