We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
BERKS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hofwirt for 2 nights whilst visiting the Salzburg Christmas markets etc.
Found the hotel to be clean and tidy, staff were very helpful and friendly giving directions etc to where ever we wanted to go, the hotel also provided a free map and marked the locations of the markets for us which was really helpful.
The hotel is situated on the edge of the pedestrian zone with a Taxi rank right outside, the walk down to the river to the old town where the main markets are was about 10 minutes through the shopping streets, bars and café's so ideal really.
There is a fantastic pub like Restaurant just 500 metres up the road ( S'Kloane Brauhaus ) on the left ,that does fantastic food and snacks at reasonable prices try the Pork & Horse raddish in Austrian bread on a cold night it will soon warm you.
Overall I would have no hesitation in staying in the Hofwirt again, the Breakfast is continental but plentiful, plenty of hot water and heating on those really cold nights, and a great location for the markets and sightseeing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room over looking the main street and never heard a thing in the night so, I would im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerksTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    320
    124
    36
    26
See reviews for
95
365
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minorca, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November, room renovated, very small but fine for us, nice and warm as -7 when we arrived! Loved the duvets, really cosy and warm. Luckily didn't want to watch TV as it was tiny and on top of wardrobe. Bathroom far too small, loo and sink in space of 1 sq metre, fortunately shower was great. Breakfast wonderful lots of choice and excellent , 4 star quality. Hotel 5 min walk from centre along a nice pedestrian street. Recommend a visit to Hallstatt, beautiful spot, bus stop just across the road from hotel, no. 150 fantastic scenic journey, then change to train from Bad Ischl.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniebee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
223 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Helpful staff and nice rooms. Pretty good choice of buffet breakfast included in the room rate, which itself is fairly good value for a city-centre hotel. Nice central location with good secure underground parking on-site, but you have to go outside to get to/from the garage, which is not so good in the pouring rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all: The staff will not lift a finger for its guests to such a degree that even the eggs on the breakfast buffet are served up raw; guests must place them in the vat of boiling water next to them and wait.

We also waited for the WiFi in our room--it never came, only working in the hotel lobby. Same with the hot water--none! While an electric heater that kept the towels warm & dry was a nice touch, the lack of heated water made showers cold, unpleasant, and short.

Requests and complaints were met with indifference, impotence, or simply, "I am just the receptionist, I can't do anything."

While the rooms were clean and the location convenient, the inattentive staff and lack of service left much to be desired. If traveling to Salzburg, book your hotel well in advance as they fill up quickly including this 3 star hotel that hardly earned its first.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MarielleRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The taxi from the airport was about 20 minutes. The hotel was a 10 minutes walk to the river and the centre of activity with bars and restaurants within reach.
The hotel was basic but value for money, with clean rooms and comfortable beds. The bar area is small, but then you are there not to be in the hotel.
The breakfast was good with scrambled eggs, hot bacon, cold meats and cheese, with a variety of breads, fruit etc (very good).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night. This hotel has good location, very clean, comes with good breakfast. Has a private parking lot in the courtyard, its fee included. They offer free wifi, TV. Rooms are not big (but not small :O)), but should have more storage facility. Bathroom is modern and big enough. Nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehegedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in Hofwirt 2 nights. The location can not be more central. The hotel located just on the other side of Old City. There is a market just on the corner. Our room was clean, tidy, not big but not small for sure! The bathroom was absolutely modern and shiny. A lady at reception was very helpful and patient will all my question about Salzburg and local food. She adviced a couple of places within walking distance where we could try some local food. We used the advice and didn't regret. Even opposite – both of our dinners in Salzburg we had there (Alter Fuchs). A day trip to Hallstatt again was her advice and it couldn’t be better – so beautiful!
The breakfast was nice and satisfying. Enjoyed egg boiling machine:)
You do it yourself so easily can arrange the needful time and have your morning egg soft or hard and it will hot not cold! Actually it was the first time I had boiled egg in a hotel and it was only because I could have it soft&hot. Yummy! Small but very nice detail :)
Bread, cakes selection, cheese, meat products - everything was fresh and delicious.
100% would stay again and totally advisable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateOz-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Goldenes Theater Hotel
#42 of 138 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Property: Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing