We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived to a warm welcome at reception and were given room 373 in the main building on the 3rd floor, a corner room with a small balcony looking out to the street and the mountains. It was large with a comfortable bed, good facilities, well decorated and with a light and airy feel. It was perfect!
The breakfast room was delightful and the food plentiful with a good choice of cereals, muesli, fruit, bread, cheeses, cold meats etc and the oft commented on eggs to order! There was certainly enough choice with teas (in tea pots) and coffees to order. The service was excellent.The room spilled out into the garden which was lovely on a warm summer morning.
We had fine weather during our 4 day stay in August and spent a lot of time exploring the city which is relatively compact but with wonderful buildings, squares and the majestic Salzach River running through. A visit to the Castle is a must, as is a walk by the river, day or night to view the many stalls on the banks and to the Mirabell Gardens.
Out of town I can recommend trips to Hellbrunn Palace Water Gardens (attractive house, guided tour of the water features when you will get a little wet! and extensive grounds); travel on the number 25 bus, it takes less than 30 minutes. Also by bus 150 from the main train station we went to St Gilgen for a trip on the lake and a cable car to the top of a nearby mountain with fabulous scenary whichever direction you look! Busses in Salzburg are very efficient, even getting from the Airport was easy as the bus (no. 2) deposited us round the corner from the hotel.
We really enjoyed everything about Salzburg and the Hotel Auersperg made the experience a special one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    242
    44
    23
    7
See reviews for
234
508
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've had the luck staying here for work, so I was able to try out different rooms.

All are very well designed and perfectly maintained.

Breakfast is very nice with a lot of options. Location of hotel is within 15 minutes of alstadt with sufficient parking space.

So drop off the car and start enjoying Salzburg.

Room Tip: I like the villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vijfjarenplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

EVERYTHING about this hotel is top quality. We spent Christmas there last year and had a wonderful experience! The staff is attentive and helpful and go out of their way to help you. The rooms are immaculately clean and beautiful with comfy beds and pillows and a very high standard bathroom. Wonderful location - especially at Christmas when you are walking through the lit streets enjoying the atmosphere. Breakfast was fantastic with a great selection and freshness (you can order eggs and meat to order for no extra charge...no one told us that but we saw others do it and then asked) and wonderful coffee! They had a christmas party for the guests on christmas eve with finger foods and wine and it was so warm and cozy with their tree and music. We went there before our christmas eve dinner out. Also, they gave each room a gift (a nutcracker for our family!) which was above and beyond what we ever would have expected! Kids loved the free chocolates. Well worth the money! We've traveled a lot since this trip and I can't think of a single hotel that can match!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our 5th hotel in 2 weeks. We booked a Superior Double Room in the Hotel for 185E/night. Well worth it. Everything was spotless. Breakfast buffet extensive and delicious. The common areas are roomy, cozy and very nicely decorated. Our room was peaceful and very comfortable. (Nice bath amenities too.) Free bikes to use was great as we spent a few hours tooling around the city and the gorgeous river path.
It's a good 10 minute walk to the old town section so that is the only consideration. We wanted to walk so that worked well for us. Highly recommend. A great place all the way around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great hotel. The lobby is stylish as well as the rooms. Our room was huge with a separate seating area and view of the garden below. Very modern layout which we loved. The location is very good. The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. We had a wonderful dinner at Die Weiss which is a block away - very authentic Austrian food - delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the Villa in a very well appointed and furnished,spacious room. Hotel is beautifully presented and has lovely gardens and relaxation areas. You feel very relaxed and comfortable at the Auersperg as it is a welcoming environment. Would like to have stayed longer.
It is in a central location yet quiet and provides excellent service. Attention to detail always helps the weary traveller. Wi-fi quick....the best all trip. All staff were helpful and efficient.
The healthy breakfast selection was great, though an element of healthy hot food would be nice.
The Auersperg is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 23Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

excellent service, beautiful rooms (stayed at the Villa Auersperg, which is next to the Hotel and it is like coming home after a long day of sightseeing - and shopping of course!), staff was always friendly and helpful, wonderful breakfast and the best: the garden! it is also conveniently located, simply a perfect and beautiful place to stay ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing