We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of Music Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2006

In the heart of the city, this hotel was where most of the cast for the Sound Of Music stayed and also the commanding general of the US forces in the area during WW2. A wonderful older hotel with huge rooms, great dining and a wonderful owner hostess who caters to every need all day and evening.
Rooms are elegant.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank whickey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 728 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2006

Stayed here for a 3 night break at the end of October and cannot praise the hotel enough. Beautiful rooms (upgrade at no extra cost to a junior suite as we were travelling with a teenager), fantastic location and very helpful staff. All in all, a superb and relaxing haven to return to after a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sussexali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

I stayed with a group and everyone was impressed with the Bristol. It is well positioned at one end of the Mirabel Gardens and close to the old town which is reached by a footbridge over the river.

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, all in different themes, some quite quirky.

The dining room is stunning with its mirrors and chandeliers and the bar / lounge is Tardis like with lots of differently themed alcoves.

Very hands on management who are keen to please, and it shows.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank IansTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Same as a poster above, we too changed to the Bristol at the last minute after finding our original hotel booking to be dreadful. The Bristol is lovely, with wonderfully caring staff and a great restaurant. The location is perfect. Our room was very pleasant, with a huge bathroom and very efficient air conditioning. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and I staued at the Bristol for 3 nights when we found our previously booked hotel in Salzburg to be truly awful. Everything about The Bristol was excellent - the room and bath were huge and very cool when much of Europe was sweltering in a heat wave (the AC was more than adequate by American standards), the service was very, very good; and the breakfast (included int he price) offered just about anything one might want in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ClaudiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We found the Hotel to be close to all amenities and was in an excellent position with views of the Fortress. The rooms were very clean and well decorated with plenty of space. Full length opening French doors with a small balcony gave the feeling of being outside. The staff were great and couldn’t do enough to help us with advise and always with a smile. The food vas very good in the restaurant and service was prompt.

I would strongly recommend this Hotel. We got a very good deal, £300 for three nights in a double standard room.

The city is great, not much night life as everything seemed quiet at around 9pm. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the Fortress we spent the best part of the day their mainly in the Café/Restaurant which has stunning views over the city and river.

We went with another couple Richard and Lin. Lin is lovely and charming. We hired a car and although the driving left a little more to be desired we managed to navigate to the lakes and snow capped mountains.

PS. It’s advisable to get the people you go with police checked. Well, one of them!

Have fun in Salzburg it’s defiantly worth a visit.

PPS. Get a Salzburg Card it covers quite a few free entries and go to the trick fountains.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan_Peck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed at the Bristol for 2 nights in July of 2004. The location, the service, the room--everything was outstanding. We will definitely stay here when we return.

Stayed: July 2004
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $284 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing