We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old Europe feel at a great price and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Old Europe feel at a great price and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. Great location across the river from the shops on Salzburg. Salzburg is VERY walkable....so don't worry that it is across the river from the main shopping and dining area. Next to the beautiful park where "Sound of music" was filmed. Clean, comfortable, and the staff spoke English well. Rooms are large for a older European Hotel. I think this was once a very nice hotel...it has a very old elevator (slow, but adds to the ambiance of the facility), but take the stairs at least once...great staircase too. Sitting area in the bar is wonderful for a drink after a walk around the city.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas_traveler750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    128
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
119
351
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

We are an Australian family who have recently returned from a six week holiday in England and Europe. Our 3 night stay in Salzburg at the Bristol Hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is beautifully maintained and clean. The staff are very friendly, happy to speak English and very efficient. The location is excellent and hearing the church bells ringing just added to the atmosphere! The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and decorated to suit the age of the hotel
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

We found this hotel to be in an excellent location.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Our room was on the top floor commanding an excellent view of the Fortress and the square below on one side and on the opposite side the Mirabell Gardens.

Our room was large and very well appointed with a comfortable bed and also it had an excellent bathroom.

Breakfast was well catered in a fine dining room.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

I had a very happy stay at the Bristol with an English group. Everything about it was excellent - food, rooms, service, Madame.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamMcAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We loved this hotel. The room was beautiful with a view over the square. Hotel was spotlessley clean. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were very friendly and very efficient great location for the old town and Mirabell Gardens. Would deffinately recommend for a short break away x

  • Liked — The Location and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorConstance16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

The corridors might be a bit worn, but we stayed in a beautifully furnished large room, which looked out, over well tended geranium boxes, through double french doors, onto the life and colour of Markatplatz. with Mozarts Wohnhouse directly across the little park, a beautiful domed church, and every now and again horse drawn carriages carrying tourists along the street below. It really was romantic, beautifully appointed, and a marvellous location to explore all of Salzburg on foot. The breakfast was wonderful. IT is a family run hotel, and we felt very personally valued there. All of the staff were lovely. Only two quibbles. THe restaurant isn't my first choice for dinner, the food was a bit too pricey and overcooked. There are heaps better restaurants a 5 minute beautiful walk across the river in the main old town. The other was lack of parking. We parked about 800 meters away, which is a long bag carry, but they have more expensive (30 euro per night) slightly closer car park for valet parking only if you wish. A small quibble though, for a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — atomsphere and location
  • Disliked — evening meal in restaurant was only fair
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aussieraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

I was expecting a really nice hotel after reading the previous reviews, but I was disappointed. It is an old hotel which is fine by me, but it had a very tired and worn appearance to it. Our room was especially dilapidated. The carpet was old and stained. The furniture was also old and beat up. I also felt that the room could have been cleaner. There was dust caked onto the AC unit and dust in the crevices of our headboard. Speaking of the AC, it struggled to properly cool the room. We did have a nice location on the top floor with a great view out the front. The bathroom was average, not exceptional and needed some minor repair work. The dining room was also dated. The breakfast was okay. Car park is on the street out front, but at least it was free. The best part of the hotel was its staff. The doorman, front desk, and restaurant staff were professional and helpful. The location of the hotel was also quite convenient. Some major remodelling would make this historic hotel shine like a star.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 137 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel Salzburg

Property: Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Address: Makartplatz 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bristol Hotel Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALZBURG IS WORTH A VISIT ALL YEAR ROUND. ON REQUEST WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEND YOU OUR SPECIAL PACKAGES. The hôtel offers 60 elegant decorated rooms, apartments and suites with antique furniture, equipped with satellite TV, air-condition and internet connection and all modern amenities as well as Concierge Service, Restaurant and Bar. In the hôtelcomplex you will find a bank, jeweller, hairdresser, optician and boutiques. All major credit cards are accepted. Parking facilities in front of the hotel. 24-hours-guarded garage close to the hotel. Valet parking available. Distances to Railway Station 1km, Airport Salzburg 6 km, Airport Munich 160 km, Motorway exit "Salzburg Mitte" 3km. Public bus stop close to the hotel. Reservations direct or through one of our reservation offices, world wide. YOUR RESIDENCE IN THE CITY OF MOZART The traditional 5-Star-Hôtel Bristol is situated in the centre of the festival city, between the Mirabell Gardens and Mozart's residence - and within 5 minutes walking distance to the famous "Getreidegasse". Archbishop Wolf-Dietrich planned, towards the end of the 16th century, to build a palace with gardens for his brother Rudolf Hannibal. This is where the Hôtel Bristol and the Makart Platz are situated today. For meetings and festivities our 2 suites "Makart" and "Karajan" (20-40m2), our Kristallsaal (100m2), as well as our SKETCH bar & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bristol Hotel Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salzburg Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing