We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can find a better hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
“you can find a better hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A very good location BUT

The rooms don't have A/C system, clean room services are really bad, the hotel doesn't provide shampoos& body lotion, you have to bring your own, uncomfortable beds, breakfast buffet could be better.
Don't know how it is classified 4 stars!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubna14aug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2016
Thanks for your comments, you can book rooms with or without air conditioning with or without breakfast. The rate you booked was for a room without air conditioning. You can always upgrade during your stay. Best regards GTHotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    306
    160
    47
    26
See reviews for
216
231
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

In easy walking distance of many shops and restaurants before the descent into the old town. We had a very nice welcome from the staff at reception who were very helpful. Our room was a little dated but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Air conditioning was an extra 10€ per night which is a bit mean, so we did without.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back. We had a street view and it was a little noisy with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Salzburg by train and as we had hand luggage only we were able to walk to the hotel as the directions emailed to us were easy to follow.

The hotel had a theatrical theme and the main entrance and hall leading to our room seemed a bid old fashioned, however the room allocated was modern, bright and airy.We had plenty of wardrobe space, a safe and a small fridge (Well stocked but we only used for the drinks we brought from outside). The room was as good as the Hilton, Edinburgh Airport, where we started our trip.

We did not have air conditioning but a fan was provided.

Breakfast was really good and included bacon (cooked really well) scrambled eggs and the ubiquitous cold meats, cereals etc.

We also liked the location of our room which allowed us to explore Salzburg easily. It was not too far a walk to the old town.

There were also lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Goldenes Theater Hotel is located near old city of Salzburg. It takes only 7 or 10 min on foot to oldcity. I stayed 4 night and enjoyed walking around old city or watching marionette of "Sound of music". Marionetten Theater is walking distance too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsakaAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Late July, we just arrived. It was +40 C outside. We found we had to pay 10 euros per day for Air Conditioning! Outrageous... My wife complain a lot she got a table fan for free...
Cleaning is poor. Beds are just ok...

Location is good, not the best...

To be fair... We've got two rooms for the price of one, that was awesome. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A great find for families, as the room for four is actually two rooms: one bedroom and one living/dining room with a comfortable sofa bed. A dining table for four would make eating in the room very comfortable if needed. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with an added bonus of being able to sit outside on a quiet terrace. My only concern with this room was that the shower wasn't really a shower. The bar to hold up the handheld shower head had been placed too far from the taps to reach so it was just a handheld shower. This could likely be easily remedied just by moving the bar 18 inches closer to the taps, which would have made my rating a 5.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesstravelwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I’ve stayed here several times and I’m posting another review to call attention to the superb staff, which is the primary reason I return here. They are as friendly and helpful as could be and they will do everything they can to guarantee a pleasant experience in Salzburg. The location is good, but you need to be willing to walk a little bit to get close to the main attractions. Excellent breakfast, big clean rooms. For families or small groups, the triples/quads are actually two rooms (living room with fold-out couch and bedroom); the apartments are even bigger and have basic kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrvlr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#56 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Property: Goldenes Theater Hotel
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing