We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot weather stretches this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked this hotel assuming the walk into the old town was short. Yes it is only 10 - 15 minutes to the start of the old town but after a full day walking around the twon on a hot day, the return journey seemed a long way. I also found the same walk back at night to the restaurants required one to again don practical walking shoes.
We had requested a room in the villa but were told curtly on arrival that rooms are subject to availability and we had been allocated a hotel room. Querues regarding tourist information in English was met with a blank look and the offer of a Salzberg Card was never mentioned to us. A query re access to a hotel doctor was answered with 'we have never needed one before' gave me the impression the desk clerk did not fully understand our request! At least we were pointed in the direction of the nearest pharmacy.
I have noted in other reviews access to tea and coffee facilities but these were not in our room, however there was a mini bar. There was no air conditioning in the room but a pedestal fan was provided and as we had to keep the windows open at night the road traffic was a bit of an issue.
Overall I was disappointed with the location of the hotel and the lack of helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lesley2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

So impressed with this hotel, and brilliant value for money. Stayed in an exec room In The villa (room 226) which has to be the best designed hotel room and bathroom ever. Big, light and great attention to detail. Even the tv and DVD fitted flush to the wall. Even the lighting was good, and loads of opening windows.
It's in the Baroque part of the city, only a couple of minutes walk from the shoppingandpedestrian area and about 10 mins to the medieval area. It has the most lovely garden and a large outdoors seating area where you can have breakfast. And what breakfasts! We didn't need to eat again until supper. Am Definately going back. The old world charming service still exists here. Lovely staff. Couldnt be more helpful or attentive.

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, with spacious and clean rooms, great location outside of the historic part of Salzburg, but close enough to walk or take public transportation. The staff is very nice and helpful, giving us beneficial tips about the area and how to get around. Breakfast is wonderful, and the hours included most of the morning. The garden is very pretty and quiet - a lovely place to sit and relax. Our only issue was that our room was on the main street, so with the windows open it tended to be a bit loud at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road if possible, but they are not that loud on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stylish boutique hotel with a nutritious organic breakfast buffet and tranquil contemplative garden. Alas, as with many typical European hotels, it does not have air-conditioning which makes it very uncomfortable during balmy summer nights.
The front desk receptionist should be a little gentler and welcoming. If not for the curt service that greeted me at the start, I might have endured the warm room and stayed on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Clean tidy hotel with friendly staff, nice garden area and patio area where you could have breakfast if you wanted. Good choice of food for breakfast
Less than 5 minutes walk from Mirabella Plaza which was where many of the buses went from including the tour bus for Sound of Music etc

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a delightful stay in Salzburg! We booked the Auersberg for a two-day stay with our two young children. The hotel exudes old world charm and customer service. Their family room was perfect for a family of 4. Hotel staff were extremely courteous, and a great source of suggestions for places to dine in the area. We didn't have time to begin to explore the many cute aspects of the hotel including spacious spa and relaxing outdoor areas. This hotel gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We visited at Hotel Auersperg for two days over Easter this year. Check-in was efficient and we were able to buy our Salzburg card at the same time (saving us time later on). Our room was in the Villa next door, and towards the back of the building (view of the carpark). As the hotel is on a side street away from the old town, our stay was very peaceful and quiet. The room itself (a double), was on the small side, however we were expecting this. It was cleverly designed and decorated so as to maximise the space it did have. Our bathroom was of a standard size. We were impressed with the furnishings in the room (the comfiest bed on our holiday!), and the small touches such as the chocolates on the pillows, the Nespresso Machine and selection of teas, the reading nook, and the DVD selection. I had also ordered some ‘Mozart Balls’ additional to our booking (for my chocoholic other half!) and these were ready and waiting, and much nicer than any that we bought from any shops in town. The buffet breakfast was by far the best breakfast we came across on our 3 week holiday throughout Central Europe. With a great variety; cereals, breads, toasts, spreads, cheeses, meats, juices - you name it! As we were staying over Easter, we loved the small Lindt Chocolate Bunnies that were placed at each setting!
We arrived by train and walked from the station to the hotel which took us approximately 15 minutes, however we were carrying packs, so would recommend catching a bus/taxi if you’re travelling with suitcases. Once we were familiar with where to catch the bus from (Bus #2, stop approx 2 mins walk away), we took it back to the station when we left. We also walked into town a few times, approximately 10 minutes to the river and another couple to get to the heart of the Old Town. As it was very cold and wet when we were there, a part of me wished we had picked somewhere closer, however I can imagine this walk would be part of the charm in more pleasant weather! The hotel is also close enough to Mirabellplatz where there are plenty of buses passing through. We easily caught one out to Schloss Hellbrunn, and also one in the opposite direction out to the Red Bull Hangar (all covered by our Salzburg Card).
Salzburg is not a cheap city to visit, and this was the most expensive place we stayed at during our holiday - however it was one of the more affordable options within Salzburg itself that we found whilst searching (for this level of hotel). We’d happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $133 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing