We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel has a very good location just steps away from the train station and shopping center with supermarket and fast food restaurants. If you don't mind walking you can reach city center in 10-15 minutes.

The room is nice and cozy and looks like on the pictures on the web site. The mattress was little soft to my taste but still ok for a good sleep. There is a spacious wardrobe and a mini bar available in the room with some drinks and refreshments but no coffee/tea maker. You can use free wifi internet in the room but you have to ask for the login and password from the front desk. The downturn is that the access is supposed to be valid for 24 hours but only with your computer on otherwise you need a new login. The only thing which was not up to 4* standard was the bathroom which was also missing vanity mirror but on the hand had super soft towels.

Breakfast is very good with plenty of varieties of pastries, jams, cereals, juices, fresh fruits... if you prefer English breakfast it wouldn't be a full breakfast but definately something for you too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZGZA, Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Milusa,

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your stay with us.

With pleasure I shared your motivating feedback on the breakfast with our chef.

Regarding your comment on the internet system I am very pleased to inform you that we are currently checking the possibility to provide easy access to the internet and I trust that a solution better than the password will be found soon.

And finally, as far as the tea and coffee making facilities are concerned I can confirm that all missing items have been replaced and all rooms are equipped with a kettle along with a choice of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. This service is provided free of charge to help our guests feel at home away from home.

Dear Milusa, again thank you for the time you took, it is by acting on feedback such as yours that we can improve our services even further.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre in occasion of your next stay in Salzburg.

Katja Dietz
Resident Manager
The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    475
    205
    71
    45
See reviews for
265
344
67
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nice, modern hotel. It's a bit of a walk (or else bus trip) to the cultural part of town. The hotel very close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

BED BUGS..!! BEWARE..!!
I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and got bitten by bed bugs. I ended up with hundreds of bites, my hands and neck were swollen and unbearably itchy. I thought it was due to food poisoning until I caught few of the bed bugs crawling on my hand on the final night. What a horrible experience..!! I had to throw away my luggage and few of the bed bugs followed me home. The hotel gave me a refund but refused to pay for my medical expenses and compensate for my losses. I had nightmares for few weeks and still have scars all over my hands and neck. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL..!! VERY FILTHY..!! THE WORST HOTEL I EVER STAYED IN MY LIFE..!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Regina_Aleydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZGZA, Manager at Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Regina,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Since we care about the hotel and especially about our guests we take remarks such as yours seriously and take the necessary action right away.

In your particular case, you reported being bitten by bed bugs after a five nights stay in the morning of your departure. As you might remember - the receptionist called immediately a doctor and the corresponding bills were paid by the hotel.

After your check out, we have locked the room and called a certified pest control company that has dismantled and professionally inspected the room in detail. The pest control company reported and guaranteed that neither signs nor further indices of bed bucks could be located in the inspected room. Nevertheless - and purely precautionary - we had the hired company completely disinfect the room.

Further, documentation issued by the above mentioned company and available to
a third party confirms an excellent and high quality standard of the room with no indices and evidences of any bugs or further vermin.

The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg is one of the most sophisticated and well established hotels in town. One of the reasons certainly is due to the consistent maintenance of our high standards of hygiene and safety through scheduled complex security measures.

Our focus is the well being of our guests and all necessary actions of precaution have been taken.

Dear Regina, after all we honestly hope that this message reaches you in good health and hopefully, we see you, your family and friends soon back in our hotel in occasion of your next stay in Salzburg.

Please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be pleased to assist you with the reservation.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
The Radisson Blu Hotel & Conference Centre, Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Large hotel.. Staff friendly and helpful..location good. Close to train station and walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location great. 2 minute walk from central train station. Large, clean and modern rooms. Good sized bathroom. Business hotel so don't expect anything unique. Only 10-15 minute walk to main centre. Friendly staff. A little pricey but reasonable for Salzburg. Breakfast was OK - not fantastic but certainly hit the spot. I would definitely recommend for those needing close proximity to the station and don't mind a short walk into the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights starting Sept. 18. It’s a nice hotel, and just about 10 minutes walk from the main railway station. We stayed in room 603, which had a bit of a view of a distant castle and some roads, nothing extraordinary. The hotel is vast and didn’t seem to be brimming with people, except during breakfast hours. We were greeted at the check-in by a trainee, who did all the explanations quite well. The room is well appointed, spacious and they offered us free wi-fi use for 120 minutes. The room is big, has a nice LCD TV, comfortable bed, place to keep suitcase, a desk etc. The hotel staff were helpful whenever you had a question about the local region. It was raining quite heavily when we were there in Salzburg and the hotel staff was kind enough to lend us umbrellas every time we asked.

The only two minor issues we had were: 1.) I think they charged us additional 50% for laundry in the name of express service. They didn’t give it back in 3 hours as per the guidelines of their express service, but charged me 50% extra, although the laundry paper in the room said otherwise. 2.) Minor one -- We had to remind the hotel four times to get two mugs sent to our room.

The breakfast is nice and offers a wide spread. The staff are very helpful as well, although you can’t expect Asian service in Europe.
Access to travel within Salzburg isn;t a problem from this hotel at all. Everything is nearby. There is a Burger King, an Italian food outlet, a Subway, a Kebab place and McDonald's nearby as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 1 night here because we wanted to be close to the train station. It is just 2 blocks from the train station and there is a Migros, Mcdonalds, and Burger King a block away. The hotel is a conference center but was very quiet when we were there. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. We walked to Mirabell Gardens and the Old City which is about 15 minutes. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#21 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#27 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#23 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#25 of 138 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre

Property: Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre
Address: Fanny-von-Lehnert-Strasse 7 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Conference Centre
Renaissance Salzburg
Salzburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing