We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location; excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is an easy walk to the downtown area but is just enough removed from the tourist hordes to be quiet. We had a junior suite in the main hotel, which was very spacious. Comfortable bed; nice sofa; desk; two bathrooms -one for toilet; one for bath; nice view over the garden. Parking on site for 12Euros/night. Very superior breakfast, with emphasis on organic food. A great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nortguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    215
    38
    21
    6
See reviews for
206
433
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Auersperg for two nights recently. Everything from the room, staff, spa and breakfast was excellent. We felt that it represented a good value for the money and was the nicest hotel we stayed at on our recent trip. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Auersperg and Villas in September of 2012 for two nights and had a great experience. We requested a room in 'the villas' (located next to the main hotel) and enjoyed our stay in a very large, clean, modern room with top-rate amenities and a comfortable bed. The staff was courteous and professional. The hotel is located a short 10 minute walk from the entrance to old Salzburg... and we found the neighborhood around the hotel to be quiet and relaxing (and we slept with the windows open). Parking for the hotel is located off-street and on-site. The garden in the rear of the hotel is a relaxing area to enjoy a drink after a day of touring or breakfast in the morning. This hotel deserves your strong consideration if visiting Salzburg.

Room Tip: We opted for a room in the villas and were not disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZdesertdweller1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Once again trip advisor comes through.The hotel is convenient for the driving traveler, although a bit further from the old town than one might want. The rooms and bathrooms are large, well done and spotlessly clean. One would be quite comfortable here for an extended stay. The public spaces are well designed and immaculate with a comfortable bar area, a good sized pleasant dining room and an outside dining area surrounded by their well kept and relaxing garden. The included breakfasts are extensive, with full buffets along with eggs to order. The price was quite reasonable and we would definitely come back. Only complaints were that in our room the wi fi didn't work very well and the staff, although friendly and pleasant, were not particularly "warm and fuzzy". If you are looking for concierge services, you can do better. All in all, however, an excellent, well priced hotel that you will be very happy in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. The staff were extremely helpful. The decor was very charming and the rooms are large. The breakfast was outstanding and was included in the price. The location is quite good. There is a beautiful garden in the back - a very pleasant place to pass the time between tours.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the street. We were on the street and the garbage trucks wake you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Avoid this place if you are attending the Salzburg Festival. It is far from the concert hall, far from the main shopping street, and there are no taxis to be found at crucial moments. The hotel receptionist will tell you this. You will need to book one 4 hours ahead and then again because it is not in a central area, they might not turn up on time.
The rooms face a very noisy street, and even with the windows closed tight, you will hear cars and motorbikes whizzing by every other second.
Avoid this place. I repeat this. The slightly lower price compared to hotels like the Sheraton, is not worth the stress.
PS when I checked in, there was no one to help with my bags and they could have been sitting on the street forever if I had not asked 3 times for help.
I checked out after1 hour and went to the Sheraton, which was great, and worth the extra.

Room Tip: Not possible to get a quiet room, so you will need to attempt to sleep with earplugs on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabine2412, Manager at Hotel&Villa Auersperg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are very sorry about your disappointment concerning your stay in our Hotel & Villa Auersperg.
It is generally very important for us to receive comments from our guests to
permanently improve quality and service. As you did not even spend 1 night in our hotel you unfortunately gave as no chance to convince you of our service. Our hotel is really centrally located, within walking distance to all main attractions in town (like Mozart's birth place, festival-hall, ...). We always recommend our guest to book taxis ahead to reduce waiting-times. We offer porter service at check-in/out as standard procedure. We really have to excuse if this service was not offered to you immediately upon checked-in.
Again we are really sorry about your disappointment. We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel to have the possibility to revise your first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in the month of June. On our first stay, we stayed in room #323, a Superior room in the neighboring villa. We were on a month-long trip across 4 countries and this was the nicest hotel room in which we stayed. The room looked identical to the photos on their website, with modern touches, radiant heated flooring in the bathroom, a heated towel rack, plush robes and new slippers for our use, iPod hook-ups, a Nespresso maker, and a comfortable bed. After long days of walking, it was so nice to come back to this room and relax. Also helping us relax was the wonderful aromatherapy spa in the main hotel. The spa had a steam room and a sauna, as well as showers to rinse off, lounge chairs, water with fresh mint, fruits and teas, towels, robes, and separate changing rooms. This private spa was a really nice touch to the hotel...and completely free to use as a guest. Alas, the breakfast spread that was included was remarkable. Meats, cheeses, fruits, grains, breads, homemade fresh juices, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. They even had gluten-free bread and local and organic foods.
On our second stay we roomed in the main hotel in a small double (#270). This room faced the beautiful garden and was quite peaceful. It was much smaller, having less frills, than our superior room but it was also nicely appointed. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Salzburg!

Room Tip: Stay in a Superior room in the neighboring villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scooter17OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 138 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 138 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel&Villa Auersperg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel&Villa Auersperg

Property: Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Address: Auerspergstrasse 61, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Golden Tulip Hotel Auersperg)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel&Villa Auersperg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshing energy, perfect service and contemporary elegance in an old Salzburg villa: the Auersperg is the ideal hideaway for a wonderful weekend in the city of Mozart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel&Villa Auersperg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villa Auersperg
Auersperg Hotel Salzburg
Golden Tulip Salzburg
Hotel Auersperg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing