We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and hot, but decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Stamford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy and hot, but decent value”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pros -- price was good, location convenient (it wasn't in the old town, but very close and actually easier to reach since it was on a bigger road, breakfast quite extensive for the price
Cons -- very hot, no A/C or temp controls, busy road so too noisy with window open. Maybe ask for room away from main road? Bathroom has glass door, so if someone uses it during the night, it's very bright, room is tiny. Free wifi, but it really only works in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    395
    151
    38
    31
See reviews for
132
451
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After reading the reviews, I was a little concerned, but I am pleased to say the hotel was very good value and in a excellent position. We were in room 322 and we had no problem with noise. The room was very spacious with a free safe. Breakfast was very relaxed, my only comments being more fresh fruit would have been nice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the lady from Panama. While we were there we had heard that the trip to the lakes was only four hours and that not much time was spent at the lakes. So we took the local bus 150 to St Gilgen and the boat over to St Wolfgang, this was cheaper and we spent a lot longer at the beautiful lakes, well worth a visit. Also the Sound of Music tour is a must!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabsNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Travelled with our teenage daughters. We were on the 3rd floor which was quite stuffy. Why do hotels ask us to recycle our towels yet insist on cranking up the heat? There are no heating controls in the room.

Anyways, rooms were clean and the windows opened. Value was OK, but traveling as a family of 4, we had to rent two rooms. Breakfast was OK as was the location. Secure parking is a plus.

Our daughters are solid sleepers and had no problem with sleep noise, but I slept with earplugs due to having to have the window open to evacuate the heat.

The staff were exclusively using the single elevator in the mornings which may make staying on higher levels challenging for anyone with difficulties using stairs.

Room Tip: Avoid street side. Rooms on levels below 3 are probably cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was in a good location on the edge of the old town- only a 5-10min walk max to the river and the main part of the old town and about 5 mins walk from Mirabell Gardens. The rooms were somewhat dated but very clean and tidy and our room in particular was huge!!! So much space. Breakfast had a good selection with lots of fresh products. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there at the beginning of June 2014.
The room was very nice, seemed renovated recently.
Everything was very clean.
The bathroom was very comfortable.
Beds were ok, but unfortunately their dubble bed is actually two adjacent single beds.
Parking is easy near the hotel. You can pay for up to 3 hours, and the 3 first hours of the next day can be paid in the evening including the night.
The distance to the old city is less than 15 minutes walk, and the srteet that leads you there, as well as all the neighbourhood in that direction are very nice to walk through.
Breakfast was not the strong part of the deal, but no real complaints about.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGAL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I will limit my comments to the negatives expressed by others:

1) No air conditioning - The weather was cool when we were there with highs in the mid twenties and it cooled down at night so this was not a problem. The windows do open which is not always the case in a hotel so I suspect that this hotel would be more comfortable during a hot spell than some that don't have a/c.

2) The raw eggs - Yes, they are in a big bowl RIGHT NEXT TO THE EGG BOILER. In this way you can have your eggs as you like them. Overall the breakfast was the best of any on our trip (six hotels)..


3) The service - Everyone at the front desk was very nice and helpful to us. We needed to catch a flight early in the morning and they even offered to make special arrangements for us to have breakfast before they were usually open - we were astonished. I will say however that we witnessed one of these very helpful women at the desk being very short with another customer. I know that sometimes people whose first language is not English can come across as being a bit gruff but in this case we suspected that the less than friendly service was because the couple was obviously from the Middle East and the woman was wearing a burka. Just a suspicion.

4) WiFi worked very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had a compact, comfortable, no frills room, with all the basic necessities; the hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast. The location is on a street with shops and restaurants and little car traffic (but watch out for cyclists), and is a 15 minute walk to Salzburg old town. I believe you get your money's worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 132 in Salzburg
1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,021 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
862 reviews
0.6 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Property: Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing