We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berglandhotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berglandhotel Salzburg
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice and clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and explored the area while we were in salzburg. Loved Salzburg and the hotel.
Unfortunately I was very sick when we arrived so my wife had to look around the hotel and explore without me. She played the hotel piano for awhile and acquired quite an audience, that was kind of neat.
I really only have one critisism of the place: The morning we were about to leave, we were having breakfast in the dining room (great breakfast), The owner asked my wife what her room number is, as if she was an imposter or something, then he checked to make sure we were entitled to the breakfast. This was weird, he had spoken with her at length the evening before and should have remembered her. I was still very ill, or I would have been tempted to straighten him out. I was kind of ticked, he could have used far more tact.
Too bad about that small incident because the hotel really is beautiful, walking distance to lots of attractions, great clean rooms, excellent food, awesome place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    92
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
111
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in October. I chose it for its good prices in an expensive city and a good location. We caught the bus from the train station, but as it was raining on our morning of departure the hotel rang us a taxi, which was a very reasonable price. There is also parking out front.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the 1st floor, very quiet. It was very clean and had a good size bathroom.
The hotel was in a good walking distance, (flat too) to the river and main part of the city. The owners were very friendly people and breakfast had plenty of choices, mainly cold foods.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We only had a day to make a quick visit to Salzburg and wanted a hotel away from the train station but not down in the Old Town, and one that offered breakfast so we didn't have to spend time finding a place for that. The Bergland seemed to fit our needs, so we booked it without much further thought. So it was a pleasant surprise to find a small, comfortable, well-maintained hotel in a modern vein, with very nice and quiet rooms in the "traditional" style (e.g., classic painted furniture, and antlers on the wall) that exceeded our expectations. There is a "music room" where you can kick back, and a pleasant deck. The breakfast was way more than adequate and the location was perfect for exploring the city with little effort as well as lots of restaurants, stores and shops close at hand. Best of all were Inge and Peter Kuhn, the fourth generation owners of the place. From now on, this is our place to stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMcCormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

even though i wasnt in love with the hotel i find it hard to critcize it as the staff were so nice. the location wasnt a problem if you like a nice walk into the main part of the city. it is easy and there are short cuts.there are some great restrauants in the area. good parking. breakfast was nice and well stocked all the time. but we had a room in the front of the hotel and it was noisey as we could hear people talking throughout the night. the room also was a good size but the furnishings wern't the best standards. the blind needed replacing along time ago. we couldnt get to our power point to use the jug so we had to boil it up in the bathroom. we asked to be changed to another room and they were so nice about it even though they were very busy. the room was smaller but better furnished and was quieter. i would still recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper get a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDKbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was in a single room that was a bit small, but very comfortable and with a pretty big bathroom.
The personal was very friendly, polite and nice. Some people in the rating process complained about the distance but the hotel is located just 10 min walk to the city center, so for me was more then fine. The breakfast was just with cold food, but very tasty, the marmelad was so delicious. Near the hotel there is the bus stop that brings you at the hotel and also some very good restaurant. I would definitely suggest this place to other people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia-v85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Bergland is a sweet little hotel in Salzburg. We were driving so we really appreciated having free on site parking. That was for starters. We fell in love with the suite we had booked the second we walked in. It was just delicious. The furniture and decor was tastefully decorated in what I would call European contemporary but it was also very inviting and comfortable. The bathroom was sleek and roomy with plenty of vanity space, a very nice shower and the toilet was separated by a frosted sliding door. There was a lovely living room with a comfy sofa, chairs, coffee table and big basket filled with magazines. Storage abounded with shelves, drawers and 3 closets in a separate room with a dressing area and mini fridge. The bedroom area contained a big comfy king size bed, an upholstered chair with floor lamp and a lovely desk with chair. The public rooms are also tastefully decorated and everything is squeaky clean. The suite welcomed us back with comfort and style after each long day of sight seeing. The morning buffet was very expansive with a variety of breakfast and brunch foods. Everyone at the reception desk was extremely helpful with information about the local sights, directions, booking tours and restaurant recommendations. The only con I might have about this hotel is that it is not right in the mix as it is about a 25 minute walk to the Old Town on the other side of the river. But that said, it would not prevent me from staying here again. It's a solid value.

Room Tip: Book one of the two beautiful suites for an extra delightful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an excellent small modern hotel within walking distance of the Mirabelle Gardens and Old Salzburg. Although modern the room had some lovely old furniture (as well as a modern comfortable bed and couch). The breakfast room was decorated in an older, very Austrian style. The breakfast had a good variety of breads, cheeses, meats and jams. Boiled eggs were available at a small extra cost. The bathroom in our room was large, well appointed and spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel). This is also one of the few hotels in Austria or Germany that I have stayed where the room has been equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a nice touch. Check in and check out were very efficient and friendly and our host spoke perfect English. Also for a hotel so close to the centre (about a 10 minute walk , how long it takes depends on how many shops you stop to look in!) it was great to have free parking just outside. We greatly enjoyed our stay, longer would have been better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jedermann
Hotel Jedermann
#35 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#52 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ganslhof
Ganslhof
#64 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berglandhotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berglandhotel Salzburg

Property: Berglandhotel Salzburg
Address: Rupertgasse 15, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berglandhotel Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and convenient for sightseeng (10 walking-min. to the Pedestrian Areal). Austrian hospitality, stylish ambiance and the ideal location is what you can expect from this small fourth generation family hotel. All rooms provide modern comfort with beautiful bathrooms, safe, plasma-screen-TV, private bathroom and free WLAN. The philosophy between tradition and modern features is felt through the entire interior. Very helpful for this centrally located place is the FREE CAR PARKING! the whole hotel is non-smoking. No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH so you can book your Berglandhotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berglandhotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Berglandhotel Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing