We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
1 review
“Tourist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beds are a little hard, hair dryer is very old, otherwise excellent hotel. Excellent service, WLAN, breakfast, DVD rentals, location. We were very pleased to stay at this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sibu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    345
    129
    45
    14
See reviews for
274
431
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first trip to Salzburg was unforgettable and the Wolf-Dietrich was the icing on the cake. We booked the Gallery suite... so charming and reasonable especially considering hotel's location 5 minutes from shopping, fortress, bus area for tours/ski shuttle. Room has loft - one large bed and bath upstairs, one bath with plenty of room for three kids to sleep on comfy pullout and extra bed we requested downstairs. Room was so cosy, we actually had FAMILY TIME. Shocking, I know! We borrowed movies from huge selection in hotel lobby and relaxed in room after 2 busy days of skiing and sightseeing. Hotel staff was so helpful. We emailed lots of questions about trains, tours, dining, etc., and they handled it all. It was so stress free. NOTE: If you have trouble with stairs, you may want to ask for a different room. The elevator takes you to third floor, but the room is on fourth.

Room Tip: Elevator only goes to third floor in this part of hotel, so if you have limited ability to use stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiveHappyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

this was my first trip to Salzburg and had to navigate to the hotel via bus as i couldn't afford 20 minute taxi's around the city. the number 2 bus from the airport will take you to Mirabellplatz and then its about a 3 minute walk to the hotel. every one of the staff spoke English and was very happy to help, even confirming a trip we booked with a tour company by ringing them up for us and getting the bus to pick us up outside the hotel.
stayed in the residents apartments which was good, it had more of a homely feel than a normal hotel room. Breakfast was good, continental style but they have hot cooked ham, sausages (hot dogs to English) and scrambled eggs.
location is probably why this is expensive but it is really convenient to get to anywhere in the city and you can walk to most places.
spa was really good is well, steam room, big sauna and a pool ( big small ) and a guy who give massages for 1 euro a minute,minimum 30 minute session, wife said it was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here in October with a group of seven people in three rooms. Everyone enjoyed their comfortable rooms and some of us took advantage of the wonderful spa. The location was very convenient for all the sights and restaurants and the parking was close and secure. We really appreciated the staff and their patience and hospitality with our somewhat large group. The only downside was the noise from trucks going by out front in the early morning hours. Having a room facing the back of the hotel is probably very quiet. Hope to return again!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel should avoid the street noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed our 5 night stay over Christmas at this hotel. We had an extremely comfortable room which was perfect for families. It was actually two separate rooms, one with separate single beds for children. While the furnishings are not new everything was very functional and worked well. The location of the hotel is excellent, the pool/spa area very nice, the free wifi is also very good. There is a laundromat right around the corner as well. So why the "but" .....? Maybe it was because we were there over Christmas that we found the reception staff to be the most disinterested and unfriendly we encountered throughout our month in Europe. At some stage it almost became comedic. We met other guests on day trips and it became a common topic of conversation regarding the "curious" attitude of the reception desk staff. Have to say the staff at breakfast were very friendly - however it was a shame to see this hotel let down by the reception desk. Don't let this put you off staying here (it would be hard to imagine there is a better set up for families in Salzburg), but perhaps adjust your expectations to avoid any disappointment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank clanciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstone
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Saltzburg, staff, rooms and food of very high standards, with pool and gym and other extras. All attractions are near by all of a walkable distance, if driving can be a nightmare getting to one side to the other of the river with the one way systems. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maximusilligitimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was a guest at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich in December 2012. Our room was in the Residence across the street from the main hotel building. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows were comfortable which is my biggest issue with a lot of European hotels. The only complaint I might have is that the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom which is tiled with black tile making the room extremely dark even with all the lights on. This wasn't that big of an issue to me but it might bother some people. The breakfast buffet was served every morning in the main hotel building and had a good variety of foods from which to choose. The hotel was across the river from the Old Town but all tourist attractions were still a walkable distance. We did not have to use public transportation the entire visit. The hotel receptionists were very polite and helpful. I would recommend the Hotel Wolf-Dietrich if you are looking for a moderately price hotel that is comfortable but don't want to spend the money for luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing