We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contempory villas with warm and cozy feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My wife and I arrived in this beautiful mountain town of Salzburg, Austria on our anniversary. Upon check in to the Hotel Auersperg we found our room prepared with a bottle of champagne on ice, Bavarian chocolates and a handwritten note from the staff offering congratulations on our wedding anniversary.
The rooms in the villa-side of the hotel are the perfect layout. A nice sitting area, open bathroom with heated floors, walk-in closet and a very comfortable bed. The hotel has a rooftop spa area with steam room, sauna and sitting area for you to enjoy the mountain views.
All of this within a short walk of old town and all of the nearby castles and restaurants.
Oh yeah, when we came home from our dinner in town, our room was prepared with two pieces of anniversary cake, candles and rose petals!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casadebesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is our second time staying at the Villa Auersperg, we first stayed in 2003. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was from a good selection. The staff were polite and very helpful. The location was great, just a 5 minute walk from the main bridge over the river leading to the old town and the Christmas markets and main attractions. On both occasions there was nothing negative we could say about this hotel and villa. We would love to go back some time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollard158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Very nice and cosy family hotel. Not suitable for those looking to have the complete range of services that a hotel could offer, but superb for those who wish to feel a "personal tough" and "like home". Biggest minus is the absence of better cafe/dining area; other thhan that, great!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geochrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

My family had just come from the Hilton in Munich and, after reviewing and choosing this hotel on-line, didn’t really expect much of a difference—I could not have been more surprised! The lobby was attractively decorated and included hard-wood furniture in contrast to the modern, soulless furnishings of most hotels. Checking in was a breeze with a polite, efficiency, and welcoming hostess. She sat at a desk as we sat on comfortable cushion chairs!

By this point, I realized that Hotel Auersperg was pleasantly different. Then we saw the rooms—spacious, clean, well organized and furnished with similar hardwood furnishings providing a classic and comfortable appearance. We divided between the 4-person family room and a two person room. Even though the 2-person room was on the main corridor to the sauna, it was quiet and comfortable. The 4-person room provided comfortable sleeping and was very quiet as well.

Breakfast was included and offered a wide range of yummy options—the kids were delighted! The walk to the old portion of Salzburg is a little longer than some hotels but is through an interesting and vibrant shopping district including high end, regular and touristy shopping opportunities as well as great restaurants and some interesting churches.

One more comment about the great staff: my daughter dropped her iTouch in the parking lot (provided free) the night we checked in. The next morning, we decided to ask at the desk knowing it was a lost cause. To our surprise, another resident had found it and given to the staff who had held it for us. Wow. I was even pleased when I saw the bill for our stay!

In short, I will not stay anywhere else when I return to Salzburg unless the Auersperg is full. This is a hotel with character and warmth that is vanishingly rare in the industry. I give it 5 stars only because there is no option for six!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-Jjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The location here is a short walk through a pedestrian shopping street with some nice shops and bars along, between 5-10 minutes walk depending on your walking pace.
The rooms are modern, with bluray players and good fittings. IF YOU ARE A COFFEE DRINKER, buy some Nespresso pouches before you arrive, or there is a Nespresso shop in the town, as they do not supply free coffee, only tea, and they charge 1.50Euro for each Nespresso you use, which soon adds up over a long weekend.
On the first night on of the blinds in our room broke and was stuck almost fully shut, but had a gap big enough to let the light shine right in to your face in the morning and wake you, we reported it in the morning and by the time we had left, it was still broken as the repair man does not do weekends, which was very unimpressive. On one occasion on returning after our room had been cleaned the dirty coffee cups were still there and not replaced, and the bed had half been made, pillows sque wif and the chocolates usually left on the pillows were tossed on the middle of the bed. Not impressed. Also it would appear that they just hoover/sweep the bed room floor. We were lucky enough for it to snow all weekend, but the wooden floor would get quite grubby, and that was how it stayed, it did not recieve a thourogh mop whilst we were there.
Another point that we also mentioned was that at around 12:30am just as you were getting in to a deep sleep the bar would close and empty its bottles in to the refuse bins which woyuld awake us each night.
If you are going to book here, and regardless of the above I would still return in a heart beat (due mainly to some excellent staff and good facilities/location) ensure that you stay in the HOTEL and not the VILLA!!! As it gets tired fast having to go from the 4th floors down, out the building, along the road, in to the hotel, up to the fourth floor to Spa, then back down, out and up again to get changed and then back down out and in to go to the bar!!! Especially when it is freezing cold and heavily snowing, you have to get wrapped up very warm to do some thing as easy as going for a quiet drink in the lobby.
However, the rooms and hotel are very well acquipt, the staff are very freindly and attentive. The buffet breakfast is second to none in the 4* domain, the Spa is a very nice feature and it is a close walk to town.
All i n all I would go back again, but I think it could have been perfect if the afore mention points were rectified.
I hope this was of help to both people thinking of visiting and the hotel owners.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrazyParsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel Auersperg is a great little place to stay in Salzburg. If you don't mind being off the beaten path a little bit (about a 10-15 minute walk to most sights), it is ideal. Our room was spacious, with a divider between the sleeping area and a small sitting area with loveseat and desk. We had a tiny balcony with chairs, cushions and throws, overlooking a pretty courtyard. Above us, on the top floor, was a rooftop deck (lovely) and sauna and steam room. It was also possible to lounge up there, listening to music, drinking tea. The breakfasts at the hotel were also very good, and included in the price. Fresh apples were set out in bowls around the hotel, to be enjoyed any time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiRobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is located within a reasonable walking distance of the old town area. We scheduled a city tour and were picked up at the hotel. The staff were friendly and accomodating. This hotel is an located in an older building, but has been renovated. The courtyard is beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $127 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing