We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
239
223
71
21
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
223
71
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river train station old town mirabell gardens quirky hotel min walk good size hotel staff busy road triple room heat wave booked this hotel rooms are large there is no air conditioning beds were comfortable breakfast room sound of music tour
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 569 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Nice clean hotel, with very friendly staff. We were in room 206 which has a lovely balcony. Although this was under a covering of snow. This room is opposite lift, although we never heard the lift during our stay. I think the room was recently renovated as it looked brand new and was spotless, lovely shower. The hotel is a 10/15 minute stroll from the old town. Turn right out of hotel, cross the road and you are on the river footpath. You can then stroll into the centre with a choice of bridges. Stayed 3 nights, plenty to do. Cafe Mozart was great value for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, General Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Dave,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us! Your opinion is very valuable for us.

We enjoy hearing that you had a good time in Salzburg and would be glad to welcome you again on your next visit to Salzburg.

With kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

I stayed in the hotel during christmas period. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from train station and Salzburger Altstadt. So it is not really near to every where. The room is modern and spacious. Just that the toilet system is bad. We need to press a few times for the toilet to flush. The bath tub curtain is not really clean as well. Despite all these, the staff is really friendly and helpful.. The breakfast is great with nice hot chocolate and croissant.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sulphox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, General Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear sulphox77,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

We regret hearing that you did not like every aspect of your stay with us. We took care of the problem with the toilet flush after your checking out (this was a bigger matter) and everything is working perfectly again.
Concerning the bathtub curtain it is to say that we clean them on a regular basis and if you found any stains, it's a big exception, which we deeply apologize for. Our cleaning staff is known for their thorough work.

However, we hope that you were able to enjoy your stat with us and had a great time in the city.

With kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017

This villa offers very nicely sized-comfortable rooms equipped with very good beds and decorated with furniture of pleasant taste, comforting the general good feeling. The TV offered multiple German-speaking cable channels, but luckily also classical English-speaking cable news channels and BBC Entertainment ! The bathroom was clean and warm thanks to towels-heater. We had plenty space for our clothes. The reception service was smiling, very informative and keen to help. BUT: the cleaning on day 2 was not done at all, only beds were made, all used and dirty glasses were left by housekeeping, the waste not evacuated, bathroom (small) amenities not replenished and the empty bottles not cleaned. Also, we could not regulate the room temperature (no possibility because of central heating), I was a little cold. There is no lift at the entrance so you will need to carry your suitcases the 10 steps at the entrance. One more reserve: there was no info in the room whether the bottled water in the room was offered or charged. At the check-out, we have been charged, which was a little unpleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aleks_travels_alone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, General Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Aleks_travels_alone,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with all aspects of your time in our hotel.

Our cleaning staff are known for their good work, which is why we're surprised to hear about your room not being cleaned. We deeply apologize for that.

The water bottles on the room are complementary gifts and we do not charge for them. There must have been a misunderstanding.

However, we thank you for your detailed and pleasantly written review and hope you had an overall good expericence in our Hotel Villa Carlton.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again on your next stay in Salzburg.

With kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it very much. It is within a 10 minute walk from the train station and located on major crossroads. It's a 15 minute walk along the river to the markets and fortress. We walked there around 7pm in the darkness of winter and felt safe.
The front porch is decorated with two barber chairs. The small lounge area has a moisture of modern and funky furniture and decorations.
The front desk has a huge bowl of candies and offers croissants and cookies after breakfast. They are happy to book tours and concerts for their guests.
The rooms are comfortably sized with twin beds pushed together and a duvet replacing the traditional blanket and sheet. Housekeeping staff was friendly and accommodating. While check out was at 11, the front desk receptionist was very friendly and stored our luggage all day on our last day there.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Weah1445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, General Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Weah1445,

thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time for it!

We're happy to hear that you had a good experience staying in our hotel and enjoyed your time with us.

The Hotel Villa Carlton team wishes you all the best and we hope to welcome you again on your next stay in Salzburg.

With kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the suit, very nice, clean, a little bit cold inside eventhus the heaters were turn on the maximum. Location of the hotel is great, close to the old center, around 5 minutes walking distance.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Alexko2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, General Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Alexko2015,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.

We enjoy hearing about your having a good time in our hotel and hope to welcome you again, soon.

With kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews