We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel..a bit 'cold' ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
284 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel..a bit 'cold' ...”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed in Schloss Monchstein for 5 nights during Christmas....
The location of the hotel is really nice on top of a hill which offers stunning views over Salzburg..the ways to get to the city are either to take the Monchsberg elevator [about 10 min walk from the hotel / costs 3.6 euros return] or walk down to the city [20 / 25 minutes] or take your car [parking is not that easy]. The surroundings are very peaceful and quiet, so it is an ideal place to relax. Especially, when you see the hotel at night with lights on..it is really brethtaking..
The hotel itself breaths a posh but also snobbish air [you like it or not..]..The rooms are great, very spacious, wonderful huge marble bathrooms, plasma TV, sitting area, and nicely decorated..
The hotel is decorated and furnished in a fine way...[i prefer more minimal furniture, but you cannot deny the beauty of the classic]..The staff was very helpful and polite...
The breakfast is moderate for that kind of hotel. The quality is good but for that hotel you expect something more...
There is a spa area which is minimal..but limited in area..and a small if not at all gym..
Generally we had a nice stay but we would prefer a more warm hotel that makes u feel a bit like at home. However, we admit that the aforementioned hotel is a true 5 star hotel in almost all categories..Getting around the area, i think that with a bit more money i would stay in Schloss Fuschl which is truly amazing...I f you would like a castle in the middle of the city but also secluded then Schloss Monchstein is ideal for you

  • Liked — the personnel and the rooms
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    25
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
284
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We chose this hotel for its location and history. It is a converted castle overlooking the city of Salzburg. When I booked this stay via email, I mentioned that my husband and I would be celebrating our anniversary on the day of arrival and I wished to have a special dinner. We were able to reserve what they call the "Smallest Restaurant in the World" We enjoyed a wonderful private 5 course meal in the tower room at the top of the hotel. Our meal lasted 3 1/2 hours and we were pampered the entire time. I even mentioned that our daughters were both vegetarians and they created a special meal just for them.

Upon our initial arrival at the hotel, we were escorted onto the sunny deck with champagne while the staff set up our rooms. Since the hotel sits on top of a hill, there is a wonderful wooded path that takes 5 minutes to walk to the lift at the museum in order to get to the center of the city. Each night we walked back and forth as the weather was wonderful and as we approached the entrance the staff came out to greet us with keys in hand.

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and I recommend it highly!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fu3l3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Great hotel on the Monchstein hill overlooking Salzburg. Only 5 nins walk from the city centre. Fast check in with a free glass of champagne. The rooms are large and very well kept with nice TV and amazing bathroom. Breakfast was great with a lot of choices. The service is great and there are many small touches like free cake and fruits in the room, making this hotel my first choice in Salzburg.

  • Liked — rooms, service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

My friend and i stayed here for 3 nights in October. The rooms were excellent as well as the food. The staff was unbelievably attentive- for example, my friend forgot her expensive battery for a camera. They located a nearby shop and confirmed that it had what she needed. When we expressed our curiousity about the castle, we were given a spontaneous tour of the chapel, gothic room, larger suites, and other secrets of the hotel. We had the least expensive room and the only down side to that is that it did not feel very "castle like"; the larger suites retain some of the original castle walls and furnishings so that you feel you are in a castle. Otherwise, great place to stay- loved the heated tiles in the bathroom, the chandelairs everywhere, the free internet access, and the impeccable service

  • Liked — service and style, fantastic vistas
  • Disliked — personal room was not
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

This hotel was amazing. I travel all over the world for work and have stayed in many (too many) fine hotels. I've never taken the time to write about any of them on the internet. I must say that the Hotel Schloss Monchstein has to be one of my favorites. I happened across this "castle" a couple years ago while taking a walk in Salzburg. I saw the hotel, took a few pictures because it was so beautiful and that was that. A couple nice pictures filed away on my computer.

Fast forward to June of 2007 and I was in Korea. I met a fellow from Australia (kangaroos) that had just come from Austria (no kangaroos). He mentioned a really great hotel he stayed at in Salzburg located at the top of a hill overlooking the city. I immediately knew that he was describing the Hotel Schloss Monchstein! It just so happened I was planning a trip to Austria in the upcoming weeks so I contacted the hotel. I had to cancel a night at a resort spa to stay a night in Salzburg but, boy, was it worth it!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. From the welcoming cocktail on the veranda to the friendly staff at the front desk this hotel met all my expectations (and then some). This is an old castle but it has been remodeled and has very nicely decorated rooms with internet access, plasma screens and DVD players. We found fresh fruit and pastries in the room as well as a bathtub with candles overlooking the city. Truly a wonderful experience for a weary traveler. The breakfast was made to order (included with the room) and was extraordinary. When we checked out we received a jar of fresh preserves that were made by the hotel just the day before. We hated to leave this hotel even though we knew another great hotel was waiting in another town.

I would not hesitate to book a room in this hotel again. It was everything I'd hoped for. I think the lack of comments about this great hotel would only be because it is rather hidden, it has an air of exclusivity and it's not a huge chain that everyone is familiar with.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the amazing staff
  • Disliked — It's a castle so rooms can be layed out a bit funky - certainly not a problem, though.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleGlassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nisswa MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

We are just completing a 3 night stay here and loved every minute. The staff was most helpful with dinner reservations, tours and at our every disposal.

While we were not right down in the middle of town and needed to do some walking, we didn't mind as we preferred to be away from the crowds.

We ate at the Pan E Vin, recommended by the staff. It was Italian and wonderful food.

We would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2004

This is a spectacular hotel!!!! It is perched on the side of the mountain overlooking Salzburg. You can take an elevator to the town center. This is a luxury hotel and is all that you can expect. The restaurant is 2 stars and the food to die for. The included breakfast is exceptional. As are all the staff. We stayed 3 nights July 2004 and I would highly advise this if you are looking for somewhere special! I can do princess!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
1.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Property: Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Address: Moenchsberg 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing