We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Torn between 2 and 3 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Weisse Taube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Weisse Taube
Ranked #4 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom California USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Torn between 2 and 3 stars”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff is great, the breakfast is good/acceptable. The location is excellent. The bed is relatively comfortable. The rooms are plain but serviceable. There is no air conditioning and the rooms over the street are loud if you need to open the windows for air. The bathroom is simply awful. Its a smelly, plastic tube with an oddly formatted toilet and a disgusting plastic/rubber pad on the floor (which we suspect might be the main source of the smell). That, for me, is a total dealbreaker. From now on i will be far more diligent in my research as it relates to the bathroom facilities.
For folks less fastidious its probably ok - everything else was tolerable. And again, the staff was very very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    214
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
120
280
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Over the years I have stayed at literally hundreds of hotels in the US and Europe and Hotel Weisse Taube ranks among the very best! The location, in the heart of Old Town Salzburg, is ideal Combine the location with a staff that was courteous, helpful, and professional, and top it all off with a very reasonable rate and you have my definition of a great hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Salzburg and wants to be just steps away from all of the sites and activities of Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Small tidy room but as always in Austria, with an impeccably clean bathroom.

Our room looked out on to a central light-well; it was quiet but I suspect it would feel very airless in summer.

Good breakfast, friendly efficient staff and a great location. Just right for a two nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, just off the Mozartplatz in the old town in Salzburg. It is a short walk to everything and there are lots of nice restaurants and cafes nearby. (Zwettlers a few doors down is excellent) The staff in the hotel were excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was great, basic cold meats, cereal, bread and soft boiled egg as well as fruit, juices and tea/coffee.
On the downside the hotel really needs a renovation and redecoration. There is no air con so with the heat at night I barely slept and was extremely uncomfortable.
If you are going to Salzburg in the heat of summer this may not be the best hotel for you but it is fine for a short trip. It fulfills all basic needs and if you are only sleeping in the hotel it is clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are staying their in summer it might be best to get a room on a lower floor rather than one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed many times in the 90’s and were happy to return to the Weisse Taube after many years. The place is still unbeatable for Salzburg.

The location is spectacular. Very centrally located and near many reasonable eateries. The style is amazing but what else can you expect from a centuries old building and multiple-generation owners. The slight improvements from our early experiences, in bathrooms and the larger eating area have even improved the level of overall experience. The traditional breakfast is wonderful and our room was one of the larger ones and certainly roomy enough for a family of three, or more.

The staff is hugely friendly and were even able to help us pay a local taxi driver when we were unable to get cash from the nearby ATM’s.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankMarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

After taking bus # 1 from the train station and about a 5 minute walk after you cross the bridge, you will find the Hotel Weisse which is perfectly located in the heart of Salzburg. The hotel is right next to all the major sights of the city, along with a great selection of restaurants and patios. The single room is perfect for the solo traveller, and has a good rate considering the prime location. The bathroom is a little small, but nothing worth really complaining about, reminded me of hotel bathrooms in Tokyo. The accomodating staff were kind enough to check me in early, free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here in May for 3 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. It is an excellent family run hotel in a great location. The staff were always friendly, helpful and nothing was any trouble. The breakfasts and service were excellent. Our room and bathroom was spacious and very comfortable. The service and friendliness from Melanie on the front desk was excellent. We enquired after a nice hotel where the locals go to eat and we went to her recommended venue. Not only was the food excellent and good value but we had a great night with the staff and the friendly locals. So much to see and do in Salzburg. We will definitely be returning one day and look forward to staying at this hotel again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weisse Taube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weisse Taube

Property: Hotel Weisse Taube
Address: Kaigasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weisse Taube 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altstadthotel Weisse Taube is located in a historic building dating from 1365 in the heart of Salzburg's old town. All major sights are only a few steps away and the closest bus stop can be found within 150 metres. Free WiFi is available in public areas and in the hotel rooms. Hotel Weisse Taube offers rooms with cable TV, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Daily newspapers and magazines are also at all guests' disposal. A luscious buffet breakfast, comprising regional breads, jams and pastries and a selection of hams and cheeses, can be enjoyed every morning. Concert tickets and tickets for sightseeing tours are available at Altstadthotel Weisse Taube's reception. The bus lines 3, 5 and 6 arrive from the station to the hotel within a 10-minute ride. The bus line 8 leaves from the airport and arrives within 20-25 minutes. Parking is possible, a 5 or 10-minute walk away you can reach a public parking garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Weisse Taube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisse Taube Hotel
Weisse Taube Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing