We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel near the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hohenstauffen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hohenstauffen Hotel to your Saves list
Hohenstauffen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great little hotel with nice rooms, friendly service and a good breakfast. It is about 10 minutes from the train station with short walks to the old town. The rooms have the normal European size but it was very clean, the bathroom was great with excellent water pressure for a long hot shower. The owners are very nice and helpful and if you like to visit the city one last time before leaving, you can leave your luggage at the hotel and pick it up later. Nearby are also a lot of shops and restaurants. If you spend your entire day at a hotel then this may not be the best choice, but if you need to stay in a clean hotel with good service overnight, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swiffy_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
97
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a great hotel for a short stay and especially if you are coming by train. It is just around the corner from the train station and a relatively short walk to Mirabell Gardens and from there to the old town. Service was warm and friendly, room was smallishbut clean and cosy, while breakfast was simple but appetising. While the neighbourhood is probably not the best, i think the pros outweigh the cons.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happy2bHome_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and chose this hotel based primarily on its location near the train station. This is a dated hotel, full of character, and run by some very nice owners. The rooms are large for European standards and baths are fine although again dated with 1970 ish yellow plumbing fixtures. We had a double which had a canopy bed and a sofa. It was actually large enough to be a suite. For 90 Euro per night, we thought it was great value in an expensive city. 15 minute walk gets you to the Mirabell Palace area. Trams are available to all areas from the rail station. Breakfast is more than adequate with the owner offering soft boiled eggs in addition the buffet breakfast. Another plus are some fine local restaurants in the area such as the Hirschen and the Weiserhof. I would stay there again based on its location and value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very pleased with the staff at the hotel as they were very helpful. They helped with directions to walk to town and also on which bus to take to the airport. The breakfast was very good too - extremely filling and well presented. A nice selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, cereals and breads; also included fresh fruit which was nice!

The room was small and not up-to-date. I thought it seemed a bit out of the '70s. The biggest drawback to the hotel was the location. It was way too far from town - about a 20 minute walk, and I walk fast! It is important to note that the location is excellent if you want to be close to the train station as it's only a 5 minute walk away. I didn't feel too comfortable walking around the surrounding area late at night; we never ran into any trouble, but it wasn't an area I would like to visit again and I live in London which is much more urban than Salzburg. In fact, the hotel is directly across the street from a sex shop ... not my idea of a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was very nice, our room was comfortable, breakfast good and the staff was very friendly. The only thing we would have liked would be closer to old town. It was a 20 minute walk back along a somewhat deserted street after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very typical European hotel. Older building, but recently remodeled. Modern elevator, working plumbing, great breakfast, very good wi-fi, and comfortable beds.

The TV, which we don't even turn on while in Europe, was an oldie, which seemed out of context.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Convenient to bus to Altstadt-the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a delightful, comfortable European-style family-run hotel with nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's near the train station and only a few minutes' walk to the major attractions in Salzburg.

Most importantly, the family that runs the hotel is very nice and extremely helpful. Every recommendation they gave for restaurants and things to do/see proved correct. Linda at the front desk loaned us an electricity converter without hesitation (and without paperwork).

Four of us stayed here in two rooms while attending a wedding. We never left or returned to the hotel without a cheerful greeting.

If we are fortunate enough to return to the fascinating city of Salzburg, we will surely return to the Hotel Hohenstauffen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyclewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#40 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg AT-5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing