We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful hotel, great exceptional location, charming staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hotel, great exceptional location, charming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Just come back from a fantastic 2 days in Salzburg and what really made it such a lovely experience was the accommodation. Hotel Augsburg is just a 2 minute walk from the main street in the new town that connects to the old town. It is a tranquil setting and what more could I want after a day of strenous walking and sightseeing than a steam, sauna at the hotels spa that closes at 1am! the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were impeccable, cosy and stylishly done out.
Would return in an instant and recommend it to anyone with a high level of taste.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    227
    41
    22
    7
See reviews for
218
472
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

We have a 15 month old child and found the hotel very child friendly (room info also states that they welcome pets!). They provided a baby cot for free and staff were attentive. Hotel was undergoing some renovations and the lift was not working, but staff offered to take our luggage to our room onthe 1st floor and was not a big issue. Room was modern and tastefully furnished. Wi-fi was complimentary. The included breakfast was terrific with a wide selection. There's also a top floor sauna and lounge room with complimentary teas and relaxing music which is also free. Overall, its was a very positive experience and good value given the included extras.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Impressionistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

I booked for a weekend city break with friends and had a great visit. The hotel was very clean and well decorated. The staff were also very friendly - both at Reception and at the Restaurant/Bar. One evening they were extremely helpful in arranging for food delivery, and they also arranged for tours and taxi with no issues.
The DVD and video library is also a plus - it was so much fun to go on the Sound of Music Tour and then revisit everything on the film.
Breakfast was very good and filling.

Only slight concerns are that the lifts are out due to renovation (we were on 1st and 2nd floors though, so not a problem) and it is in the new city, rather than the old city, so a 10 minute walk to the sights.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for my Wife's 30th Birthday from the 31st January to 3rd February. I have to say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with excellent English (very helpful with my GCSE C-Grade German) whether that be at the reception, behind the bar or at breakfast.

We stayed in a Superior Double room and it was modern, well equipped, spacious and very clean. The bathroom was stylish with a proper POWER shower! The only downside was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room although these could be obtained from the bar whenever you wanted.

The breakfast was great with everything you could want served in a nice light and airy room. Great coffee, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, homemade muesli, all manner of breads, and that was just what we ate on the first morning!

The sauna/steamroom suite was nice with a lovely roof terrace with great views that we went on even in the snow.

The location itself was ideal as it was a 10-minute walk to the old town down Linzergasse, a bit less to Mirabell and the Linzergasse itself was a pleasant, pedestrianised shopping street.

In getting to the hotel, just get the Number 2 bus from the airport and it stops a couple of minutes away.

To sum up, I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Salzburg as it catered for every need. We would certainly not consider booking anywhere else if we return and I think that is the ultimate compliment, especially from my Wife!

  • Liked — Overall Quality
  • Disliked — No tea in room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoogleBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
163 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

On arrival at this hotel we were given a very friendly welcome by the receptionist who was more than happy to tell us all about the hotel, the room and the restaurants that we had booked prior to coming to Salzburg (it was Christmas when we visited). The room itself was very spacious and comfortable with the bedroom area separated off from the living area by a free standing wall that housed a wardrobe and some cupboards.

The layout of the room was a little unusual in that it had two bathrooms (which is always handy). One of the bathrooms had a shower, bath and toilet whilst the other just a toilet and sink. The living area had a comfortable settee in it with a TV between the free standing wall so that the TV could be watched in bed or in the living area. This was a flat screen LCD type which also had a DVD player underneath it. The beds were also very comfortable. The TV had a little more choice of channels than what you usually get as there were 3 English speaking news stations, BBC World, Sky News and CNN. There was also two movie channels that were English speaking. On top of this, there was free WI-FI for all the rooms.

Another nice touch was the free spa room. This was made up of a steam room, a sauna, showers and an area where you can lie down and listen to relaxing music on the stereo. The room was a comfortable and tranquil space and all efforts had been made to help you feel relaxed and at ease. This was usually available from 5pm onwards but could be made available throughout the day on request.

The breakfast was very good. Not only was there a huge choice of fruit juices (including sparkling wine), there was lots of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, meats, breads, cakes, biscuits, cheeses and tea and coffee. The quality of the food was also of a high standard with everything looking and tasting very fresh. The staff were also friendly, polite and helpful.

The location of the hotel is also quite good. Its about a 10/15 minute walk to the train station for all those travelling by train. The main town centre for bars and restaurants etc. is another 10/15 minutes walk in the other direction. There are also some bars and restaurants right near to the hotel itself including an Indian restaurant which is just round the corner.

  • Liked — Free Wi-Fi in room, excellent breakfast, good spa facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

...managed to get a very reasonable rate through Expedia for this hotel, and came to Salzburg for a few day break.

The hotel and it's staff were excellent, and the rooms perfect. Definitely one of the better hotels i've stayed in, and definitely recommended.

Nice location - 5 minute walk from the old town, quiet neighbourhood.

Superb breakfast buffet, hot and cold options.

Simply a great experience, and definitely recommended.

I'd also recommend Panorama Tours who gave the most comprehensive and personal tours I've even been on. Excellent.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Just returned from Salzburg and a 3 night stay at the Auersperg. We only booked it because of the good reviews and they were not wrong. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was very large with balcony, sofa and flat screen tv plus premiere movies. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and the cleanliness superb. Bedding was crisp cotton with nice feather pillows. The breakfast was excellent for Europe and even had bacon, eggs and sausages. Plenty of choices for bread, fruit, cold meats, smoked salmon and cheeses. The breakfast staff and barman were very pleasant and attentive.

The hotel is in a reasonably quiet area but only a short walk from Mirabel Place and the bus stops. If you get the number 2 bus from the airport and get off the stop after the MIrabel Place you will only have a 3 - 4 minute walk to the hotel. Similarly to return catch the number 2 from the stop nearest the hotel on the other block (one way system) and that will save walking to the Mirabel with cases. The Salzburg card (24 hr) paid for itself by us taking the no. 25 bus to St Leonard (end of line) and taking the cable car up the mountain. An amazing experience and once on the top of the mountain, a warming mug of Gluwein in the log cabin outside the cable car.

We did the Panorama Saltmines Tour which was good fun. There were only one other couple in our minibus and they went on to a lake area whilst we were in the mine. Our driver was our guide and he was very informative and helpful. Would recommend this company as I booked on line this end and found everything organised, even picking us up and delivering us back to our hotel (especially as it was pouring down on way home).

All in all, a great trip and would really recommend Salzburg for a 2 - 3 day break, especially staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghacker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 137 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#6 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing