We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the historic center of Salzburg”
Review of Ganslhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ganslhof
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the historic center of Salzburg”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Ganslhof in Sept 2013. We stayed in a double room which was comfortable and adequate in size. The hotel is about 15 min. walking distance from the river and the old city sites of Salzburg. There are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and other shopping nearby. I liked that it wasn't directly in the center since it was more quiet. The breakfast was a very big spread with plenty to offer for any tastes. I would recommend this as an option for someone visiting Salzburg.

Room Tip: If you do not enjoy cigarette smoke, you might ask for a room that is far from the patio area near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We did have some problem finding this hotel. There was free parking and our room was on the ground floor. The area was quiet at night. It was possible to walk in to the centre of town or to take the bus. It was about 900 m to the centre but lots of lovely shops on the way. There were a few restaurants on the way or in the city. Breakfast was simple room very clean and quick service rooms clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuala d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed with my family (of 7) and we all had a great time. Excellent location close to bus stop and city center. The owner was friendly and gave us directions. Free parking, good breakfast, comfortable and very clean rooms. I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms were ok and breakfast ok but I agree with other reviews the staff were so grumpy to the point of been rude and by no means do you receive a welcome or even a smile. If the Internet is important to you do not stay here for what ever reason it's rubbish. On the first day it disconnected ever couple minutes, on the second day would not connect and when I asked I was definatly given the look that I should have known you need a new password each day, but still no good. On the positive note big car park and a easy ten minutes walk in to Salzburg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becej, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Location is the only positive thing about the hotel Ganslhof. Of course,
if you can call it a hotel. I do not know who gives three stars to hotel like
this.
Ganslhof at a glance:
Triple room is the smallest double room in the world with extra bed.
TV progam in the room can only be viewed if you take a
magnifying glass.
Bathroom is small and with one little soap and small shampoo
Breakfast prepared by a chef who is the same person that fixes electricity
in the rooms and welcomes guests at the reception.
Welcome to new guest consists of throwing the key to the room and explain
how to get to the room.
To my objection that the room 22 is not a triple room, but double as it is written
at the door, I was told that I could check out. That next day I did and
when I asked for the company invoice, I got a half letter size paper with
payments in handwriting. "This is it" - he told me the man and went
outside reception.
It remains only taste of bitterness and the feeling that I was cheated
I do not know if someone from the Austrian tourism organization reads
this, but they should definitely go and see how it does not work well in
Ganslhof

Room Tip: Don't book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Majstorovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very good location, free parking place, very quite during our stay, and walking distance to to city center and all important sites. Rooms are ok, bed are comfortable and overall hygiene is very good. Breakfast was exellent, in newly decorated space. I cannot understand WiFi only in reception, and only with key. We has good room for kids, which are welcome there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skole_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location, 15 min walk to downtown. The room was avg at best. It was dark with little in the way of lighting. The staff was grumpy even German and Austrian standards. Free parking but WiFi only in the breakfast area and the staffed looked put out when I had to ask them for the username and password.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank K and J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Cicubo Hotel
Villa Cicubo Hotel
#99 of 132 in Salzburg
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#62 of 132 in Salzburg
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jedermann
Hotel Jedermann
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
842 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganslhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganslhof

Property: Ganslhof
Address: Vogelweiderstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganslhof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ganslhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing