We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience with the receptionist - lousy service delivery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bad experience with the receptionist - lousy service delivery”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A very bad experience with the receptionist. Was asking if the room accorded was a twin or double room. However, the receptionist gave a disturbed expression n refused to answer my query and refered me to the list instead. In the end, we found out that all rooms were twin bedded. It is totally not professional and give a bad impression to any guest staying in this hotel since the first point of receiving is already bad. As a hotel staff, they should know the room type n if they do not know they should take the initiative to check. We can feel that we are being discriminated as we are Asians! This can be experienced in some places in this little beautiful town. Very disappointed with the check-in experience. To make it worse, I had also a triple room and room was not prepared beforehand and let my family members waited for more than half hour standing for the hotel to prepare the extra bed. Is this a standard of a branded hotel? It is totally to my disbelief and unforgettable experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caswy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Caswy,

first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre in occasion of your stay in Salzburg and for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find the attitude of our front desk staff welcoming and we would like to insure you that this is not a standard which we follow, as the guest satisfaction is very important to us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great stay.

Best regards from Salzburg,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    546
    253
    80
    48
See reviews for
313
398
73
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in summer of 2012 and 2013 .

I liked the hotel location , design ,, and the cleanness of the rooms And the friendly reception staff .

I use a wheelchair so I asked for a handicap room . It has a well designed bathroom it has a wide roll in shower so I can maneuver with my wheelchair with no problem at all .
The room is big also .

The only problem that I faced is that the bed level was higher than the average height of wheelchairs so I have to use all of my upper body strength (( can't use my legs at all )) to left my body every time i transfer to the bed which was risky and dangerous .

A lower mattress or lower bed will be appreciated from any wheelchair user .

Hopefully Mr Roland Mittermair the
General Manager will read my review and take care of that issue .


Thanks in advance

Hamad aldafferi

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldOnwheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Aldafferi,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your guest room met your expectations. With great pleasure I will share your motivating feedback with the Front Office team.

Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding the height of the bed. Immediately I discussed this point with our technical manager and we already found a satisfying solution.

Thank you once more for your measured feedback and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Clean hotel, a bit of a trek to the centre. Reception staff poorly trained...with poor customer service. Receptionist told us where to park and our vehicle got towed...euro 270 to get it back! Hotel couldn't care less that it was due to their misinformation. Booked double room and got twin - told WE must just push beds together. Room smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room. Booked with Radisson Blu - arrived at the address and no radisson existed...hotel and last minute failed to inform us of name change...quite a key detail right? Generally unpleasant stay. Will avoid this chain at all costs after this experience. Was not the 4 star experience expected!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumiz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Lumiz33,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre.

We are aware of your complaint as our Manager on Duty talked to you already directly during your stay.

It's correct that our front office trainee informed you that it is free parking just opposite of the hotel entrance. However, there are clear indications about where parking is allowed on weekends as on weekdays it's only short term parking. I guess that there was no parking available directly there, as you parked your car a bit further away, after the parking area; It was already the bus line. Anyway, it's the first time I hear that you showed our staff where exactly you parked the car. Maybe you didn't look at the indications as there were more cars standing in the forbidden area. In total the bus company removed 6 cars that morning. Still it is your own responsibility as you could have parked your car in our hotel garage with more than 450 parking lots.

Our Manager on Duty was informed and he was so kind to invite you to our New Year's Eve Gala that actually costs €155,- per person. I think this is a very nice gesture of us because we are not responsible for parking violation of our guests.

We regret that your car was removed during your stay and hope that you nevertheless enjoyed the New Year's Eve Gala.

However, we would be glad to welcome you back at the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre in the future.



Best regards ,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent there 2 nights during the advent period. The hotel completely met with our expectations we can not mention any negative things. The room size was perfect, the bed was comfortable. One minor note: nowadays, a bathroom with a bathtub and a shower curtain is a little bit old style...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Satc0,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre in occasion of your stay in Salzburg. We are pleased that you took the time to write about your experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and our service. It is a great pleasure for our entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too far distant future.


Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

expected more. the homepage pics looked very noble and luxurious.

dark, cold rooms, worn out, old, cold swimming pool temperature, did the heater even work?

big plus!!!! very good breakfast. all sort of dishes. very good staff and quick in cleaning up. restaurant was very clean and neat.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear hsurg,

Many thanks for your honest feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is a pity that you did not enjoyed our pool and spa area. Our team at the reception is pleased to be your contact round the clock and helps you with small or bigger wishes. Please do not hesitate to ask them if you wish warmer pool water for example.

A great breakfast is best the start into a great day. Tea or coffee specialties, sweet or hearty delicacies, something light or something healthy… We are pleased that it found your appreciation.
The extensive buffet is an easy start to your day - the finest juices, fresh fruit and culinary surprises will bring a smile to your face.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great hotel and location. We stayed for just one night but would gladly have stayed longer. The front desk staff was extremely warm and helpful. Great hotel bar. Location is close to the Salzach river which we walked along to the city center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you very much for your time and the effort to report your impression on your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre.

Your warm and motivating comments will surely be shared with our entire team and they’ll continue to strive for excellence in every guest experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived on Christmas day and stayed for 2 nights.

The staff was very accommodating and helped us secure a good tour in during our stay.

The Hotel is a walk away from the Train Station, and is also a short walk away from the Plaza where the tour buses await and drop off the tourists.

The room we got was excellent, very clean and comfortable unlike the hotel room we got in Munich. We came during the Christmas holidays, and there were not a lot of restaurants open during the holiday, but they have their own restaurant to serve. And they provided free wifi connection. The place was just perfect for a vacation in Salzburg.

Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlopoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMittermair, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear carlopoji,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at the Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I am delighted that you chose our property for your visit and I shall certainly share your positive feedback with the relevant departments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Roland Mittermair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 132 in Salzburg
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center

Property: Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Address: Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Conference Centre
Renaissance Salzburg
Salzburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing