We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #41 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights here over New Year 2012/3. It was chosen for it's location in the Old Town.We were expecting to have two small/tiny single rooms but instead found we had been allocated much two larger twin rooms, this was appreciated greatly.

From our check in we had excellent service - reception staff were always pleasant and helpful; the rooming cleaning was good; and the breakfast staff efficient. The rooms were a mix of old Austrian and modern furniture, comfortable and clean. Only complaint would be the location of the TV in one room, but we didn't come to Salzburg to watch TV! Breakfast which was included in the tariff, was a great range of food that would have met most people's requirements. Ate in the Italian Restaurant that was located in the hotel the first night and enjoyed it so much we returned on another night.

Even though this was the most expensive hotel/pension we utilised on a 5 week trip in Central Europe, we felt it was worth the cost due to location and the fact the New Year period was extremely busy in Salzburg. Would certainly stay here again if I return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 646 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu for two nites from December 16-18 of 2012. I took a trip to 3 European cities (Munich, Salzburg, Prague) with a couple of gal pals to see the Christmas Markets. This hotel was our favorite out of the three. It sits nestled at the bottom of Festungsberg mountain - our room looked right up at the Hohensalzburg Castle! It is a perfect location for seeing the old town. The staff was attentive and friendly. The breakfast was delicious - eggs, meats & cheeses every day. I loved the loft-style room we had and the bathroom was huge, especially for Europe. Salzburg is a beautiful, charming, friendly town and this hotel is a perfect example. Yes, you hear the church bells, but it's kinda nice. Kudos - thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a loft if possible - facing the castle!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Kaisererbraeu for 3 nights in December and have no complaints whatsoever. We chose this hotel due to its fantastic location and it didn't disappoint, it's a great base to explore Salzburgs old town. The hotel itself is quite old and historic but has been very well maintained, it has some modern touches but has managed to retain a lot of it's original character.
We stayed in the Paris London Suite which was really spacious, comfortable and had everything that you'd need for a short stay, the whirlpool bath was an added bonus too! The floorboards are a little creaky in the hotel but that's to be expected in such an old property and it just adds to it's charm in my opinion.
The staff in the hotel spoke excellent English and were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is typically continental with more than enough to choose from. We did eat at the hotels Italian restaurant on our 1st night which is also quite pleasent and a great choice if your not looking to walk far on arrival.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and Salzburg on the whole, it's a truly stunning city especially covered in a blanket of snow it's like a magical winter wonderland, we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra and book a suite!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danyelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was recommended to stay at this hotel by a friend who had visited the prior summer. Apparently her stay was much better than mine. I booked a twin room (2 twin beds) for my boyfriend and me. It was the smallest room I have ever seen (10' x 15' at best). It reminded me of my dorm room in college. The furniture was way too big for the size of the room and we had a difficult time managing the space between two people. Also the bathroom was tiny (8' x 3'). For perspective, it was impossible to shut the sliding door if you wanted to use the sink. I'm glad we only spent two nights here. It was bearable, but not worth the $210/night. We spent the same amount in Vienna and had an amazing hotel with space and nicer amenities. In hindsight, I wish we had booked differently, but the location made it worthwhile. I also found the staff to be kind and helpful. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but if you do, definitely request a large room away from the elevator.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator where a door bangs constantly when people go in and out.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwoods15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was well-priced for old town Salzburg and was one of the few places in the old town that included car parking. When we had booked the carpark, we printed out the step by step instructions about accessing the old town, which made it really easy to park. Just be sure to ask for the exit code if you're leaving after 11am as it will be different!

It is an historic building but the rooms are really spacious and tidy and the bathrooms look like they have been recently refurbished and are very large. We found the beds to be comfortable and at night time it was really quiet, which was surprising for such an old building with timber flooring.

The breakfast was included and was a good spread - tea/coffee, hot breakfast options and continental (cereals, juices, hams, cheeses, pastries, breads) although it can get a little crowded on weekends.

The hotel is in a great location to easily access the Salzburg old town and the Italian restaurant connected is fantastic - other than this restaurant we felt the better restaurants were on the other side of the Dom Markt.

The staff were fine - they answered your questions but didn't really go out of their way to go that 'extra mile' with service and information. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a great value stay in the old town, with the huge bonus of car parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When searching for small hotels, the risk for some disappointment is always high. When location is of primary importance, the comfort and quality issues are somewhat less important. So we were satisfied with our choice, though a less rustic environment would have been preferred. The primary complaint was the lead reception/concierge who was, in our opinion, truly unprofessional. A young lady who "spelled" him, however, was exceptional helpful, so "the good with bad" etc. Overall I think the hotel was clean and safe though the beds were remarkably uncomfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean. I probably would choose another location on return as there were some I noted of equal convenience that appeared more up to date.

Room Tip: I think rooms in other nearby hotels would be better.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmcgsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We thought we'd love this small hotel, but the beds were so hard and uncomfortable, our family of 3 barely slept for 2 nights. We ended up checking out a day early because of it - and with their unreasonable cancellation policy (30 days!), we still owed 90% for the third night. We didn't care though - we would've paid any amount to avoid another night on those hard beds.

Another reason we had trouble sleeping was the creaky floors. Anytime you even tossed and turned in bed, the floors would creak and wake you up.

Also no English TV channels - so we couldn't wind down at night watching television. They have a neat looking movie theater in the hotel, but no movies in English. No pay-per view movies in the room either, but not that we would've wanted to do that since the only seating would have been on the hard beds.

Breakfast was ok, but only one coffee machine and always a Long line of people waiting for it. No fresh juice either, like we got at every other hotel in Germany and Austria.

The Italian restaurant connected to it was delicious and some of the best lasagne we've had!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $125 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing