We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved waking up in the morning and swinging open the window to see a view of the fortress above us and hearing the clock tower down the street. The shower was nice and hot with great water pressure and a blow drier was provided. While it should have been non-smoking, the room did smell a bit of smoke, but it was comfortable. We enjoyed the little touch of gummy bears on our pillows and absolutely loved the delicious breakfast of breads, cheeses, veggies, eggs/sausage, sweet bread, tomato/mozzarella, and juice! We were there during the big flood (June '13) and the concierge was extremely helpful calling around to help us find out if any roads were open so we could drive to Hallstatt as we had planned (all were closed). Also, there is parking provided for the guest (a rarity!) across the street which is very convenient if you have a car. We appreciated the close proximity of our hotel to the charming old town of Salzburg and would stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We didn't see what views other floors had, but ours (room 329) afforded us a view of the Fortres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 686 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel rooms were typically European, very small with no A/C and we were in the middle of a heat wave, open windows then let in street noise. The hotel didn't have an iron, shower was very good so was bed. Location was excellent right next to public mall which went down to the river

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaspas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to many great restaurants, shopping spots and sites. Very close to Mozartplatz. The parking is private. Great breakfast. Very pleasant & helpful staff. The antique furniture is terrific throughout the hotel. Our suite (#3) was beautiful and quite large. The only caveat was our room overlooked the front street and the hotel sign is lit up at night. Since we were there in August, we left the windows open at night requiring eye masks. The church bells toll early and for a long time & large trucks come by early as well. Ear plugs remedied this our 2nd night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0rtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, no aircon or fan, no fridge, coffee/tea facilities, breakfast was sufficient, location faultless, great stay, could be improved with left out facilities!!!!

Room Tip: Be parred for sacrifices for location!!!'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moxa1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently back from a trip around Europe and this was one of the better hotels I stayed in, though all were 4 star or above.

I guess it depends what you want from a hotel. This one had an old feel to it- the floorboards creaked and there was no air-con, but the point is, it doesn't market itself as a 'new, super chic, ultra modern hotel.'

The room I stayed in was very clean, bathroom was fine and had a decent view- although the hotel was decent enough to point out that it was a room with not a very good view.

Breakfast was nice. Plenty of choice and no issue with quantity on offer.

Staff were the best bit about the hotel- friendly, efficient and professional.

The hotel is ideally suited in the old town, just a minute's walk from the main church.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped here for my 40th birthday celebrations. All staff were very helpful, always happy and most importantly fluent in English! Julia on reception was extremely helpful and always patient. Will definitely stop again hopefully one day. The hotel is situated perfectly for Salzburg Old Town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Such a great location, and apparently other positive reviews and I hate to write this review. But I don't want others to have the same surprise so I write. For our family of 6 with 3 kids under 13 y.o, we actually left this hotel after our first night. The initial dirt and garbage I noticed when I took a wrong way down a short staircase on the way to our rooms was alarming, but I hoped it was an exception.

We had 2 rooms, each with an extra "bed", but the "bed" in one of the rooms was a futon placed directly onto the floor. My 6-y.o. nephew slept there all night and the next morning had hundreds of tiny, itchy bug bites all over his neck, back and arms. Another adult family member, in a different - albeit lovely - room and on a regular bed, had bites on his back. The hotel staff graciously allowed us to cancel our reservation for the second night with a full refund. It was explained to me then that they said the bugs were a problem in many of the oldtown hotels this time of year because of the heat, etc., and they were genuinely sorry.

The next hotel we stayed in - equally old and located a block away - had no bugs. (The Wolf Hotel).

Despite this, the pluses were the location, the wood-fired pizza restaurant next door, the wonderful history of the hotel, and Salzburg's first movie theater (attached!) which was playing a newly-released Disney movie.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and bedding before you agree to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnMarie88_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $113 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing