We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Charm”
Review of Stadtkrug Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stadtkrug Hotel
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed, my husband and I, at Stadtkrug Hotel, for four nights, for New Year celebration.
We had a great stay. Everything was super. First, very welcomed, excellent reception, everybody was so helpful and polite. Especially Isabella was a find. Thank you Isabella and all young people on front desk.
In the entrance of the Hotel there is a very warm bar with some tables. Very charming reception, with its sitting area, decoration, paintings, built under the rock of Kapuzinen Burg.
Our Junior Suite, was beautiful, spacious, very stylish furnished, four big windows, and so elegant. So welcomed, after long strolls in the old city, like coming back home, sit into a comfortable big armchair or relax on the couch with a drink from the mini bar.
Breakfast was served, in the Hotel’s restaurant, a big nice and warm salle. You can have everything you wish. Great coffee, Austrian sweets, a huge variety of bread, croissants, cheese, Ham, yogurt, fruits I can’t remember…. They ask you if you wish eggs cooked in all possible ways.
Bijou, our small Shih- Tzu was enchanted, dogs are so welcome and loved by the owner.
In conclusion, a great charming, warm, stylish hotel in Salzburg old city center, fitting so well with the beautiful city,

Room Tip: My review concern a Junior Suite, which is much bigger and comfortable from small and standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 478 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Stadtkrug was perfect for our family of 5. We had a large "luxury double room" with a large living room that had 2 couches, 2 comfy chairs, 2 Murphy beds and a roll-away bed for our 3 kids, a separate bedroom for the adults, and a modern bathroom with bidet and the coolest shower enclosure I have ever seen. We just loved the feel of the old building, with a rock jutting into the reception area, a stone doorway in our room, and lots of other quirky features.

This is a family business, and the staff was super helpful and friendly. They helped with directions and printed out concert tickets for us. We ate in the restaurant the first night. They have a limited menu because it is a small place, but we were grateful not to have to go out in the cold rain. The food was surprisingly good, and the waiter/bartender had a great sense of humor, and remembered our kids' names the next day and asked how they were doing. Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection, plus eggs cooked to order, and, once again, friendly service.

The building is 700 years old and built up against a hill. Because of this the back of the hotel is about half a story higher than the front and travelers with disabilities should know that even though there is an elevator, you will have to go up and down a few steps here and there, even just to get to reception. You may want to ask about windows, too. Our room had large windows facing the street, but I'm not sure about the rooms further back in the hotel.

We were very pleased and hope to stay at the Stadtkrug again. Highly recommend, especially for families who need space.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well, not quite the trees, but certainly across the river and hard up against the Kapuzinerberg, with what looks like an outcrop of rock sticking into the reception area. Not in the Old Town here, and that might be no bad thing if the tourists get noisy, but only about a hundred yards across the bridge. It was a little bit dim and overheated when we were there, and the downside of its being built up against a hill is that there is no view from the rear rooms. The rooms themselves are good and big, though, and the breakfast buffet is generous. There is a large bowl of Mozartkugeln alongside the cereal, in case you forget where you are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just had 3 lovely days at The Stadtkrug. The staff were really friendly and helpful,room very cosy and clean.Very central location, we were able to walk everywhere. The only downside was there was no kettle in the room and the bar didnt serve hot drinks but apart from that I would highly recommend it?

Room Tip: Bring a travel kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrisionsnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We found it almost in emergence, 8 december evening in Salzburg (saturday) without reservations.
The structure is good, but for 140 euros (the small double) you can expect more. The small bed for our baby was not in order and eventually the room was almost inhabitable. Anyway the position is great, but there are not parking facilities nearby. The breakfast was good, not exceptional. Let's say a priced average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gioele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I were traveling by motorcycle. The staff helped us with laundry and offered to move us from street side room to a quiet room over looking a garden wall. From the manager to the bartender, the rooms to the food, everything was wonderful. If you like the charm of the old country and its history this hotel is for you. The trip was August 2007.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel in July this year and were very impressed with the hotel and the incredible attention the manager and his son paid to us.

I had just dropped off, the night before, a Hertz rental car and Hertz promised me a phone call re
the condition of the car upon return.
This never happened (No more Hertz for me, but thats another story) So the manager took it upon himself to get some sort of varification that, my returned vehicle didn't have half the car missing from some accident on the wonderfully narrow Swiss and Austrian roads.
This coupled with the service, the cleanliness of the room, fine breakfasts and a friendly bar attendent made us feel like we were part of the family.
It is very central to the Salzburg attractions and the bus departure point for local tours.
Also the train station to Vienna.
Plenty of eateries nearby, thoroughly reccommend this hotel as a place to stay in Salzburg.
Richie B. NEWCASTLE. AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadtkrug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadtkrug Hotel

Address: Linzer Gasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $170 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadtkrug Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time-honoured Stadtkrug is located in Linzer Gasse, in the quiet part of the Salzburg's Old Town, which has managed to preserve its original charme. The hotel's central location on the right sid of Salzburg's Old Town is perfect for a mini-break combined with culture, Business, Shopping and recreation. The Stadtkrug is a traditioneal, four-star Hotel that offers 37 rooms with about 70 beds. It is run by the Lucian Family. The Chef loves Austrian food - especially organic beef from his own highland cattels. You have to try one of this excellent steaks! Visit the Homepage of the hotel or call them to make your reservation and start to be a part of the Stadtkrug-Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Stadtkrug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadtkrug Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing