We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and a calm room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Osaka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and a calm room”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Goldenes Theater Hotel is located near old city of Salzburg. It takes only 7 or 10 min on foot to oldcity. I stayed 4 night and enjoyed walking around old city or watching marionette of "Sound of music". Marionetten Theater is walking distance too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsakaAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    322
    165
    48
    27
See reviews for
222
245
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Late July, we just arrived. It was +40 C outside. We found we had to pay 10 euros per day for Air Conditioning! Outrageous... My wife complain a lot she got a table fan for free...
Cleaning is poor. Beds are just ok...

Location is good, not the best...

To be fair... We've got two rooms for the price of one, that was awesome. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A great find for families, as the room for four is actually two rooms: one bedroom and one living/dining room with a comfortable sofa bed. A dining table for four would make eating in the room very comfortable if needed. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with an added bonus of being able to sit outside on a quiet terrace. My only concern with this room was that the shower wasn't really a shower. The bar to hold up the handheld shower head had been placed too far from the taps to reach so it was just a handheld shower. This could likely be easily remedied just by moving the bar 18 inches closer to the taps, which would have made my rating a 5.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesstravelwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I’ve stayed here several times and I’m posting another review to call attention to the superb staff, which is the primary reason I return here. They are as friendly and helpful as could be and they will do everything they can to guarantee a pleasant experience in Salzburg. The location is good, but you need to be willing to walk a little bit to get close to the main attractions. Excellent breakfast, big clean rooms. For families or small groups, the triples/quads are actually two rooms (living room with fold-out couch and bedroom); the apartments are even bigger and have basic kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrvlr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were on a concert tour and had no control over where we stayed. This was our home base for day tours for 14 days. Things you might not notice in a short stay, were obvious over the long haul. The beds were ok, but daily cleaning service was minimal. We frequently did not get clean glasses and somtimes not clean towels. Towels were poor quality. Laminate floor was never mopped and seldom vacuumed.Nothing was ever dusted. No evidence of any mops in cleaning cart, so am not sure how or if bathroom floor was cleaned. By the time we left dust bunnies abounded and the bottom of our new slippers were filthy. We had to ask to have burned out bulbs replaced - even in the bathroom - which should have been obvious to the cleaning crew.The plug in the bathroom sink was broken. My husband took it to the desk to show them what was wrong. The next morning they had left a new one in our box for us to install.Our first shower head was cracked and sprayed water all over the bathroom. Fortunately, they didn't expect us to fix that, too. The breakfast was the same for all 14 days. The week day desk clerks were much more helpful than those working the weekend shifts.

Room Tip: We didn't know until the day before we check out,that there were some rooms available with AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are quite small, but well equipped and clean. Comfortable bed, but I couldn't work out if the air conditioning was functional. A good size bathroom (though the shower was a bit old seeming) - one real bonus was the room had an entrance foyer with lots of space for luggage and a good size wardrobe.

It's within comfortable walking distance of both the Neues and Altes Stadts, and the train station is less than 15 minutes away. The breakfast was pretty good (but the coffee was awful).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essex-hiker-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosnia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We got a small room, double bed could be split in two, there was noise from the street. Upper part of the window wasn't functional. Air conditioning costing additional 10€ per day. WiFi working fine. Breakfast was good.
Definitely not a 4 star hotel as they advertise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Property: Goldenes Theater Hotel
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing