We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Travelled with our teenage daughters. We were on the 3rd floor which was quite stuffy. Why do hotels ask us to recycle our towels yet insist on cranking up the heat? There are no heating controls in the room.

Anyways, rooms were clean and the windows opened. Value was OK, but traveling as a family of 4, we had to rent two rooms. Breakfast was OK as was the location. Secure parking is a plus.

Our daughters are solid sleepers and had no problem with sleep noise, but I slept with earplugs due to having to have the window open to evacuate the heat.

The staff were exclusively using the single elevator in the mornings which may make staying on higher levels challenging for anyone with difficulties using stairs.

Room Tip: Avoid street side. Rooms on levels below 3 are probably cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    309
    122
    35
    25
See reviews for
91
353
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was in a good location on the edge of the old town- only a 5-10min walk max to the river and the main part of the old town and about 5 mins walk from Mirabell Gardens. The rooms were somewhat dated but very clean and tidy and our room in particular was huge!!! So much space. Breakfast had a good selection with lots of fresh products. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there at the beginning of June 2014.
The room was very nice, seemed renovated recently.
Everything was very clean.
The bathroom was very comfortable.
Beds were ok, but unfortunately their dubble bed is actually two adjacent single beds.
Parking is easy near the hotel. You can pay for up to 3 hours, and the 3 first hours of the next day can be paid in the evening including the night.
The distance to the old city is less than 15 minutes walk, and the srteet that leads you there, as well as all the neighbourhood in that direction are very nice to walk through.
Breakfast was not the strong part of the deal, but no real complaints about.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IGAL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I will limit my comments to the negatives expressed by others:

1) No air conditioning - The weather was cool when we were there with highs in the mid twenties and it cooled down at night so this was not a problem. The windows do open which is not always the case in a hotel so I suspect that this hotel would be more comfortable during a hot spell than some that don't have a/c.

2) The raw eggs - Yes, they are in a big bowl RIGHT NEXT TO THE EGG BOILER. In this way you can have your eggs as you like them. Overall the breakfast was the best of any on our trip (six hotels)..


3) The service - Everyone at the front desk was very nice and helpful to us. We needed to catch a flight early in the morning and they even offered to make special arrangements for us to have breakfast before they were usually open - we were astonished. I will say however that we witnessed one of these very helpful women at the desk being very short with another customer. I know that sometimes people whose first language is not English can come across as being a bit gruff but in this case we suspected that the less than friendly service was because the couple was obviously from the Middle East and the woman was wearing a burka. Just a suspicion.

4) WiFi worked very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had a compact, comfortable, no frills room, with all the basic necessities; the hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast. The location is on a street with shops and restaurants and little car traffic (but watch out for cyclists), and is a 15 minute walk to Salzburg old town. I believe you get your money's worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and efficent and the desk staff were very helpful to us. The location was great for walking to the old town and enjoying the Christmas market. Secure parking on site. breakfast was good. No complaints at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCapeGirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We found this hotel to be very good value for money. It has a good location, rooms and bathroom were clean and breakfast was also good enough.The reception was friendly, but somehow the decoration/furniture there gave a bit "cold" first impression.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulla331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#49 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#22 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#40 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Property: Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing