We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but old and quite small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
Ranked #2 of 62 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location but old and quite small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here on our Rick Steves Germany, Austria, Switzerland tour while in Salzburg so I can't really address the cost for what was provided.

The hotel itself is centrally located but quite small. Our room was small, the stairs were small, the breakfast area was quite small. One odd thing was the use of skeleton keys for the room doors. Weird and hard to use in a poorly lit (small) hallway.

They do have an elevator but it is, wait for it, quite small.

The front door is locked after normal business hours so you had better hang onto that little piece of paper they give you when you check in (or take a picture of it with your camera). It has the number code to unlock the front door. Buy a good Rick Steves guide book for good options on what to see and do in the area. Don't expect this to be a full service hotel.

The WiFi only worked in the (small) lobby or eating area for us. This is actually true of most hotels we stayed at in Europe so I can't complain too much on this issue.

I might stay here again if I couldn't find anything else in the price range.

The existing Traveler photos pretty much show it all (what is with the photos of the city of Salzburg? The review is for the hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFromAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DeForest, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Cityhotel Trumer Stube is situated in the heart of old Salzburg. It a small facility with exceptional ambiance! The rooms are spotless and a good value!! It is staffed by genuinely nice people, especially it's owner, Vivian. She is willing and able to provide you with excellent suggestions for any questions you may have. You can start your day with a wonderful european breakfast buffet for a small price. Highly recommended!! You will find yourself in close proximity, walking distance, to all the charms of this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This little hotel is located only a couple of blocks from Mozarts Birth home. Fantastic location near many restaraunts and a five minute walk to the "Altstatt". Very close to the Mirabella gardens and the departure point for most of the tours for the area. Room was reasonably sized, good sized bathroom, elevator, very helpful staff. Breakfast not included but a bargain at 7.5 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, some people we talked to at breakfast with a street room said it was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantiano, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

With my wife, my brother, and my sister-in-law, we spent two nights in this wonderful hotel on Bergstrasse, Salzburg, Austria. Located near Old Town, about a leisure 7-minute walk, we were able to get to most of the historic sites and some great restaurants. The staff is so friendly and helpful and were able to assist us with any questions we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad we chose a hotel on this side of the river because the old town was way too crowded for my taste. This hotel has easy access to restaurants, shopping, tourist sites, and parking. However, the rooms are definitely outdated and small. You are paying for the location. I wish we could have opened our window for more air, but unfortunately it was raining. The fan provided some air, but the room did feel a little stuffy. Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again, but I wish the price was a tad lower. Also, note you cannot drive up to the hotel without calling ahead because there are road blocks. The hotel can have them removed if you call ahead or arrive before 11AM.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was great if you're not staying in the old town of Salzburg. But the rooms here are small with dated decorations. They are clean, though. We asked for an inside room and were pleased as there are a couple bars outside on the street side. No air conditioning, but there was a fan in our room which provided enough cool air. Room and bathroom was clean. Personally, the price didnt meet the room due to size and limited amenities, but perhaps at a lower rate, it would be a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey123176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Vivienne and her staff were super helpful and kind. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from the river, old town and train staion. Our room was very small, but clean and cozy and breakfast was exelent. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Trumer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Trumer Stube

Property: Cityhotel Trumer Stube
Address: Bergstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityhotel Trumer Stube 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityhotel Trumer Stube welcomes you in the heart of Salzburg’s old town. We are a small and cozy hotel located in the pedestrian zone which allows you to comfortably reach all famous sights, attractions, restaurants or the festival hall easily on foot within just a few steps. We will be happy to assist you with any hints and information, aswell as booking tours, excursions and concerts for you. This shall make your stay in Salzburg very comfortable and unforgettable. 3 reasons to stay at Cityhotel Trumer Stube - uncomparable location in the middle of Salzburg's old town - best information and special insider-hints due to our personal support - lovely, well cared rooms in an austrian style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cityhotel Trumer Stube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trumer Stube Hotel
Trumer Stube Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing