We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Carlton
Nearby Hotels
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Der Salzburger Hof(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
$164
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $464/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$336
$282
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$333
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
$136
$129
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$153
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$161
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $451/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
232
212
69
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
212
69
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivertrain stationold townquirky hotelmirabell gardensmin walkthe congressgood sizehotel staffbusy roadtriple roomthe ground floorrooms are largebooked this hotelbeds were comfortablewithin easy walking distancecity centre
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 543 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Villa Carlton from 9-12 Jul. The hotel has a decent location close to the station but some distance from the old town, however it is well connected by bus to the old town and the station.
The biggest downside for us that there was no air conditioning in the rooms and it became uncomfortable due to it being summer. The reception informed that it is an old building where no changes are permitted hence no Aircon but we would have appreciated if this information was more readily available on their website to allow us to make an informed choice.
The rooms themselves were large and well done but there was some refurbishment going on in the hotel.
Breakfast was ok but nothing great with the same menu repeated each day. A couple of fresh egg preparations could be a welcome addition especially considering the price charged.
Overall a decent stay but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshat1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We also thank you for leaving your feedback and are sorry that we could not quite fulfill your requirements.
It is right, that there was no an air condition built in, due to the reason that our Boutiquehotel is a building from the early 19th century. Therefore all our rooms are equipped with cooling fans.
To maintain the level of cleanness we had some paint work going on in the hotel for a few hours during the day. We always try to be as decent as possible with any repair works but do apology, if despite of this fact, you felt disturbed by it.
Our guest’s opinion is important for a hotel’s further development and we are always delighted for any suggestions. Therefore we shall consider what kind of new egg preparations we could add to our already offered fresh scrambled eggs at breakfast.
It would be a pleasure for us if you give us a second chance to convince you about our advantages.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Villa Carlton was a perfect choice! The hotel is within easy walking of the train station and the historic old town. We enjoyed being adjacent to Mirabell Gardens as the summer concerts were in full swing. Locals and tourists alike were out enjoying the marvelous weather so it was easy to walk back to the hotel, freshen up and head back to the gardens and on to dinner. We were 3 sisters travelling together. Three women sharing a room can always be a problem but we had a huge corner room with a separate bedroom and sitting area! The modern room featured hardwood floors, firm beds, a spacious bathroom, good water pressure, adequate Wifi and most importantly, everything was spotlessly clean. I loved the fact the interiors featured unusual artwork and modern furnishings within an older villa. The staff were always smiling..answering any small question and offering restaurant suggestions that were all excellent.
Only a few minor problems....the breakfast was mediocre, especially for the price. There are several good breakfast options though within 5 minutes of the hotel. Most importantly, our room had no a/c and it was a corner room facing 2 busy streets. We kept the windows open in the evenings but traffic noise resonated throughout the night and construction on a neighboring building begin early every morning. The only reason I would not stay here again would be if I were travelling during the warmer summer months. Any other time of year it would be my first choice when staying in Salzburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are pleased that you enjoyed your girl’s trip to our beautiful city.
We feel delighted that our individual and modern design, aswell as our service meets your expectation. Concerning the few minor complaints we would like to inform you, that we can offer also rooms, facing the quiet side of the hotel. Our guests feedback is always important for a hotel’s further development so therefore we shall consider your suggestion to enhance our breakfast.
We would like to thank your for your kind and positive review and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel for amazing location on the river, huge guest rooms, and FREE use of the bikes go tour all of Salzburg! Fantastic in every way! You can easily walk here from the main train station- big perk!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JennaKetchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to Salzburg. It is a pleasure for us, that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutiquehotel and also ejoyed our free bike rental service. Thank you for your kind and positive feedback, we would be pleased to welcoming you again on our hotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in suit of the Villa Carlton. Considering the price we paid, I felt very disappointed. Namely, wi fi was disconnecting all the time, there is no refrigerator in the room, no air condition (luckily, when we were there it was not warm, I can only imagine how it is during really hot summer days). There is no double bed in room, only two beds put together!
Hotel parking is very small and there is no possibility to make reservation, so it was full when we arrived. We were left with only choice to park on the street.
In the end, lady at front desk was not able to charge me from my credit card, so we had to pay in cash.
Location is 15 min walk from centre, so not so close.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We also thank you for leaving your personal impressions and are sorry that we could not fulfill your requirements. Also please take our excuses for the unpredictable technical problem with the credit card terminal which we had on your check out day.
We offer free WIFI to our guests and in case your connection did not work properly, we could have done something about it, if we had been informed about this circumstance.
All our rooms are equipped with 2 beds, but can be prepared as a double bed, with one big sheet, on request.
Our parking area can be used upon availability for a fee per day and unfortunately we cannot reserve any parking lots. In case our parking is fully occupied our reception staff will kindly inform our guests about the alternative parking possibilities nearby.
The Hotel Villa Carlton is located in the city centre of Salzburg, only 2 walking minutes from the Mirabell Gardens and the Congress Center. Our guests can either take a beautiful walk along the river (approx. 10 minutes) to reach the historical old town or can use easily the public transportation, as the nearest bus stop is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel.
It would be a pleasure if you give us a second chance to convince you about the advantages we offer in the Hotel Villa Carlton.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Carlton in late May 2013. I selected this hotel after lots of review on Tripadvisor.

This small boutique hotel is a great value and well located. It is only a short walk down and across the river to the city center. Room was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

We requested advice for a good Austrian restaurant, and their suggestion was Zum fidelen Affen. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. It was outstanding.

We were traveling by car, and the hotel has a convenient small parking lot right on site.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and that we could live up your expectations concerning our hotel and our restaurant recommendation.
We thank you for taking the time to leave your positive impressions about your stay for all our future guests an it would be a pleasure for us, welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews