We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
453
28
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
28
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink the modern art museum fairy tale nearby museum infinity pool mountain overlooking moment you arrive old town homemade jams emailed the hotel the entire staff hotel experience beautiful hotel turn down service wonderful stay the location is perfect junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 493 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Upon driving up the hill,and turning the corner into the drive way you absolutely know you have picked a great hotel. There is no doubt that the Hotel Schloss Monchstein is a top 5 star hotel. This great place of class and superior service is a must stay when in the wonderful city of Salzburg. The front desk staff each day went above and beyond of answering any question we had, found us any direction we needed, and to accentuate the superior service and class the staff would stand each time we entered the front door to greet us. The breakfast buffet in the morning was outstanding and once again superior service in the dining room. We were greeted each morning by a warm “good morning”, and delivered our morning coffee. You go on a vacation to experience the world, and also to experience the Best, and this is what Hotel Schloss Monchstein is. THE BEST in CLASS.
Thank you for a fantastic memorable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front are very nice
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STeufel, Manager at Hotel Schloss Monchstein, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Mr. George P.,

thank you very much that you took the time to write such a lovely and kind review about your holidays in our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s.

We were absolutely overwhelmed by your praise that our castle hotel is „THE BEST IN CLASS“ and a „must stay“ in Salzburg. It is not only our job, but our passion to bestow our guests some unforgettable holiday memories and we are happy that we succeeded to do so. The „s“ in the HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s stands for „service“: A first-class, attentive and friendly service is one of the core values of our hotel philosophy.

Our reception team, service team and kitchen crew were delighted to read that you highlighted their superior service and the outstanding breakfast. It was absolutely our pleasure to be your hosts and we would be happy to welcome and pamper you again after our refurbishment works in 2018!

Until then we remain

with kind regards from Salzburg,

Samantha Teufel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

The Hotel was amazing, the staff was courteous and attentive. Treat yourself to an unbelievable memory. The staff exceeded our expectations at every turn. Their attention to detail and genuine friendliness is hard to find anywhere today. The breakfast was beyond any expectations. I would highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Silvemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STeufel, Manager at Hotel Schloss Monchstein, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Mönchstein guest,

thank you very much for your lovely hotel review about your holidays in our castle hotel high above Salzburg.

We are happy that you „loved your stay“ and that we „exceeded your expectations“. It was absolutely our pleasure to provide a first-class service and to pamper you with delicious culinary delights.

We would be happy to welcome and pamper you soon again in our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s in the heart of Salzburg.

Until then we remain with kind regards from the city of Mozart,

Samantha Teufel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Staying here makes for an unforgettable experience with it's amazing location, thoughtful and friendly staff, and choice amenities. We received a welcoming drink as we checked in, with our bags delivered to our room as we did the paperwork. There was a nice plate of fresh fruit waiting for us in the upscale and modern room. The turn-down service in the evenings was a nice surprise. The passes for the lift make for easy access to the old town. If there is a negative, it is that a number of weddings that are held on the premises - a clue about how picturesque the grounds and building are. This is an extraordinary and lovely hotel and I will stay here again if I return to Salzburg.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoggyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STeufel, Manager at Hotel Schloss Monchstein, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Mönchstein guest,

thank you very much for your brilliant hotel rating of our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s.

Our castle hotel high above Salzburg is famous for its unique, central location on the Mönchsberg. We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays. Of course, we passed on your praise about our thoughtful and friendly staff and they were happy to hear that you spend magnificent holidays with us.
We simply love to pamper and surprise our guests with special services such as the turn-down service or the welcome fruit plate.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Salzburg.

Until then we remain with kind regards,

Samantha Teufel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Perfect. Just perfect. The location and grounds take your breath away from the moment you arrive to the property, and you will leave knowing your expectations for a great hotel have forever changed. When we arrived, we were met by the staff, who gave us champagne, parked our car, and delivered our bags to our room. Classy and elegant. Our room was upgraded, and we were given a lovely room that walked out into the gardens, with a view of Salzburg. The bathroom had a large shower, separate toilet room, large tub, and was beautifully done in marble and granite. The bedroom was spacious, with a very comfortable bed, bedding, and pillows. Very quiet location, beautifully appointed, great service, perfectly clean. Our upgraded room had a small sitting area, which greeted us with a bowl of fresh fruit and cakes. Staff made recommendations regarding restaurants and assisted with reservations. Breakfast was included, with good buffet variety, and a chef that prepared dishes to order as well. From the hotel, it is a 15 minute walk to the local modern art museum, with an elevator into the old town. It was very convenient to walk everywhere in Salzburg from this location. Wifi was free, and worked well. I cannot wait to go back to Salzburg, and to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Julie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STeufel, Manager at Hotel Schloss Monchstein, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Mönchstein guest,

thank you very much for your kind words and your great hotel review about our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s – „the only place to stay“. We were enthusiastic about your introduction reminding us of a fairytale „Perfect. Just perfect. The location and grounds take your breath away ...“ It is always pure delight to read that our guests enjoyed their holidays in our castle hotel.

An excellent service is one of the core values of our hotel philosophy and we love to pamper and surprise our guests with extraordinary services such as champagne welcome drink, parking service, room upgrade and so forth. Our castle hotel is also famous for its luxurious and comfortable rooms and suites with spacious bathrooms and a brilliant view to the historic city center of Salzburg.

We are already looking forward to your return to our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s in the heart of the city of Mozart.

Kind regards from Salzburg,

Samantha Teufel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The headline could also read: "It's a little royal, you're allowed to be" as the hotel upgraded our hotel room for 5 days to the Maria Theresia Suite at the Hotel Schloss Mönchstein ***** S in Salzburg.

The adventure lasted for 5 days surrounded by staff who did their best with smile on the lip and good mood. It was interesting to meet so different personalities, who all made sure we could proudly say that it has been our best hotel experience in our lives. Thank you.

We followed the words: "Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment."

Already in January of this year we emailed the hotel with our wishes that after a little correspondence everyone was met so we could hold my wife's 60th birthday at the hotel together with our best friends from Austria who also had an overnight stay at nice room with balcony to the garden side, no. 34.

Upon arriving at the hotel, suitcases were brought to room no. 10, while we checked in on the outdoor patio enjoying a glass of champagne and a beer along with salted nuts. Immediately afterwards we were followed to the room by a young clever woman who showed the suite and, inter alia, told us that the big windows-constructions are based on an idea of ​​Leonardo da Vinci, and entered the room's air conditioning that could be self-service.

The room invited us with outdoor terrace, 330 degree view, wardrobe for all effects with coded safes, blackout curtains, good mattresses with good duvets with best sleep, 2 TVs, Bose facilities, fridge free mineral water, fruit dish, cake, greetings, Murano-chandelier from the 18th century, original paintings of Archduke of Austria Maria Theresia, her husband Frans of Lothringen, who was elected German Roman emperor in 1745 (Maria Theresia and Frans received 16 children with queen Marie Antoinette of France and Emperor Joseph 2. and Leopold 2. as the most famous) and woman with the mythological creature faun, sumptuous bed and living room with marble floor with mageless 180 degree view to Salzburg, sumptuous bathroom with the same floor with everything you could ask for, cosmetic table, double washbasin with large mirror and under cabinet, toilet with bidet and hand basin, shower room with large stationary shower and hand shower, bathtub with view to Salzburg, seating area with view to the city, meter-high vase, TV and BVLGARI toiletries and door to the Gothic Chamber / Restaurant Paris Lodron (Archbishop) with view to the Pilgrimage Church Maria Plain. Plush.

Think that my wife and I have been sitting in the same sofa as American actor Eric Roberts, the big brother of the very famous Pretty Woman Julia Roberts . . .

Has Maria Theresia been on the spot ?

The Breakfast Seancen was with really good and abundant coffee, food that would satisfy everyone, with the best view from the terrace and "so-called fine wives" with freshly made makeup in clothes that can not tempt a more modern person.
The eyes see everything - lovely with diversity.

We ate dinner in the restaurant 2 times. Both with nice appetizers.
First time with a glass of champagne, Ladys Cut Chateaubriand and T-bone steak with self-chosen accessories and Austrian Piriwe Pinot Noir redwine as well as coffee.
Afterwards my wife's birthday dinner was served with sumptuous champagne, Chateaubriand with self-chosen accessories and a Spanish Rioja Rice Valpiedra redwine, apricot pancake and cheese plate with a glass of Cointreau.
Everyone was happy and satisfied.

These are meat, dry aged beef, the best and finest Feinkost Fleischerei AUERNIG v/Stefan Auernig, Salzburg.

With a rating scale of 5, we would give 4 stars because of lack of meat tenderness (ripening or cooking?) and lack of barbecue knife, but when everything else clashed with excellent service, the assessment will be 5.

Afterwards, it became clear that our birthday was the most entertaining to provide service. It makes us proud. The employees deserve great praise.

Birthday Sacher cake with the inscription: "All the best" was immediately transferred after breakfast with the song Happy Birthday. Unforgettable. Thanks.
The cake, which was delivered in the room, was subsequently shared with our best friends with coffee delivered right to the door of a trainee.

The stay also offers the Infinity and whirlpool, where we enjoyed a glorious sunshine day with Thunfisch Sandwich, Stiegl Beer and Coca Cola.
Free cold water from the vending machine. Lovely. Lovely.
Infinity pool changes color in the evening hours, which is an experience in itself.

Remember to take part in the spa and massage area in the basement. Friendly and accommodating service.

The lobby offers a lot of brochures about sights and exhibitions of exhibitors including Jewelry with information on where to buy.

We forgot to visit the bar. It must come by our next visit.

One can not be anywhere but remember to enjoy the outdoor fireplace behind the front desk and outdoor areas.
Who were: Kari + Hansi, seen in a monument in the garden?

We were touched by "Salzburg Stumblinks Blocks" in the asphalt coating at the entrance to the hotel with the inscription: Hier wohnte Elisabeth Leitner JG. 1885 Deportiert 18.4.1941 Schloss Hartheim Ermordet 1941.
"A person is first forgotten when his name is forgotten": The project is directed against forgetting. It will remind us of expulsion and extinction of Jews, Roma and Sinti, politically persecuted, gay, Jehovah's Witnesses and victims of euthanasia under national socialism to be kept alive.
The commemoration of the fate of these people is marked by brass "paving stones" with key data in front of the last place of residence of their own choosing.

Not everyone needs more than the hotel stay, but enjoy the short walk for 5 minutes through the forest to the Mönchberg Lift, down to the Salzburg Center, which is free, as you use your delivered card you borrowed from the reception.

We went to the Salzburg Center late last night and chose to challenge ourselves by walking the unknown road to the hotel via Clemens-Holzmeister-Stiege. An unforgettable trip through the forest with view to Salzburg at night time without going wrong.

Every morning its routine: The stone carpet throughout the driveway and the guarded parking space between the cars was undergone with garden rake. Our car has not experienced so much attention before.

Every evening we were greeted by the pillow goodbye greeting: "Some thoughts for the night" with a nice piece of chocolate.
You could also see that we had not stolen those lovely antiques.
Thanks for this kindness.

Hochzeitskapelle anno 1540 with name tags on wedding couples throughout the ages. Great to see.

The 26th of August wedding with Mr. and Mrs. Lausenhammer in brilliant sunshine with welcome champagne in the driveway and subsequently in a more private setting with view to Salzburg. Nice to congratulate the couple.

On September 16, live a wedding with Jennifer and Dragan through your Facebook page. Great looking at the Gothic Room.

Even the very good weather the hotel had taken care of. Thanks.

On departure we were discussed a problem with the cleaning that was met, just as we got a glass of Homemade Strawberry Chocolate Jam by Aline at the front desk who wanted us to still have a sunny holiday at Fuschl Am See.

However, we missed that we could say thank you to the manager Samantha Teufel for our wonderful stay.

See you later.

Loving greetings
Lotte and Bent Izmir, Denmark.

Room Tip: Give a little more and get a better room . . .
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bent-Izmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STeufel, Manager at Hotel Schloss Monchstein, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Lotte and Bent Izmir,

thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and lovely hotel review about your holidays in the HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s. We were absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays and birthday party in our hotel castle high above Salzburg and that you had the „best hotel experience“ in your life. Thank you very much – that’s a very big compliment and reward for us.

Already the headline „Stairway to heaven ...“ was very captivating and the review continued to mark the highlights of our castle hotel. We are happy that you experienced all the highlights, amenities and services of our 5-star-superior hotel such as our luxurious, spacious and comfortable rooms and suites with marvellous view to the historic city centre, the first-class service including luggage service, welcome drink and much more, our enchanting Mönchstein SPA with outdoor infinity pool and the creative cuisine of our awarded restaurant.

We also passed on your praise to our staff and they were happy to hear that you spend some unforgettable days high above Salzburg. Positive feedback is always a great reward and motivation for us.

Thank you once again for staying and celebrating your wife’s birthday in our HOTEL SCHLOSS MÖNCHSTEIN*****s. It has been a real pleasure to bestow you an unforgettable birthday stay in our castle hotel and to pamper you with exquisite culinary delights.

I am sorry, that I was not able to say good bye personally, please accept my apologies. Hopefully we see each other again very soon! Maybe for your next birthday? We are looking forward to welcome and pamper you again!

Until then we remain
with kind regards from sunny Salzburg

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews