We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

In search of a hotel in Salzburg for two nights we'd scoured the web looking for an affordable property in a good location with positive reviews. We gave up and paid extra to stay here expecting a 5 Star Treat based on the reviews and website. Still enjoyed the stay but a bit over marketed.

Pros:
--on site parking included in our hotels.com rate
--complimentary "Bio" breakfast. Organic foods including some from local farmers
--modern, clean rooms with large bathroom and plenty of closet space
--nice outdoor sitting area though it's teeny and restaurant patrons overlook the area
--walking distance (though a long one) from the area's key attractions

Cons:
--small print "upcharge" for our daughter at 30 Euro extra per night to sleep on the sofa (not a pull out one but rather a sheet over the couch)
--no air conditioning. Windows open is challenging due to noise on the street
--non helpful staff. No staff around other than front desk clerk. Front desk acts like you are bothering them. Service in restaurant during breakfast non existent...didn't realize they'd cook eggs to order until after Day 2 breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Villa's across the parking lot from the hotel. Before booking, be sure to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4DMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

The best hotel we stayed during our week in Austria. We used the early bird online special for free parking, but if you're not driving it's worth a 12 euro discount per day.

Very nicely located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of all Salzberg sites.

Excellent variety of items to choose from for breakfast.

Very comfortable room, nicely appointed.

Room Tip: Stay in the villa. We had room 226, a nice corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

In the 17 years we have been together my partner has always wanted to come to Salzburg and do the Sound of Music Tour, so I decided lets spoil ourselves and stay at a nice hotel.
We both loved Hotel Auersperg from the moment we walked in the door, the big reception area, the brightly colored breakfast area the garden and outdoor area and there was a lift (so no lugging heavy bags up the stairs), and our room was so spacious and clean and light, we had windows that opened out to the front of the hotel which kept our room warm in afternoon when outside was getting a bit chilly, there was a mini bar and room service.
Don't get me wrong there were a few negative things about Hotel Auersperg, firstly in the room the fan did not work in the bathroom so got very steamy after a shower (we told reception and was told "it should work" it didn't for the 3 days we were there, the bath is a bit awkward to get in and out of as it's very high and the shower and taps are half way down the bath. In the hotel itself the only negative were the staff, the older lady on reception treated us like we should be greatful she was talking to us, she was rude and arrogant and could learn from the younger ladies there how to treat paying guests, my biggest issue was because I do not overdress I was treated differently wearing my shorts and hoodie, to when I got dressed up to go to dinner,
The barman took a little while to get to know us and by the last day was very helpful and friendly.
Don't get me wrong I would stay here again if we were lucky enough to get back to Salzburg, We gave Hotel Auersperg 5 stars because we did not want to leave.
My only regret is I didn't get up to the spa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hippo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Villa side rooms were very nice and fresh. Sauna department/garden on the roof amazing! Breakfast was very good quality, big and tasty, favourites were the freshly pressed beetroot-apple-sellery-juice and salmon... Friendly staff everywhere, and the breakfast guy was very effective :) Location good, a little walk to attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved our stay in this hotel, stayed in the Villa side of the hotel, onsite parking is very convenient and one of the nicest breakfasts of our holiday. Nicely appointed rooms, great bathrooms and friendly and efficient staff. Not far to walk to the centre of Salzburg and nice and quiet so a good sleep is possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnovy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After traveling through 3 countries and receiving warm greetings at each hotel we were terribly disappointed in our check-in and reception at the villa and hotel. The young woman at registration barely picked up her head when she handed us our key, which turned out to be to a wrong room. After lugging our suitcases and finding the key didn't work we had to find the clerk again and ask her for help. The hotel was clean but our room had a stained couch and so were the rugs in the hall. After flying and then driving several hours we were excited to arrive but were sadly disapointed that no one cared that we chose their hotel. We had made dinner reservations with the help of the hotel prior to arriving but were not given help to locate these. The bed was adequately comfortable but the street noise and warm room did not allow for a very good night sleep. On the positive side the bathroom had a heated floor and the organic food was delicious The spa photos are misleading. Overall I think our disappointment was in the lack of helpfulness and the misrepresentation of personal service. I think this hotel should work to train their employees better. We chose to check out early and find another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Auersperg is a well appointed, comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the historic centre of Salzburg, a range of passable restaurants and public transport. It also has onsite parking. The staff are friendly and efficient and the service is excellent. Our double room in the adjacent Villa, was well equipped and appointed, quiet, of a reasonable size, had a very comfortable bed, a mini bar and a bathroom with a bath. The breakfast was good, a well stocked continental buffet, cereals, porridge, breads, boiled eggs and bacon and eggs to order. The bar provides afternoon tea and cake as well as a range of cooked snacks. The house red wine is very good. The wifi is free and the hotel has computer facilities for guests use. The only drawback is that it is quite expensive - partly due to the £/euro exchange rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A30A38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $132 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing