We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Well situated”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is a short stroll along a pedestrianised area to the river & old town. It's a perfectly acceptable place to stay but we were in the annex across the street from the main building and the rooms were quite small & pokey. According to the guest book, everyone who had stayed there had stated how very good it was, so presumably that was in the main place. However it was reasonably good value & the breakfasts were delicious and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    356
    135
    45
    19
See reviews for
282
444
66
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is a lovely property. The location was very nice, close to many of the sites of Salzburg and near some great restaurants. The room was very clean, was well decorated and was unusually roomy for a European room. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. My biggest issue with the hotel was the service. The staff at check in was very nice. But after that, the least little request seem to be a complete bother to them. They were not very helpful with directions or restaurant recommendations. They seem annoyed when we asked for a taxi. I would also add that the breakfast selection was rather mediocre. One other issue to note...keep your windows closed. Otherwise you will wake up each morning to the cacophony of church bells. It's not something that can be helped because of all of the surrounding churches, but something to be aware of. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for a nice room and great location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel Wolf-Dietrich was wonderful surprise with spacious rooms and a great location in an amazing City. Being located just over the bridge from the Aldstadt it made for lovely, short strolls to all the sightseeing spots. Happy to have stumbled upon this hotel and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013. The hotel was very attractive - our room/bath was much larger than expected, clean, & had comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful, friendly, & spoke good English. Breakfast was tasty with a good variety. The location was great, easy walking distance to all of the sights in historic Salzburg. If you do rent a car, they can hook you up with a parking garage also located within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here with our teenage daughter and had a large 2 bedroom apt. The bathroom was large and modern. We had a TV that we could rent free movies downstairs and watch. It was very nice and comfortable. The Hotel is centrally located and were able to walk everywhere. Breakfast was included and was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlsz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, near the historical center of Salzburg, about ten minutes across the river. The staff is professional and helpful, the breakfast good and the rooms quite comfortable. All in all, it is a very pleasant choice.
One strong point in the hotel is its spa. Hotel saunas tend to be minuscule, but not this one, with dry and steam saunas and infra-red booth. It is textile-free, as usual in Austria (the indoor swimming pool isn't).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I found this hotel to be perfect for my 3 night stay in Salzburg last week. A great location in a very nice area and just a short walk down to the river. Breakfast was excellent and couldn't ask for more. The room was clean and well looked after and the staff were always friendly and helpful. If I had any complaint it would be that my room was hot and uncomfortable but that's only a minor thing. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing