We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Ranked #59 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enjoyed Salzburg and the town very much!

However we were disappointed with this hotel. Serious lack of air ventilation even with the windows open, no fans in the hotel or air conditioning. In addition the hotel is on a very busy intersection so lots of traffic noise.

Most frustrating was their terrible Internet services, which we constantly had to get a code every 2 days and then we had little to no Internet which always would disconnect.

For the price you could find much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppinaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful. The Sound of Music tour. The hotel staff was very patient and accommodating. Breakfast at the hotel was also wonderful. American stuff: they have liquid soap, instead of bar soap. English TV options. Not big deal stuff. Breakfast was a little expensive, but it was good. A lot of variety.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdandersonsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel recently for a few days while in Salzburg. The hotel is older but well kept and clean. The room we stayed in was quite small for a couple. The bath/shower was very high to step in to and could be a problem for an older person. We were disappointed that there was no air conditioner or fan in the room and we had some disturbed sleep as it was summer and quite hot during the nights. There are no tea/coffee making facilities or an iron/board in the room. On a positive note the hotel has ambiance and character. Our favourite receptionist was Ursula who was very helpful and friendly and could speak very good English. The hotel has a cafe and sells the most delicious Apple Strudel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyksholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice old building, well fitted rooms but no A/C. The staff (reception) was very friendly and helpful indeed, without going over the top.

The location of the hotel is OK, although we did find that we mostly wanted to be on the other side of the river, which in the long term included quite a bit of walking. But Salzburg is a nice city to be walking in, so no real problems.

Buffet breakfast was OK, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here again, Great little hotel with just the most comfortable beds. Tiny rooms yes and most hotels in and around the old town are old fashioned BUT that's why i like it. The staff are warm and friendly and its a ten minute walk to the station and just a ten minute walk to Salzburg old town. I have been to Salzburg so many times , expensive hotels to hostels but i really like this little hotel. Its great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I came to Salzburg for the first time--and was completely alone. As a young woman (in my early 20's), it's nice to have reassurance that you will be staying in the well recommended hotel that you had already researched a bit. However, life loves to throw curveballs! There was a mixup with the first hotel (where I had made my reservation) and they sent me to the Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel. While things could have become messy quickly, Arina made the transfer really nice and pleasant. She immediately felt sorry for the mixup (which was not at all her hotel's fault) and went out of her way to help me.

The biggest plus though was how genuine and sincere she was--thank you Arina for everything!!! She absolutely makes this hotel! If you stay here, but sure to talk to her! She will give you her honest opinion about tours, restaurants, etc. and is such a sweet person.

The room was fine; the location is pretty good. (It's only a 10 minute walk into the old town.) If you would like to take a tour while you are here, this hotel is in the perfect location! It is about 3 minutes walk from two tour places and the tours meet right at these spots. I took a Sound of Music tour and liked that I only had to give myself a few minutes to meet my group.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!! Ask for Arina! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I really liked this hotel. The room was nice and hotel in general was a good standard and very clean. Reception were fantastic and really helpful. Location is brilliant with centre of Salzburg a short walk away (5/10 mins)

Breakfast is nice enough but quite expensive so if not included probably worth going elsewhere.

Room Tip: The room we had included a bath which I think are slightly bigger than some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Goldenes Theater Hotel
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jedermann
Hotel Jedermann
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel

Address: Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 12, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#38 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $80 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late 19th century building renovated in 1993; multilingual staff & an in house restaurant & bar; near the main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Salzburg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing