We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Salzburg Altstadt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Salzburg Altstadt”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room 500, the Deluxe room with a lovely bathroom en suite and in crawling distance to the great breakfast buffet. Being in the heart of the Salzburg Altstadt, one is awakened by the tolling bells of the various churches located there. Everything is a hop, skip and jump from the hotel, which also houses a charming kino (said to be the oldest in Salzburg!). Charming decor, accompanied by thought-provoking, philosophical phrases adorning some windows and mirrors. Easily accessible from the main route, yet quietly located in Kaigasse. A gem in the heart of the Salzburg Altstadt!

Room Tip: The deluxe room is definitely spacious with good quality furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_Hammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    223
    107
    44
    28
See reviews for
136
286
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We did have have a terrible time when we reached the hotel in Salzburg. The room they showed us to was the worst with a leg of one of the two chairs broken and the room so small we could barely turn. But after complaining to the wonderful staff who by the way was the best, they changed us to an excellent room which was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is very centrally located and easily accessible to all the main sight seeing places and the staff speaks enough English to help you with everything. The breakfast was also great. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Please do not choose a room facing the street. Too much noise till late in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatibadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our stay in Salzburg and LOVED it. We wished we could have stayed longer. This hotel is located in central Old Town, and within walking distance to anything and everything you'd want to do.

It was clean, cute, and has a great view of the fortress. The bathroom was probably the nicest of our trip and their breakfast was fantastic with tons of options. The staff was friendly and offered to book us tours or give us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. They will also start up the sauna for you if you want to take advantage of that.

Loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were in the Old City in a great location, but that comes with a cost. This was an overpriced couple of nights. The hotel is connected to a movie theatre (mostly in German, of course). We did have a great parking space in a covered garage (not all the spaces are covered, nor are there enough for everyone, so book early). We needed a code to get the bollard to lower so we could drive to the hotel on a restricted access street, but it was no problem. Staff was spotty -- when we first got there, it seemed like the twentysomethings were running the place without supervision. Then we went to use the sauna/steam room (which they did not tell us how to do – just “do what you like"). We went naked, but managed to be alone the whole time anyway. Then the steam room shut off while we were in it. It is hard to run downstairs naked to tell them we were still up here! We had a good time in Salzburg, so the hotel was not a big frustration. It was located close enough to most of what we wanted to do. But looking back, I think I might try to count my Euros more carefully, if possible.

Room Tip: You might like to quiz them on what their designations mean. We had a "Mozart" room. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splanknon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Not sure what to think of this hotel. It was very clean and tidy, but the decor was just so random. An eclectic collections of beautiful antiques in massive need of a sand and lacquer mixed with hideous frog, toadstools and fairy ornaments and film paraphanalia. You can also take animals into the breakfast restaurant apparently. They had a cinema which looked awesome, and if i understood German better would have definitely made use of that. It also was in an excellent location in the Aldstadt, but away from the touristy places of the main area. We went to the Italian restaurant attached for lunch to escape the rain before heading to the Hauptbahnhof and the food was delicious. The staff were informative enough without being too friendly.

No robes, no toiletries, no tea or coffee making facilities. The floors needed a polish and were sooo incredibly squeaky, i felt sorry for the people on the floor below us. My mums bed also creaked loudly and woke us both up every time she moved. The shower over the bath wasn't practical either. The shower head was in the centre wall rather than an end wall and water just went everywhere. And those annoying feather European pillows again with no support and your head sinks to the bottom of them. Grrr.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't squeak and creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emkaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and it's a brilliant location for walking round Salzburg. Lovely clean rooms, very quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Just perfect for a city break, and very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while travelling for our Honeymoon for 2 nights. The hotel is in a perfect location in the old town. Just a short 20min walk to the Hohensalzburg Castle, 10min walk to the Mozart House and Getreidegasse (main shopping street). The hotel is neat and tidy, and staff were very helpful with tour bookings and directions. As this hotel is located in the "Old Town", there was limited traffic, and the area was safe and quiet. The room we stayed in was small/medium, but the decor was modern and the room was immaculate. Breafast was included in the rate, and was fantastic. We would definately stay in this hotel again. Well priced also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLP_SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing