We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overlook of the Old Town”
Review of Monchsberg Lift

Monchsberg Lift
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.32*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #21 of 164 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hiratsuka Japan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Overlook of the Old Town”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The elevator is a bit hard to find but worth the effort to get to the top. The view from the modern art museum at the top is quite spectacular, particularly at dusk. Yes, it is touristy, but still quite picturesque and a "must do" if visiting Salzburg. Worth the price of the elevator ride just to see the view. I did not visit the museum as modern art isn't my interest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    161
    61
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gets you to the top”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Kinda spendy, especially since it is a short hike to the top for free. But great if you are pressed for time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice park for a walk and great view”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Mönchsberg is a nice, large nature park that straddles old town and the Riedenburg district and foundation for the fortress. Great for a quick hike, fresh air, great view, and a tasty beverage at the open air patio at the top. We did not eat at the restaurant, it seemed a little spendy, but did have time for a drink. Several trails wind around through the forest and lead to the fortress and a couple of hotels (presumably also very expensive). Hike to the top for free (really quite short) or pay a few euros to take the tower elevator.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Climbing up just nice”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We climbed up to the hill because we couldn't find the lift. But that brought us to magnificent view of the whole city from above, and the sun was about to set. We finally stopped at the restsaurant & cafe up there called M32. The food was nice, and the staff were very friendly too. Then we went down using the lift for free (maybe because we ate at the resto). An evening well spent.

Helpful?
Thank oliviaintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Loved walking around this area and there are some absolutely stunning views of Salzburg and surroundings and you don't have to spend a cent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank me_loco_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monchsberg Lift also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Monchsberg Lift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing