We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, thoughtful hotel with excellent baby amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, thoughtful hotel with excellent baby amenities.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Hotel Auesperg is a beautiful property outside the old part of the city in a quiet but bustling neighborhood near shops and grocery stores. The hotel is lovely both inside and out with an amazing garden courtyard. The breakfast is absolutely phenomenal with all manner of fresh fruit, bread, coffee, and delicious prepared food in addition to the standard meat and cheese.

The staff were helpful above and beyond what is standard making us feel very taken care of by providing maps and advice upon arrival.

The were also extremely baby-friendly, advising us on a room to get to fit the crib and providing not only a crib and diaper pail but also an entire box of toys and books which our little guy absolutely loved! Our room was so spacious we were actually able to fit the crib in the large closet so our little guy could go to bed before us and we could still stay up without disturbing him (not a common thing in a hotel). It was so cozy and quiet in there that he slept in! The staff were also very indulgent of his theft of some decorative oranges in the lobby.

My only regret for this hotel is that we did not stay longer.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the slightly larger rooms and it was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    248
    48
    23
    9
See reviews for
250
544
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Loved everything about it. Their breakfast was absolutely delicious and healthy. Staff very pleasant. We had originally anticipated just spending one night but extended it to 4. Would love to go back and stay there again someday. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Auersperg looks unimposing from the outside but inside they've done a lot work to provide an inviting, relaxing environment for travelers.

The rooms are modern, clean and filled with nice touches an amenities: two shower nozzles (one of them an overhead, rainfall-like device); heated towel racks; radio/CD player with selected CDs provided; books of local interest; and of course the mini-bar.

It had perhaps the best buffet breakfast I've experienced in Europe. They lean toward the organic and feature items such as bacon-wrapped figs and salmon. A great selection of fruits. They'll cook eggs and bacon to order for no extra cost. There is indoor and outdoor garden dining.

There also bikes for use or rent, we didn't check into that.

It's about a 15-minute walk from the train station ad a 10-minute walk to the river and the old city on the other side. A tad pricey at $225 a night total, but very restful and inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Auersperg in May. We had a quiet 1st floor room in the Villa (an annexe to the main hotel) overlooking the car park. It was a small double and bathroom, equipped with coffee machine, kettle etc and nicely furnished.
Our main issue with it was intermittent Wifi which only worked in part of the room - staff were aware of the problem. We were surprised that the coffee pods were charged for as part of the mini bar - not a big issue but not immediately apparent (other hotels we have stayed at of similar rating have included the pods).
Breakfast is an excellent buffet of good quality and range. Cooked eggs are also served, though on two occasions our egg order got forgotten and staff had to be reminded. Clearing of tables was sometimes a little random and slow.
The hotel has a good location within an easy walk of the Mirabell Gardens and the Old Town. There are also buses running nearby that go into the Old Town and beyond. Good restaurants within easy walking distance as well as further afield - the hotel has a list.
Hotel staff were courteous and helpful and we very much enjoyed the overall ambience of the Auersperg. Unfortunately we weren't able to experience its lovely looking garden as it rained non-stop. We had to dash with umbrellas between main building and Villa and feel that a room in the main building might have been preferable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahonia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located at the edge of old town Salzburg, but still within easy walking distance. We were in the villa. The room was less than spacious...can't squeeze by someone sitting at the desk because it's too close to the bed. Bed and pillows were cozy. Air conditioning worked well (YES!). Decor was simple, modern and tasteful. Bathroom was sufficiently spacious and had a tub (another bonus). And the wifi worked well too. Breakfast was very goo...lots of offerings, including special orders like scrambled eggs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from 23rd May in a room overlooking the quiet garden. The welcome was great and all staff were very friendly. The room was large, clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and could be taken in the garden, although this was spoilt by smokers. The hotel is in a quiet district a10 minute walk from the main Rail Station and similar distance to the beautiful Mirabel Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quiet and pleasant and only marginally more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This family-run hotel, which also includes an interior private garden, is so well-run, with the owner personally looking after our needs, is in a good location, within walking distance of all the sights in Salzburg. Our room was as large as a one -bedroom U.S. apartment with a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was spacious and delicious, with excellent service, reasonably priced.
Most importantly, after a great day of walking the city, or touring outside of it, to be able to come back to "home", with the interior garden that is so peaceful, was such a great experience.
Great pied-a-terre for Austria, and Salzburg!
Also offer free bicycles to tour the city.

Room Tip: Choose the Villa rather than the hotel since the rooms are larger and they have A/C. But you still e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing