We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need for adequate price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel with a good location, trolley-bus #4 (stopping 50 meters from the hotel) takes you to the old town is 3 mins. It is free of charge with Salzburg-card which gives you free entry to all he museums as well. The card can be bought at the reception. Nice rooms with basic but practical furniture. Everything is spotlessly clean except the shower which was a bit worn. It was the one and only (slight) letdown of the hotel. Staff is effective and friendly, Hannes at the reception is a very nice gentleman. )) Beds OK, breakfast offers just everything you need to start the day. Flat TV with a veriety of channels available in different languages (which is becoming a rarity these days...) Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GABOR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 754 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed there recently with friends for five nights. Bedroom was clean and comfortable, with a good selection for breakfast. Pleasant 10 minute walk across the river takes you into the old town. Well suited for our needs as we were out every day and only returned to change or sleep. Would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Friday 15.9 to 19.9 the hotel is situated about 10minutes walk from the city centre which is ideal. The rooms were spotlessly clean had air con and a safety deposit box all free, also wifi through the hotel. The staff were always extremely friendly and were always on hand to help. There was also a stand alone computer in the bar area which was free to use. The breakfast was plentiful scrambled egg and bacon as well as cereals, toast etc. we went with a party of 4 and we would definitely stay there again. The hotel also did tickets for all tours from the reception desk. All in all a very nice friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Heyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel's location is decent: 15 minutes walking to the old town city center and 15-20 minutes walking to the central station (Salzburg Hauptbahnhof). The room is big enough and very clean. The breakfast was excellent: omelette, bacon, ham, cheese, emmentaler, butter, jam, milk, cereals, tomatoes etc. In the room you'll also find a minibar (the bevereges are extra charge) and a safe (free of charge). A very weird thing from my point of view for a 4* hotel is that they don't have an air conditioner in the room, instead you'll find a classic fan. For me this wasn't a problem, because I traveled here in the begining of september when it wasn't hot at all, but I supose that things aren't that nice in july or august. They have WI-FI in the rooms but the connection is awful, you'll have to reconnect many times. Just oposite the hotel you'll find a Billa supermarket and nearby a Bio Bistro with vegetarian food (this was great for me, because I am a vegetarian). Another important thing to say is that the price for the accommodation was very good for a 4* hotel in Salzburg, it had almost the same price as many 3* hotels in the town. Also, you can buy the Salzburg card directly from the hotel, I payed 34 euro for a 48 hour card that included entrances to ALL the museums in the town + public transport, I highly recommend you to buy this card. Overall experience with the hotel: good

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlexandruDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This no-frills hotel had exactly what we were looking for: Great location, clean and a good value. The room was just that - a room. It came with a fan which was fine for us. It came with free wi-fi, but but the connection signal was not always strong. I was unable to use VIoP on my iPad, but was able to use email and surf the net freely. The staff was knowledgeable and the breakfast. For what it is, it was just perfect for two friends looking to get a taste of Salzburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

+ location; it's a 10 min walk to the old city center and there's a bank and supermarket opposite the hotel.
+ Large rooms with good beds.
+ Modern flatscreen TV.
+ Wifi was good.
+ Free use of PC with internet in the lobby.
+ Free safe.

- No airco, just a fan which doesn't suffice when it's over 25C in Salzburg.
- Rooms at the street side are quite noisy because of traffic.
- Shower; hardly any water came out and temperature varied.

Futhermore service and breakfast were decent.
We paid 82.50/night, which is a reasonable price for high season in this expensive city, but we did expect the basics to be better for a 4-star hotel. A 3-star rating would be more accurate.

Salzburg card:
I highly recommend buying the 48h Salzburg card which costs 34 eu. It provides free access to pretty much all highlights in and around the city, such as the Unterbergsbahn, Schloss Hellbrun, the musea, state rooms and Mozart houses etc. Another advantage is the free use of public transport, which you will need when visiting the Unterbergsbahn and Schloss Hellbrun. A 24h card is also available but that won't be enough to visit all the good attractions/sights. If you only have 1 day for sightseeing the 24h card is still worth it though.

Parking:
We parked our car at the Messe P+R for 9 eu/day. It's close to the highway and it has a good bus connection to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kapabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel has seen better days. Even the sign outside of the hotel tells of some decay, the word Goldenes has faded from it. The rooms are nice, staff helpful and the location is great, good value for money.
Weird wifi system but it works. Breakfast was crowded but good.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mats F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $82 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing