We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house in the city centre”
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location was great. Close to city centre everything at walking distance. the owner is a very nice lady Linda who welcomed us warmly and when we arrived at the hotel we were tired and asked for tea which she made in teapot for us which tasted lovely. The breakfast was continental and delicious and linda boiled us some eggs which we enjoyed a lot. Next night my husband really wanted some tea and he asked them to bring some to the room and they kindly brought it. We were very happy with the service and when we were leaving for Vienna Linda gave us very good advice. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heerranjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    129
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
120
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

This is a good hotel and only a short walk to the station. Mainly for germans I thought which I found out at breakfast. The only drawback is that it is about 10/15 minute walk to the Old Town and that long walk back after a night out can be a bit tiring. I would have preferred to have been more central as the Old Town was GREAT. Otherwise I had no problems with this Hotel and for first timers to Salzburg use this one

  • Liked — Near to Station
  • Disliked — To far from the Old Town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tc_spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Travelling to Salzburg for the Frequency Music festival, I was looking for a simple hotel, located close to the train station (the daily shuttle bus to the festival grounds left from there), that would provide us with hot showers and comfortable beds after long days of festivaling. And that is exactly what the Hohenstauffen Hotel provided.

Although not the last bastion of modern style (my bathroom was orange!), the rooms were clean, the daily breakfast was cheerful and hearty, and the location was second to none for our purposes. Having been to Salzburg before, I would not recommend staying near the train station if you want to explore the town, as there are much nicer parts of the city to stay. Having said that, if for whatever reason you wish to be in close proximity to the station, then I would not go past the Hohenstauffen Hotel.

  • Liked — Location - friendly staff - clean and hospitable accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing - suited our purposes perfectly
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the train station. It is on a street with local retail commercial use at the edge of a low density residential district about five blocks from the Salzach river. It is a relatively small hotel. We had a suite with an entry hall, two bedrooms, one full bath, and one bath with just sink and shower, in a small apartment building next to the hotel. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. They were plain but quite nice with every needed practical feature. They were also quiet. The front faced a low density residential use street. The rear of the building faced an attractive lawn and garden.

The main hotel building has large attractive public rooms. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and spoke fluent English. The rates were reasonable.

After settling in our rooms, the staff provided directions for a walk along the river, through the Mirabell Gardens, and then across the river to the old town. With no stops, this walk would take about 30-40 minutes. Thereafter we used busses to travel the few minutes between the old town area and the bus plaza in front of the train station. For a longer tourist visit it probably would be more convenient to have a hotel in the vicinity of the old town. However, the Hohenstauffen was so suitable, so reasonably priced, and we were treated so well there, that we might stay there anyway.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, quiet, all necessary features.
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QualityRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel the day before our stay in Salzburg through hrs.com (Hotel Reservation Service). It was reasonably priced, clean and we got what was promised. The breakfast was above average and the staff was cheerful and helpful. They booked the Sound of Music tour (really great - i liked it much more than i expected) The location is not spectacular, but it is close the main train station.

One thing to note is the website we booked on (and others) advertises that they accept AMERICAN EXPRESS as a form of payment. They will not accept it. BEWARE - if this is your preferred method of payment!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank mgrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed in this lovely hotel In December for 4 days.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. We got a good size room with a four poster bed. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely vist again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiohead11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed only 2 nights here, but they were the best of our 2 week trip. We did not have a hotel booked when we arrived in Salzburg & got a reservation through the TI office. What a gem this place is! The furnishings were great, very comfortable. The team running the hotel are just fabulous. All were friendly & really wanted us to enjoy our stay in their city. The young man working the front desk the night we checked in recommended Hirchenwirts for dinner as well & we were not disappointed- they have the best schnitzel! The hotel also has happy hour where any drink is 1,50 euro & the room is quaint, with an old jukebox & lovely furniture. The breakfast was wonderful, too! Our coffee pot was never empty. Overall, this place is where we will stay when we return to Salzburg. Don't miss out!

  • Liked — The friendliness & sincerity of the people there. We miss them already!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michelle3371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing