We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-Fashioned Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #34 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old-Fashioned Character”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We loved the old-fashioned character of our double room, which included two twin beds pushed together, a full bathroom with tub and bidet, a closet that locked, a table with chairs, and a makeup mirror/stand. Be sure to catch an episode of “Die Fallers” on your TV. The breakfast buffet was tasty, with several breads, meats, cheeses, and yogurt toppings. Great for a picnic lunch, too. You need to leave your key with reception when you go out. There’s only wifi in the “Baroque Room” -- a lounge/bar downstairs (awkward when you go down in your pajamas to call your parents late at night, but otherwise okay). The staff was always attentive and helpful. Book through HRS for a free water bottle.

We arrived by train late in the evening and found the hotel pretty easily -- the giant erotica store across the street makes a good landmark. The walk to the city center was also easy and from there we were able to walk to the lake at Leopoldskron Castle. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend Hohenstauffen Hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    128
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
119
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Am I glad I stayed here rather than at an international hotel chain nearby whose service levels were sub-par with rooms that were almost double what Hohenstauffen was charging!

I arrived for a 5-day stay in mid-Feb just when the arctic winds brought an unwelcome cold snap to Salzburg. It was minus 15-20 degrees every night, yet Hohenstauffen was warm and welcoming. Not only were the duvets sufficient, heating in my room was ample and I marvelled at the under-floor heating in the bathroom as well. I had asked for a single room with a view and Andreas and Linda kindly upgraded me to a cosy double on the 3rd floor beside the lift. Great sleeps for the next 5 nights as the room was away from the street and I could hear the church bells peal even at 7 pm at night. Surreal and charming in the heavy snowfall!

And what a lovely view indeed of the snow covered backyard and rooftops from my window. The room was spacious, had ample storage and was meticulously clean (and I'm a stickler); such a bargain considering what my other colleagues had paid for their nondescript room in the previously mentioned international hotel chain. In contrast, they were freezing, there were rumours of bed bugs and had to request for blankets and portable heaters.

Breakfast comes with the room and is a cosy but small spread of breads, hams and cheeses, ample to keep one full but nothing to really shout about. Service is excellent as Linda is a perfect host remembering how your egg is to be cooked and refilling the morning coffee carafe just so. Service is genuine and friendly and you couldn't ask for kinder hosts than these third-generation proprietors who take great pride in all that they do.

A quick recap of the other plus points of Hohenstauffen:
- free internet in the quaint living room downstairs
- a 5 minute walk to the bus station where buses to the UNESCO heritage Old Town take 8 minutes thereabouts ( a scenic walk by the river from the hotel to Old Town is 20 minutes or so)
- food joints, supermarket and Austrian restaurants readily available within a 5-minute walk radius
- generously sized rooms (some are a little dated but nonetheless spotlessly clean; quit complaining - get real, look at the price, will you, though they have been renovating some of the rooms)
- fantastic water pressure in the bathroom (water pressure's a pet peeve of mine)

To sum up, if you don't mind not being a skip and a throw away from Old Town and the Saltzer River, then stay here (it is 5 minutes from Mirabell Gardens though) as it certainly eases up on your budget and gives you more spending money elsewhere. All in all, a great deal and I would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Up on the 3rd floor, I saw snowladen rooftops and could hear the church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Salzburg and found the Hohenstauffen Hotel delightful. The staff was overly friendly and very helpful in giving us tips on seeing Salzburg. It is located in a quiet area just a 5 minute walk from the train station and about 20 minutes from the Old Town. The walk to the Old Town is along the river on a walk/bike path. It is a scenic and safe walk. The breakfast buffet was nice and the hotel is very cozy. They have a tray of butter cookies on the reception desk and one evening, served some gluhwein to a few of us sitting in the reception area, as it was Christmas Market season. We asked for a "local" place to eat on our last night and we were sent about 5 blocks away to a great little restaurant/bar for dinner. We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is very good value for money. The rooms are very clean and quite big, each room looks different, maybe a little dated, but with lots of real character. The hotel is very close to the main station - to the city centre it's 25 minutes' walk along the river. All the staff is very friendly, unobtrusive but extremely helpful if help is needed. The breakfast buffet is not too big, but with lots of nice things that should feed anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotel is near to the main station - dont follow the instructions on google which will bring you on a long walk by the main streets. You could cut across the bus station, and will be able to reach the hotel in approximately 5 mins without luggage. The staff is very friendly, advising us on where to go and when to go (we arrived in Salzburg and the next day was a PH so the hotel staff advised us to visit the Christmas markets first to avoid the crowd as we had children with us). The rooms are clean, furniture is a bit dated but there is a nice antique-looking stereo in the room which you could listen in to the local broadcasts. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is sufficient, you could ask for eggs if you want. All in all, it was a satisfactory and value-for-money stay (others hotels in Salzburg could easily cost you twice the price).

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, get a triple room. Its not too ex, and you get more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very easy walk from the hbf station. Very friendly and helpful staff advising us of where to go and how to walk to the old part of Salzburg. Rooms clean, the whole hotel had lots of character. They even stored our luggage for us all day free of charge even though we were only spending one night with them - excellent service. The buffet breakfast was very good value and the eggs were cooked perfectly. Would recommend this hotel to any visitor wishing to stay near the station.

Room Tip: Request non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitechristmas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Near the station, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great rooms (mine was a little dated, but very charming), extremely good value for money. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing