We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear, what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oh dear, what a disappointment”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The views on Trip Advisor are generally favourable on this hotel, so I was looking forward to my stay with my family. I had misgivings from the moment I entered the lobby - a hotel that has bags of popcorn available to purchase next to the check in desk? We had reserved the family room at the top of the building, and while I could see from the photos that the furnishings were modern I had opted for it on the basis of the convenience of having everyone together. What a mistake! The room was sorely in need of redecoration with the paintwork really marked, 1970s style woodflooring and well worn stairs to the kids beds upstairs. The small window at ceiling height made it feel somewhat like a prison (!) it was also considerably smaller than it appeared from the photos. The hotel has the advantage of being close to the main attractions, but nothing in Salzburg isvery far away. I understand from other reviews that therooms in this hotelaee of very varying sizes and decor, but I would not recommend the 4th floor family 'suites'.

Room Tip: The quality of the 4th floor family rooms is not at all what appears from the photos! A poor experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildatheart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    222
    105
    42
    28
See reviews for
134
281
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really liked Altstadthotel Kasererbräu. It was comfortable, roomy, clean and seemed a bit luxurious, but was very affordable. The sauna and breakfasts were free, and enjoyable. Since it is in the heart of Old Salzburg, we easily walked to/from our hotel to all our destinations. The bike rentals at the hotel were very convenient, although the bikes were too big for me, and likely for anyone under 5'4''. But, otherwise it is a great convenience. We would definitely stay here again. If you don't have a car you can get to the hotel by bus, but it is in the pedestrian zone, so you will have about a 10 minute walk up to the hotel from the bus stop. It was a tiny struggle on the way up, but a breeze on the way down. Don't let this discourage you. It's worth the little trek.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crummypigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Cozy little hotel in a very old building with good location - only 3 mins walk to Mozart's Platz and Dom and funicular to Hohensalzburg Fortress among many other sites. I booked the loft for my family of 4, but instead we got a 2br family suit just one level up from reception - they call it the Mezzanine level. Both windows opened onto a courtyard area where guests were enjoying their breakfasts from 6.30am or chatting and smoking at night - hence not much privacy and cigarette smoke filtered in to our rooms. As no aircon in rooms we had to keep the windows open. Reading other reviews it looks like our rooms were among the smaller and older ones and found the beds were not very comfy and unfortunately all four of them (and the wood flooring) were very squeaky. Breakfast buffet was with enough variety to start our days and satisfy our children. Their espresso was very good. Reception staff was helpful and professional (except for one tall gentleman on duty on a Saturday evening). They do laundry, but keep it in mind that they will not return it the same day only next morning. Rooms were clean, but bathroom floor was clearly not attended to during our 3 days stay. If you arrive by car, getting into old town is a big tricky - need to call reception every time you drive in for a code to get through the rising bollard system at Kajetaner Platz. Parking space is very limited. Upon check in they provide you with a code for Internet access.

Room Tip: If you book the family loft, best to call ahead to confirm so you won't be surprised like us. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW77429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The best thing about this hotel would have to be the location. All the main sights are within walking distance. There are a mixture,of rooms with some being a bit old and tired and others much newer and brighter. I had one of the older rooms that needed updating given that this was a 4 star hotel but my friend had a room on a higher floor which was newer and a lot nicer. There was no air conditioning but the windows could be opened and the only noise came from the church bells chiming. These rooms were at the back of the hotel which I think would be quieter than those facing the street.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms that is at the back of the hotel away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleL420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Flat, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here June 2013 and had a wonderful experience. HUGE loft room (by any standard, not just European), excellent location, and a spectacular view of the Hohensalzburg Castle. Within walking distance of everything of interest in Old Salzburg. Started each day with a complimentary breakfast that puts most complimentary breakfasts to shame. EXCELLENT pizza shop attached to the hotel, as well. If you're going to Salzburg, this needs to be on your short list of places to stay!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a family of 4, make sure you request one of the loft suites on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Salzburg was the second stop in a family trip to Germany and Austria. My wife and I were traveling with our 18 year old daughter. We stayed in one of the apartments on the 4th floor and it was perfect. The loft bedroom gave my daughter her own space. The bathroom had all modern conveniences. The service was fine and breakfasts were good. As far as noise from the street, this is Europe with out A/C, so noise from the street is a given. But, being on the 4th floor helps. We slept with windows open and had no issue. The church bells are going to chime late and early so.... This location is perfect right at the base of the fortress. Literally everything is within walking distance. Best restaurant was Triangel, see my review for a way to get a break from the same old sausage and schnitzel.

Room Tip: A fourth floor apartment is perfect for more than 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Pro's
1. Staff was very very helpful. They helped us book a rental car for a day, gave great advice for food, and all around made the staff comfortable.
2. Location is what you are paying for! It is steps away from everything.
3. Disagree with some reviews on noise from the street. We were on the first floor of the hotel overlooking the street. Some noise late at night but nothing unbearable.
4. Room 501 is large and comfortable.
5. Great buffet. Saved us loads of money and time looking for a decent breakfast.

Con's
1. The room needs an update. Everything was clean and neat but could use better decorations and larger showers. Too basic for the price and the four star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennylovestravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing