We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights with my mom. The location was great. It is on the tail end of the tourist area of Salzburg. It's a short walk to the river, and enjoyable with all the cafes and shops along the way. The room had two big windows that let a lot of sunlight in which is important for us. After a long day of sightseeings and walking we utilized the sauna and steam bath room which made the perfect end to a great day. The breakfast was good and they served tea and other snacks in the afternoon.


The only problem we found was the air conditioner didn't work and during our stay it was very hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrieaemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    345
    129
    45
    14
See reviews for
274
431
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very nice place just on the fringe of the 'tourist' area of Salzburg. We stayed in a family room in the 'Residence' across the street. The room had a loft with a bed and bath and a living room area with a bath (and sleeper sofa) downstairs. Baths were spacious and the room itself had plenty of space for us.

The service was excellent and you could tell the people cared about you. We actually had a small problem in that, when we checked in, our mini-fridge had not been cleaned from the last guests and there were partially empty bottles in it. I went down to the bar to get some drinks for us and mentioned the problem to the bar staff. They were more upset than me. When I went down the next morning, the morning front desk staff already were aware of the problem. That day, the fridge was cleaned spotless and restocked and a fruit basket was in the room in way of apology!
I don't know that I have found a friendlier staff in all my travels.

By the way, the room we were in had its own AC unit which was very important to me because it turned out to be unseasonably hot and I like the room to be cooler than what you find in Europe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family just stayed here for only 1 night, unfortunately. Hotel is lovely, staff helpful and breakfast hit the spot. Rooms were very clean and had the old world charm. Coffee, tea and desserts served in the afternoon. Great location. The only thing was no air conditioning, but it was cool when we were there. I don't know if some of the other rooms have it. Pool and spa area were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieilovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had booked this Hotel during our family (of 3) holiday to Salzburg in June 2013.It is a modest hotel on a quiet street just a 5 minutes walk from the River side,with various eateries and Bars located en route to the Old City.

We stayed in the recently renovated modern residence complex which was a blessing as it had air conditioning which was necessary for an unusually hot summer.The room was spacious with 3 large windows over looking the street.Clean,Modern,Spacious.

The Hotel offered complimentary tea/coffee with snacks in the late afternoon which was a welcome change.One could enjoy it in the lobby or sit in the outside area on the side of the street.

Most surprisingly they readily agreed to warm the packaged food we had carried from India for my wife who is a vegetarian (as she gets home sick for Indian food whilst in Europe).They served her in the room as well as in the restaurant area .Not once did they make her feel uncomfortable about providing this extra service free of cost.We really appreciate this gesture.

Off course we wouldn't have bothered if we had known that there was an Indian restaurant right next to the hotel which seemed very popular with the locals as well as tourist.The street connecting old city to our hotel had various eateries specializing in Japanese,Italian and German cuisine.We preferred to eat in this part of the town instead of the old city.

Breakfast was good with a good variety of yogurts,fresh fruits,eggs,pies,cold cuts and breads.The staff worked quietly but very efficiently.

We loved the spa after a hard day of walking around the city.It has a steam room and Sauna and a very small pool which is good only for a dip or two .

All in all a very nice experience and if we return to Salzburg we would like to stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rics9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We found this hotel from the hotel guide at a Salzburg information booth. We were travelling through the Alps and did not have reservations but were able to stay although we had to change rooms on the second day. Front staff were very good at check in. Room was very nice and clean and modern. The room on our second night was a romance "theme" room. More money too and I wouldn't have likely booked this, but the regular rooms were all booked up for the second night. Interesting room, for sure. Lots of awesome lighting, and draperies etc. Very interesting artwork and headboard etc. ;-}. Only drawback to this room was there was only a claw-footed bathtub with a hand-held shower. No shower stall, which my 6'3" husband found quite awkward. This hotel was nicely located with an excellent shopping street right around the corner. We walked everywhere, it was only a 10 minute walk or so to the river so it was very easy to navigate around town on foot.
This hotel has a very nice pool and spa area in the lower level, which is kind of a hard thing to get at an old town location. Breakfast was excellent. All staff were great. Parking garage is just a block or two away, and secured. (it's actually in the mountainside. stays nice and cool)
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ell_and_Kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is situated a short walk far from the historic centre in a quiet street. We stayed in a building right opposite the hotel front door, and the room was very well furnished, beautifully decorated and clean. Since we stayed on the 4th floor and the lift takes you only up to the 3rd floor, we had to climb the stairs to reach the room, but the staff was very attentive and took our luggage upstairs. Breakfast was very good and wi-fi worked pretty well. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We know the city well and have stayed at many of the hotels in the past 24 years...this was our first visit to the Wolf-Dietrich, booked at short notice as we were invited to a friend's party in the city. Our first choices were full, but we ended up being pleased because it gave us the chance to find a great hotel! The location is just off the Linzergasse, a great shopping/eating street just across the river from the Old City. This means that there is a short walk to most of the main tourist attractions...10/15 minutes maximum. This may be a problem for some, but to us the opportunity of seeing more of this gorgeous jewel of a city was a bonus! The staff were friendly and welcoming, showing us to our room in the Residenz which is situated right across the road from the main hotel. Our room was large, light & very clean. Facilities were basic but all that was required...there was a mini bar and safe, also air conditioning which proved very useful on the hot weekend we were visiting. Breakfast was included and was the best I have ever experienced in Salzburg. Everything you could imagine...from fresh fruit salad & Birchermuesli to homemade smoothies and streusel cake through to smoked salmon, eggs in several varieties, meats, cheeses, bacon, berries, frittatas...everything delicious and fresh. Umbrellas are provided in case if rain...a high probability in Salzburg, but never when we visit! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely and welcoming hotel...and cannot recommend the city of Salzburg highly enough. Paradise!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing