We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location, Excellent View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #36 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, Excellent View”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quaint and ideally located within historic Salzburg. Many local sights are within walking distance, and the window view from our room was breathtaking. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We found Salzburg and this hotel to be one of our more memorable European getaways.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ACH_GNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    224
    108
    44
    28
See reviews for
136
287
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights in November , had a wonderful room overlooking the nonberg abbey and castle used in the sound of music . rooms were cleaned to a high standard, bedding was lovely. Staff were friendly, breakfasts were great. Hotel is only a two minute walk in the centre of Salzburg. . Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Salzburg. Thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor overlooking abbey, just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bessy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I wouldn't let my dog stay in thus hotel. Left early and checked into another hotel no hot water, bed so uncomfortable and noisy I slept on the floor. Didn't natter that there was construction work all night on other floors. These people should not be running a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a lovely, characterful hotel in a great, central location. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and the staff friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean but exceptionally small and really not suitable for two people sharing. To get to the bedroom, you had to pass through the bathroom and there was no space for two people to pass between the twin beds. Privacy in the shower was afforded by a frosted glass door which could be pulled across to separate it from the bedroom and there were no surfaces to keep toiletries so we had to live out of our bags. There was no table lamp so you had to get out of bed again to switch out the lights and, although there was a price list for a mini bar, there were no drinks at all in the room. For a short break, it was adequate and we saw a couple of other rooms which were much more spacious so I would recommend the hotel, but not room 214!

Room Tip: Avoid 214, which is incredibly small and not really suitable for sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was beautiful, and much like staying in an old rambling home. It was built in 1342! The hotel was recently renovated, and although our room was filled with antiques, the bathroom was modern and clean. The hotel was only minutes away from all famous historical sites in the Residence Square,and the transit line. The breakfast buffet was very generous and delicious. The Italian restaurant adjoining the hotel served the best gnocchi I've had in some time. Totally charming, very quiet, and exactly what we were looking for in Bavarian style. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but the hotel offered a unique spa. Ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinxHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Passing through Salzburg on the way to Vienna we stayed in this hotel for one night last october. We had been to Salzburg once before and we were surprised about how greatly located was the hotel that we have chosen this time... almost all the main Salzburg attractions are walkable from it. Actually it is located within the Salzburg old town, what itself is an attraction.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Free good quality wi-fi. Free enjoyable breakfast buffet. Despite of been a little small, the rooms are comfortable... ours even had a cosy little balcony.
If you are looking for an hotel well located, comfortable, without much pomp for an affordable price, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlaFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel has a great decoration. The room number 324 (two single beds) is ample and quiet, with a good bathroom (but needs some adjustment in the glass door of the box/tube). Breakfast is ok. Internet is free. Great location. The front desk team is helpfull.

Room Tip: The room number 324 (two single beds) is ample and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing