We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming but Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hohenstauffen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Charming but Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose the Hohenstauffen because it is within walking distance of the Salzburg Hauptbahnof (Railway Station) and the price was very reasonable - but here's a fine line between "Old World Charm" and "run down, in need of a good clean-up".
The room was a good size but once again you felt like you were sleeping in your Grandmother's spare room - with old style furnishings that, while charming, were not that comfortable or practical.
The breakfast was adequate although the croissant I chose was stale and starting to develop mould, but I am far too polite to make a fuss by pointing this out to the hosts as they seemed a little stressed, and we were only staying two nights before moving on.
The hotel had a bit of a "Faulty Tours" feel about it - don't get me wrong, the owners were helpful but you could tell they were running a low-budget hotel while trying to promote it as a quaint and charming family-run boutique hotel.
We were basically in Salsburg for the Sound of Music Tour on our way to Venice for the Biennale (see the Youtube videos) and the tour operators included a hotel pick-up so we were happy enough with the location.
All in all I'd have to say the Hohenstauffen was disappointing - but given the price maybe my expectations were a little high. Have a look at the photo and you'll get the idea. AW (Tony) Scott.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
105
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Hohenstauffen seven different stays during four different holidays from 2004 to May of this year. My first sentence to Linda (owner) in May was "We're home!" We adore the charm of the hotel and the exceptional hospitality of all of the staff. Our rooms were always immaculate and provided us with all necessary amenties for our stay. We had no trouble with Wifi during our last visit (not avail in 09). Linda and Andreas has infinite knowledge of where to go, or not go, whether relaxing or going for the more formal setting. The breakfast buffet is not what Americans are used to but we always found a good variety to choose from and a way to explore new foods.

One of our stays was over Christmas and we were excited to experience a candle lit live tree with warm wine and time with fellow travelers. Another example of making all of us feel special.

We are already planning our next visit to Salzurg, the Hohenstauffen and the famly Reichl.

Kelly and Shelia Johnson

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelshe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We (3 couples) stayed for 2 nights in May, 2012 and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms are excellent and the hosts and other staff are friendly and helpful. We found the walk into town to be pleasant - along the river - and we followed Susan's good advice for a walking tour through the Mirabel Gardens to the cemetery where Mozart's wife is buried and then into town. One of the best features of the hotel is the common room - an old juke box, a few games, a few refreshments and a great old world atmosphere made this a pleasant stop after a day exploring Salzburg. We were initially worried about noise due to location but this was not an issue. We would definitely go back to the Hohenstauffen.

Room Tip: The end room on the second floor is very good - it has two windows on different walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UVILLEOBEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hohenstauffen! The hotel is literally a couple of minutes from the Salzburg station, so its really convenient if you intend to travel by train. The rooms have a lovely, old world charm, whereas the washrooms are modern and well-equipped. the owners of the hotel are lovely, warm, caring people who will go out of their way to help you out in every way possible. They gave us good advice on what places to visit, were happy to lend us umbrellas (there was a storm when we were there), phone chargers, and what not! The breakfast is a scrumptious buffet with generous variety of meats, cheeses (yum!), fruits, breads, cereal, juices and best of all - freshly made coffee and eggs. I was pleasantly surprised to see the variety considering that it's not a big hotel!

It's an absolute value for money. My only tip to people would be - it's not a hotel chain, it's a family run hotel, so have expectations accordingly. Appreciate the family for their hospitality and warmth and you'll have a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room - they have more windows to look out of :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhavanajaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

As others have said Hohenstauffen Hotel is in a great location, very close to the main train station. Though the walk to the main tourist area did feel long, especially in the rain. The hosts are the best though - thoughtful, great recommendations, and kind at breakfast bringing fresh cooked eggs and hot coffee. Decor is a little dated - felt like a Mad Men set - but clean and comfortable. Yes, there's an "erotic" shop across the street, but I didn't stay out very late to find out if the neighborhood felt uncomfortable. For a one night stay, it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Lovely hotel minutes from the main train station. My wife and I stayed four nights. The husband and wife who run hotel could not be more caring or concerned for you having a great time in Salzburg. Breakfast was good with along with the typical meat, chesse, bread, cereal, juice, and drinks, warm soft boiler eggs are also made to order. Rooms were spacious, clean and had much ambiance. A good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inhaber at Hohenstauffen Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
thank you very much for your nice comments, hope to see you again.
Family Reichl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hohenstauffen Hotel is in a great location, it was close to the main train station and it made catching trains easy! We absolutely loved the host Linda, who is always ready to help and smiling. Breakfast is great, with a delicious spread of food and warm soft-boiled eggs which were amazing. The room decor is unique and facilities were adequate. A good stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_a_t_1984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#45 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#29 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#37 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing